Customer Reviews for

Free Baseball

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Myestery and the magic of baseball

    If you like mystery you would like it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    great book

    I would like recommend the book Free Baseball by Sue Corbett to anyone who enjoys baseball. It is very interesting and suspenseful. I liked it because it is a book that makes you want to keep on reading. The book is boring in the beginning, but later in the book it gets very good. It is a fiction book that can grasp the reader¿s attention. It is about a kid who sneaks on a bus of a baseball team, so that he could get away from his babysitter. Later he figures out what happens to his dad and why he did not come to America with his mom and him.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Should I get?

    Schools out, my librarian Ms. Clark gives me and the rest of the kids in our class a big yellow folder with summer reading stuff. I randomly pull out a 3 page packet on summer reading sugjestions for grades 5 and 6. Im in 5th and love baseball. So this book and baseball fever are my maybes, but is it worth the coast?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Free Baseball

    Book title and author: Free Baseball by Sue Corbett
    Title of review: Free Baseball
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5 stars

    Introduction
    I enjoyed this book, because Felix plays baseball and so do I. I had not heard about this book until I first picked it up to read. It was a very good book that made me want to keep turning pages until I finally reached the end. The book is about a boy from Cuba stored away on a boat when he was little. It starts out when he is 12. He is mad at his mom so he stows away on a baseball team's bus and becomes their equipment manager.
    Description and summary of main points
    After he got on a bus to go to the team's place, they mistake him for the new equipment manager. He accepts this job and they take him in as his own. He makes new friends including the team's mascot/dog, Homer. Everybody likes Felix's company and his time there is amazing. The owner of the team, Vic knows eventually that he does not belong there and calls his mom. He keeps Felix in his old house until his mom arrives. I'll leave the ending alone as a surprise for you.
    Evaluation
    I enjoyed this book until I reached the end. It is definitely a page turner. I could not set this book down. It is fiction but it seemed real to me and anyone would become attached to the characters.
    Conclusion
    This book is for anyone that enjoys a good read. It is an excellent book.
    Your final review
    I would recommend this for anyone that enjoys sports fictions, although I would probably recommend it for anyone. I loved this book so much I wish they would make it a series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    B.O.B Free Baseball

    In 7th grade I was required to read Free Baseball for Battle of the Books. It was intriguing and suspenseful. Felix is one f the main characters in the book. He is an 11- year old Cuban, son of a famous Cuban baseball player. Felix feels neglected when his mom is to busy working and his babysitter is to busy making fun of him. To solve this problem he stows away on the player's bus after the baseball game. Will Felix ever come back home? Read it to find out!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I picked up this book for my 12 year old son, but after reading the first chapter I got so caught up in it that I read the whole thing before I gave it to him. It is a great story about baseball - what could be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    Free Baseball:A home run!

    Felix hides on the minor league team bus and rides out of town. His mom worries that she¿ll never see him again. Felix, not even a teen, becomes a batboy on the minor league team. His distressed mother comes to bring him home. After she accepts a job on the team, she and Felix move nearby the team. I really enjoyed this book. It¿s fun and sometimes sad. This book keeps you interested at all times. I definitely would recommend it. I like how the book gives you a good idea of how a minor league ball club runs. The players don¿t get paid as much as major league players. After one game, for example, the minor league players had a picnic instead of going to a fancy restaurant. The bat boy on the team has to do a lot of jobs. He has to shag balls during batting practice, wash the players¿ uniforms, and retrieve their bats during the games. The team has a mascot, but it¿s not a person in a costume. The mascot is a dog named Homer. Homer signs autographs by putting his paws in ink and then slapping them on paper. He also delivers the baseball to the special guest throwing the first pitch for each game. I liked the different personalities of each player, coach, and the radio announcer. One of my favorite players was Santi because he¿s almost always smiling. I also liked how he was from the Dominican Republic. Therefore, he knew Felix¿s dad, who played in Cuba. The radio announcer was incredible! He was blind! His partner did the play-by-play, but he does the details and background. It was hilarious when Bobby and Masher tricked Felix into looking for a bat stretcher, when there isn¿t such thing. Felix fell for it, but later had a funny comeback. It¿s sad that Felix doesn¿t remember his father. When Felix was a baby, he and his mom crossed illegally into America. Felix¿s dad was left behind, but later tried to come, and was denied by the Cuban government. Because they live in different countries, Felix has never seen his dad play baseball. Felix¿s father is one of the best players in Cuba. Felix¿s mom has to work a lot, therefore Felix has to spend much of his time alone at home. I wish Felix could see his father in this story. Unfortunately, Felix never does. People who like baseball will like this book. You learn how life is on a minor league club. This book will also interest middle school kids because that¿s about how old Felix is. I enjoyed it and I hope you will too. S.Howard

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Okay

    Not enough action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Pits pirets

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Mystic Shadows

    I am Mystic Shadows. I am a female Ruje wolf Warrior. Info about them are at ruje first and second result. I am at stage tripoh. I am sandy with firey streaks everywhere looking like fire in the sun and smoke in the shadows. I have electric green eyes and am born a rune warrior. I ammysterious in ky personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Swift

    Name: Swift Rank:Omega female Eye color:bright green Mate;none pups: none Description: Bright-eyed and playful, she is very energetic. Jetblack shewolf. Loves to explore and to swim. She is very very very curious but sometimes shy. Enjoys playing or sunning herself. Den: Agile first result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Fury

    Name: Fury/ Rank: Alpha Male/ Rune Level: OmeGosh/ Mate:Shadow/ Pups: Dusk, a jet black she wolf; Dawn, a pure white she wolf/ Siblings: Razor and Mist/ Description: a male with long sleek white fur and pure gold eyes. He has elemental runes that are purw gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    free baseball

    Felix is a baseball maniac. So when he wins tickets to a game he can¿t wait to go. But his mom says she¿s too tired to take him, so she calls his baby- sitter who makes him leave the seat he won over the radio to sit with her annoying boyfriend. So at the first opportunity, Felix escapes from the evil baby-sitter of doom. This opportunity comes when all the players on the team think he¿s the new batboy. So Felix plays along with it, and learns a shocking truth about his dad. In my opinion this book is very good. I liked it because it`s funny, but the jokes are good and not corny. It¿s extremely intriguing, always keeping you in suspense. And it so short, that you don¿t need to have a very long attention span.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2