Customer Reviews for

Freddy and Fredericka

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    This book is funny, witty and pure pleasure to read. I would re

    This book is funny, witty and pure pleasure to read. I would recommend this book to those who have a sense of humor and know English history to fully appreciate the references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Helprin as a comic. Brilliantly executed and fantastically structured and woven. Hilarious, beautiful, and elegant.

    I think my headline summarized the just of it. Like every other Helprin work this piece is an epic of worldly majesty; a testament to the everlasting beauty and wonder of this universe and the lives who experience it. Sound too flowery or wordy? The experience is truly indescribable so forgive my inadequate pen. Helprin paints the world as having some grand architecture greater than comprehension, yet innate and grounded in us. Call it God, call it soul, spirit; there is some faith imbued in this writing that reassures and takes great joy in the larger truth, the whole, and the blissful perfection of imperfection. The fact that this is a work of genius comedy only adds to the human value of the book. If you are searching for uplifting read this book. You'll smile, laugh, and if you let yourself you'll cry too and find some enlightenment; closing the book with a wider heart. Sure it's (perhaps dauntingly) long, but the portrait captured here is life: and life is endless. I've borrowed this from the library too many times now not to own. I am grateful with every page for what Helprin has shared with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    Funny, but overly long

    I enjoyed this funny and thoughtful book, but would have enjoyed it more if it were half as long. So many of the conversations in the story brought to mind the Bud Abbott and Lou Costello "Who's on first?" routine. Funny, but after a while, it started to lose its attraction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    A wonderful work of literature!

    This story can teach every one something. The surreal use of the characters intertwined with everyday living was magnificent. I found the more I read, the more enthralled I became, and did not want to put the book down. The author is creative in the ability to make you believe the make-believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Misadventures of Royalty

    This is a fun and witty book about the prince and princess of Wales ("Freddy and Fredericka") being exiled to America to work out their differences with one another. Freddy's extreme eccentricity and Fredericka's playful and often confused demeanor make for some truly hilarious situations. The two main characters' struggle to understand one another, and to make themselves understood in turn, creates some laughably outlandish experiences and an unforgettable adventure. Both a parody and a story of discovery, Freddy and Fredericka had me laughing out loud from beginning to end, and rooting for them the entire way. I wish I could have known this pair in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great writer does it again

    I love Helprin. I think he's the best writer I've ever read from a "wordsmithing" perspective. His use of language is unparalled in a descripive sense. A total opposite to writers like Hemmingway, Helprin will use a full page to describe a scene rather than a sparse few words. Sometimes you even forget what is happening in the plot because the descriptions are so long.Occasionally I have to "speed read" some of story so I don't lose the thread of the plot. He has created 2 memorable characters in Freddy and Frederika. Loosely (very loosely) the main characters resemble Prince Charles and Princess Di in some respects. In order to ensure that Freddy is fit to be king he must complete a "journey" to reveal his true character. He and Frederika are dropped naked into a swamp in New Jersey with the task of conquering the United States.Obviously a fanciful journey but a fun and exciting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    How to fix America

    In a highly original type of novel, Mark Helprin highlights the foibles of British royalty, the media, and the American political system. Like all of his works, he weaves history and fiction into a fabric where one can scarcely distinguish between the two. His characterization of the Presidential election in the US is particularly prescient.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Robert Ian MacKenzie did a brilliant job with the audio version of Freddy and Fredericka. This is my first book by Mark Helprin and I have never laughed so much while listening. This is truly an extraordinarily different story. I can't imagine how the author thought of it. Quite an imagination! Much more than I ever expected!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    underwelmed

    I loved A Winters Tale and A Soldier of the Great War...I expected more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Not just the funniest book I've ever read

    This is not simply the funniest book I've ever read -- although it's a bit uneven and lags in a few places, I have had more laugh-out-loud, milk-through-the-nose-moments than with any other book I've read in adulthood -- it is absolute poetry and an intellectual feast. I've stopped near-strangers to recommend it to them, and I'm not a huge recommender of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Smart and funny

    The Prince of Wales (Freddy) and his wife (Fredericka) are an embarrassment to the British Crown. In disgrace they are sent to the United States where, following an old and forgotten British law they must conquer the colonies. But they must survive incognito without any of the trappings of monarchy nor access to any of the benefits. Parachuted in New Jersey, stripped of the usual entourage and finances the couple makes their way across the United States. Their assumptions, their habits, their very way of thinking is put into question as is their taking for granted their hereditary 'right'to rule. Freddy and Fredericka fondly mocks monarchy while proving its' value in today's world. Lyrical and funny, touching and sad, it is an allegory of redemption and of possibilities to explore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    worthwhile

    I am a huge Helprin fan. I loved this book in the beginning..but grew very tired of the word play. There was just so much of it that it ceased to be funny, witty or interesting. BUT--I am still glad that I read the book and found the ending to be quite thoughtful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Hilarious read. I love Freddy!

    Great novel. I laughed until my sides hurt on the train. Light hearted, intelligent, and sophisticated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    A fun read

    This was a great book to read while on vacation. Funny, yet meaningful. I really enjoyed it. No heavy thinking, but cause for reflection on the meaning and purpose of life. It's a reminder about prioroties. Laughing out loud while reading a book makes others think you've lost it, but it's hard to not laugh when something touches you the way this book will. Enjoy it! I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Funny as Heck!

    I haven't written a 'book report' since I was a kid in school, but this book is so great I had to comment. I am only about half way through it now: I can only read one chapter a night because I end up laughing so hard my sides hurt! Although it's a novel, given the misadventures of the real-life Freddy, it's fun to speculate if it's more fact than fiction. I simply love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1