Customer Reviews for

Free Fall

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Catherine Mann¿s Free Fall was an action-packed story about Jose

    Catherine Mann’s Free Fall was an action-packed story about Jose “Cuervo” James and Stella Carson set in the wilds of Africa. Jose, a pararescueman, and Stella, an Interpol agent, had a relationship that soon fizzled after meeting on a mission. Months later, Jose is called in to rescue Stella from a hostage situation, and has to try to use all his power in order to try to save the women he once loved.




    Throughout Free Fall Stella continues to display strength and fortitude both in completing her mission as well as her relationship with Jose. Having suffered through the emotional upheaval of her mom’s death as a young girl she refuses to settle for less than the best when it comes to her own family. Jose, on the other hand, is insecure about the impact his job will have on both a relationship as well as a family. Jose is a strong Alpha male, who tries to provide support for Stella while also being the man she needs emotionally. Stella, on the other hand, still struggles with her own emotional issues from her childhood that she has to work out. Interwoven in the storyline are flashbacks to Jose and Stella’s relationship, as well as an unexpected secondary romance that adds a depth to the original storyline.




    Reviewed by Lucy for Cocktails and Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great read! I have read all in the series! Can't wait till the next one comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Stella is on a mission to find out what really happened to her m

    Stella is on a mission to find out what really happened to her mother all those years ago. The government told her family that her mother had been involved in a car accident, battering her body to the point of unrecognizable. But Stella knows it’s more than that. She blames her mother for leaving her family behind to take care of other children in Africa, while her own children were missing her back home.

    As an Interpol agent, she is thrown into some dangerous situations, one that gets her kidnapped when she is undercover as a flighty college student studying abroad in one of the more dangerous areas of Africa. As she tries to make contact with her handlers, she repeatedly informs them that she could use some “Jose Cuervo” — the man she broke up with just a month before.

    No matter the break up, Jose is there for her, he and his team rescuing her and the other students that lived, retrieving the bodies of those who didn’t. And from there it’s a matter of finding out what code is woven into a cloth that one of her fellow survivors took from the compound they were being held in.

    It’s a semi-fast paced book that will get your heart racing and your mind whirling, trying to figure out who is on which side. And when Stella and Cuervo get back together, the sparks fly in some pretty hot scenes (and not just because they’re in Africa).

    This whole series, by Catherine Mann, is definitely a great one, and it’s one that I’m reading through the previous books now. I can’t get enough of the pararescumen (no matter how many times spell-check tells me that’s wrong) and their alpha-superman complexes. I want one of my own.

    Definitely a four out of five flowers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I love the pararescue series!!!  Absolutely love Cuervo's story!

    I love the pararescue series!!!  Absolutely love Cuervo's story! While he's fighting the bad guys, you learn more about his past and what has brought him to where he is now. Great story!!!! If you love romantic suspense, here's a series for  you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    James "Jose Cuervo" is committed to his job as a parar

    James "Jose Cuervo" is committed to his job as a pararescueman and little else. His job demands complete focus or his team could die. And then he has a one night stand with Interpol agent Stella Carson, and focus is shot to hell. Now thrown on a fateful mission together deep in the African jungle, they question the truth while fighting Jose's fears and Stella's tragic past. It's up to them to decide between letting the spark fizzle or a life of forever.

    This is an author who knows her military background well. It made for a flawless, realistic read that's hard to put down. The characters were well drawn, complete with imperfections and fears. The setting was detailed, putting you right in the moment. The action was hammering and intriguing. The plot was steady and real. And the romance was hot. Really hot. My only quirk was I felt the conflict a touch lacking, and the ending wrapped quickly from an emotional standpoint. In saying that, I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two che

    “The meeting of two personalities is like the contact of two chemical substances; if there is any reaction, both are transformed.” -- Carl Jung

    I immediately grinned when I saw my favorite Carl Jung quote at the beginning of Free Fall. Upon finishing, I revisited this quote and thought how fitting it was for Jose and Stella's story.

    Although Stella Carson, a code breaker and trained agent for Interpol, meets pararescueman Jose “Cuervo” James in the prologue, the story quickly jumps forward six months later to the present when they are no longer together. Circumstance brings their lives together again when Jose is called in to be part of the team to rescue Stella, who was taken hostage while undercover.

    In the midst of terrorists threats and twists unfolding, we get glimpses of Jose and Stella's relationship through flashbacks. I know some would prefer that the story not go back and forth from past to present, but I found this didn't bother me so much. The flashbacks to their romantic dates together were some of my favorite parts! In these scenes Catherine Mann whisks the reader away to the most romantic and exotic locations in Africa. Jose planned some truly special dates for Stella to sweep her off her feet. Really, even I was swept off my feet! So, why did these two soul mates and intense lovers break up?

    I found two running themes throughout Free Fall...second chances and making difficult choices in order to protect loved ones. Jose and Stella have a huge opportunity for a second chance to be together if they can only work out their differences. I love how Catherine Mann wove the second theme throughout the story. Boy, does it get really emotional as the plot thickens!

    There is no doubt that fans of the Elite Force series will enjoy Free Fall. The heart-pounding action and suspense is all there. Free Fall can be read as a standalone. I've only read book 2 and 4, but I very much enjoy this series and plan to read the other books soon. I've been hooked! Catherine Mann's military romances are simply quite addicting!

    ***I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1