BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fred Factor

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Calling all Freds!

    The Fred Factor is a fable about a postman that teaches Four Fred Principles. They are: 1. Everyone makes a difference. Some might see delivering mail as monotonous drudgery, but Fred sees the task as an opportunity to make the lives of his customers more enjoyable. Regardless of whether an employer hinders exceptional performance, ignores it, or does not adequately recognize it, only the employee can choose to do his or her job in an extraordinary way. Sanborn writes, 'Nobody can prevent you from choosing to be exceptional.' 2. Success is built on relationships. Indifferent people deliver impersonal service. Sanborn writes that service becomes personalized when a relationship exists between the provider of the service and the customer. The quality of the relationship determines the quality of the product or service. Leaders succeed when they recognize that their employees are human, and employees like Fred the Postman succeed when they recognize their work involves interacting with other human beings. 3. You must continually create value for others, and it doesn't have to cost a penny. Replace money with imagination. Sanborn explains that the object is to outthink your competition rather than outspend them. The most critical skill that contributes to employability is the ability to create value for customers and colleagues without spending money to do it. Substitute creativity for capital. Mediocrity is your silent opponent and can diminish the quality of your performance as well as the meaning you derive from it. 4. You can reinvent yourself regularly. If Fred the Postman can excel at bringing creativity and commitment to putting mail in a box, you are probably capable of doing as much or more to reinvent your work and rejuvenate your efforts. Sanborn believes that 'no matter what job you hold, what industry you work in, or where you live, every morning you wake up with a clean slate. You can make your business, as well as your life, anything you choose it to be.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Even the ordinary can become exceptional

    Mark Sanborn begins with the story of his postman, Fred, who cheerfully introduces himself to Sanborn the day Sanborn moves into his new home. Upon learning that Sanborn travels frequently, Fred suggests that Sanborn give him a copy of his schedule so that he (Fred) can hold is mail because "burglars often watch for mail building up in a box." Fred later drops a UPS package that had been incorrectly delivered to a neighbor's address. There are many more examples in the book, too, both of Fred and other "Fred's" who Sanborn came into contact with. What exceptional service from something as ordinary and mundane as mail delivery!

    I liked how Sanborn lays our four "The Fred Principles" (which can apply to both personal and professional interactions) as a guideline to be exceptional like Fred.

    After reading this well-packaged and example riddled book, I do feel more empowered and inspired to live a more meaningful life by helping others. This is why I recommend the book so highly.

    Who are the "Fred's" in your life? Are you one of them?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Easy & Simple Read - Unchanging Principles

    Mark Sanborn relays a very solid principle that we could all use a refresher on - doing our very best because it is the right thing to do. God has gifted us with unique talents and personalities, but no matter what we are called to do for a living we can bring Him glory by putting our heart into all that we do. "Whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God." By letting your light shine, you unconsciously give others permission to do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The #1 Key To Success

    The book is good. The message is better. I have gotten pretty high in the sector of my employment. I am of average intelligence compared to my colleagues. But I put passion into what I do. I take every situation with a student, parent, or faculty member and give it my complete focus. I make every effort to be a Fred. This book is very practical and offers a one-stop solution towards greatly improving your prodction (and future) at work. Take the extra step and always follow through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Turn the ordinary into the extraordinary!

    The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn is based on the author's experience with a mailman named Fred who always went the "extra mile" to provide exemplary service to his customers. The book takes Fred's approach and outlines it in a way that the reader has a sense on how to become more productive and have more fun doing their job.
    The basic outline of the books is that there are 3 parts. The first section discusses how Fred influenced Sanborn with how he went about his job. The second instructs the reader on how to become a "Fred." The third turns "Fred" into an acronym to describe how the reader can turn others into "Freds."
    The subtitle is "How passion in your work and life can turn the ordinary into the extraordinary" and the book clearly shows that. Overall, the book has a strong message and good tips to survive in the workplace. I myself have never held more than a summer job, but I think that the advice Sanborn gives can be used in daily life as well. If you think your job sucks and you can't handle it anymore, I recommend this book. It will change the way you look at work and how you should be doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Learn how bring out the "Fred" in you!

    What do you think it takes to be a Fred? You must remember that no one can prevent you from being extraordinary. Mark Sanborn throughout the novel claims that a "Fred", is not born, but created. A fabulous novel, which depicts things that factor into the reasons why many people are unhappy at work.
    Four of the major factors of work that all people come to realize after reading this novel are that everyone makes a difference, the only question at the end of the day is "What kind of difference did you make?", and that everything is built on relationships. This novel increases your value for the people in your life and the others all around you. Definitely pick up this novel, before I give too much away, it is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Positive Results From Fred

    In 2007, I had an organization that was struggling. As a HR professional, the company asked if I would conduct leadership training for the site. The class was small at only 4 participants so I was able to give them my full attention. As part of the curriculum, I included Mark Sanborn's book, The Fred Factor. <BR/><BR/>One of the participants was really enthused about the book. Weeks and months after the class, he would approach me during my visits to point our "Fred" related things that he had accomplished. Indeed, he bought the book for all of his managers and they formed a loosely knit "Fred" club. <BR/><BR/>My review and recommendations for this book boils down to this. Of the 4 participants, only one remains. That is the, as I call him, "Fred Head". Not only is he still gainfully employed, he was been promoted not once but twice! <BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book. Michael L. Gooch, SPHR Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Truly a 'feel good' book

    The Fred Factor is a motivational book written by Mark Sanborn, a professional speaker. Relating many unique experiences with his mailman Fred, Sanborn encourages everyone to promote and cultivate enthusiasm and creativity in their daily lives by outlining his own perspective on customer service in his inspirational book. Sanborn has enthralled untold audiences using his exceptional storytelling skills, skills which resonate throughout this book. Although a rather quick-read, The Fred Factor carries a very deep message on how our words and actions can impact the lives of others. The Fred Factor has dramatically changed the lives of many. In fact, several companies have actually created a Fred Award to present to employees who have demonstrated Fred¿s trademark spirit of service and commitment. As the Daily Saint reports, ¿This book is straightforward and relatively short so the busy stay-at-home mom or commuting executive will find it a good fit.¿ The Fred Factor is truly a confidence booster and a `feel good¿ book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Small book with deep powerful message for anyone and everyone

    Have you ever done a good deed not because it was the right thing to do but because something inside you just made you do it, like a subconscious action that automatically came into action? Then you should be proud to know that you are one of the few Freds that make ordinary moments into extraordinary ones. As the author, Mark Sanborn puts it, there are people known as Freds that are normal people like you and I but they do what they do with heart. That is the secret. Sanborn uses his long time postal carrier as the main Fred example. Fred was a humble mail man that looked out for every one of his customers. He even picked up old newspapers that were out on people¿s lawns to make the house look better. That wasn¿t part of his job but he did it because he cared about the little things. The Fred Factor teaches a power message on how to find Freds, become Fred-like, reinventing one self, and much more. This short read is one of the best books anyone can pick up and quickly read but will have life changing results and every minute read with be worth while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Fredtastic

    The Fred Factor is probably one of the MOST helpful books to ever read. Even though I am just finishing High School, it helped me to get through the last couple weeks. It helps give a reason to be passionate about what I am doing. It has helped me to get better pay at my job. Since I have started reading my book I have gotten about a 20% increase in pay. I have been more joyful, and more bold, with what I do and my customers really seem to enjoy my new character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Motivational and Inspiring

    'The Fred Factor' is a motivational book which uses many examples of outstanding customer service as well as outstanding generosity the author has experienced in everyday life to provide models of how we can change the world in small, simple ways. I enjoyed reading the book and it urged me to improve the way I interact with people I encounter every day. I especially recommend the book to anyone who has a job involving customer service in any way, as the book is highly focused on dealing with customers and coworkers. My only criticism is for the author to focus less on the customer service aspect of being 'Fred-like' and to be more in-depth on how 'Fredness' can be applied to living life. However, I would recommend this book to anyone, regardless of employment, and believe it can change the way people view their everyday life. It is a very motivational read it is easy to understand and apply the suggestions in the book to anyone's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    I can be Fred, You can be too

    We all have run into a Fred in life. That nice person who always makes us feel welcome and important, who goes the extra mile. They are certainly few, but they are cherished indeed. I can be a Fred. After reading this book I want to be one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    No good deed left unpunished

    The book is excellent. I also went to hear him speak. I enjoyed the principles and the stories. I personally aspire to that level of greatness, and I am always reading motivational books and try to practice what I read. It is true when others say this book makes a difference. I was recently released from employment at a major college district in the southwest because I was 'too cheerful'. My level of service that I was providing was 'too much'. After all they are not a 5 star resort or anything. What a reason to get let go. It all worked out though because I now work in a better job in a position of leadership where I am appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    'God works all things for good--even our daily jobs!'

    If ever there were a 'feel good' book, that is, one that you're just glad you had the chance to pick up and read, this is it! Sanborn teaches us to appreciate what we miss in the ordinary course of a working day--the little things¿that mean much to others¿and even more to God. Just as we take for granted the beauty of a flower, and yet fail to see the intricacies of the tiny elements that make it special¿so too, we fail to appreciate the many ramifications of what we are¿and what we do¿in the service of God. This book teaches us to look at life from God's perspective--not ours. It reminds me of another wonderful book ¿WITH JOSPEPH IN THE UNIVERSITY OF ADVERSITY¿ which in a similar way helps us to see that God is working all things for good in the lives of His children. The adversities, the mundane job we think we have--all things. RECOMMENDED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    Discovering our Fredness

    The Fred Factor is an extraordinarily affecting book because it shows how a truly ordinary individual can have such an incredible impact far beyond the boundaries of their actions themselves. Fred is as ordinary as they get - a postman - but what he does is go beyond the call of duty to enrich the lives of those he comes in contact with and, as in the movie, 'Pay it Forward', his positivie actions create positive actions and so on and so on. Mark Sanborn has done us all a service by making us 1.) aware of Fred's story and 2.) showing that Fred is not alone, that there are many, many Freds among us and finally, how we too can embrace our inner Fredness. This is not a deep book but it resonates with a deep message of how doing for others has impact and consequences well beyond the recipient of the 'doing' and as importantly enriches the doer's life as much as those to whom it is done for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3