Customer Reviews for

Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene

Average Rating 4
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Amazing chapter!!!!

There was only one chapter from Tobias' point of view, but that chapter was amazing! She really needs to write a whole book from his point of viev!

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

A waste

Love the books! I was hoping this was more than a couple pages of Tobias view but was let down. Only a few pages about him then the rest was about the other two books. If your buying this chances are you read them already. Waste of money. Ya only a dollar but a dollar...
Love the books! I was hoping this was more than a couple pages of Tobias view but was let down. Only a few pages about him then the rest was about the other two books. If your buying this chances are you read them already. Waste of money. Ya only a dollar but a dollar i wasted! Feel ripped off!

posted by 9040278 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Let's be clear, to call it "Tobias Tells the Divergent Stor

    Let's be clear, to call it "Tobias Tells the Divergent Story" is a complete misleading. Tobias Tells a Scene from the Story would have been accurate. The bulk of the 42 pages on my Nook are the first chapters from the books I already purchased. I was very displeased with the misleading name. Was the chapter good? Yes. Would I have spent 99 cents on A CHAPTER? I don't know. I figured it wasn't going to be the whole book since it was 99 cents. But I also didn't think it was going to be just a few pages either.

    51 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Great to see things from his point of view. The most revealing

    Great to see things from his point of view. The most revealing bit to me was what happened after internally after he threw the knives and up to his leaving the training room. This was the perfect scene for Veronica to chose to tell. The Farris Wheel would have been to soon & the latter parts in the book reveal so much. EXCEPT, I would very much like to know what Four was thinking when he rescued her from Peter and the Chasm....I also think this would have been more helpful to me as a reader had it been released between Divergent and insurgent because I had a little bit of a hard time rationalizing Fours change in mood/view point between books...Like, so much was revealed so fast in Insurgent about Four, that I think this chapter would have helped ease that gap for me and made a better bridge from the outer persona of Four to the inner person that is Tobias. I would love to get my hands on any extra content!!! I hope she releases more!! All I can say is Fall 2013 it to far away!

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved it but i wanted more. After she finishes the trilogy she should write it again all together in one book all in fours pov.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great!! with some disappointments

    Ok, i read the whole series in three days and it was so good. I could really relate to the things in the story, but the way she wrote the side of tobias's stories was also great i enjoyed ot very well. In fact, i have all the books at my house and i enjoyed every one of them twi days ago i have this book on the faction manifesto and i was reading it comparing it to the book. Then i started rereading the series and i compared it to tobias's point of veiw and i just realized tht half of dlfree four was the same as the divergent book anyway i finished tht book and the nest day wason to the next one and so i started reading insurgent again and then i bought the transfer on the nook and i realized tht if veronica roth kwpt writing books with tobias's point of veiw then she would basically tell the whole story because he knows so mich and then she would have to ne careful not to corrospond with tris's point of veiw but i think since she finished the divergent story she should write some more books from tobias's point of veiw it seems really important too most parts of the book and tht is why i esspecially like the third book. I hope u agree with my oppinion and info given and i would like to recommend this book to everyone who is in to dystopian books or ' survivial of the fittest ' books it is a great series i enjoyed keep writing veronica roth

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Only one scene

    Tobias is a great character, and it is nice to read from a perspective other than Tris. I just wish it was longer. One scene isn't enough in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Four free

    I've loved everything so far...even if they are short!!! Great job Veronica!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Good follow-up

    Good to have another perspective from another character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Get number

    To conquer your shyness text him first. I did it with my cruh. One of my friends knew him and gve me his number and that is how we talked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    To person with crush

    Be bold about it and don't be shy! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    This was amazing and short

    I love diverent and i love this to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good, short, only one scene

    I really enjoyed fours point if view and will enjoy reading more if these little scenes in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Plague (Leader) To All

    We moved to Divert. Main camp is result four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Nice to hear Tobias's thoughts

    I would have gave it five- but it was too short! I want more Tobias!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed the different perspective. This definitely gives Veronica nice incite into her story and I can appreciate that as a writer. I just felt like there would have been more than one scene in this excerpt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    My only complaint was that I wanted more! Four is one of my favo

    My only complaint was that I wanted more! Four is one of my favorite characters in Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy; there is something about him that is so captivating-his ability to be vulnerable despite his all his strengths and accomplishments. The knife throwing scene, along with the Ferris wheel scene and the zip lining scene, is one of my favorites. Although Tris is a very observative and smart narrator, when it comes to communication and reading other people, she's not so good at that. So it was great to see what was going through Four's head and comparing it to what was going on through Tris' mind. It's funny how one scene can be viewed so differently by two people. We get to read about Tris' anger and panic, that we don't realize that Four also feels the exact same way. I never knew how unhappy Four was with Dauntless, not only because he doesn't like the path that they are heading but also because he fears that his biggest secret, being a divergent, will soon be figured out. Seems like when she was crushing on him, he was also crushing on her which is just plain adorable in all the right ways. I like how Four sees Tris' strength before she can see them herself, and this short story proves just how good for her he truly is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Wish you had done more than just one chapter

    Great chapter wish you had done more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Abbyster1998

    I believe this was a very smart idea i realky liked it because i
    was able to see how he reacted to the situated. I say get it its only a dollar its really good cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Cool!

    Yes the title was misleading, and yrs the bulk of the story was the first few chapters from Divergent and Insurgent, but we get Fours view on the knife scene. If you got ti Veronica Roths bognand scroll down to her older posts you will see that she is going ti make 4 other longer excerpts that will be in fours perspective. Overall i loved it, but the title was misleading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Fun

    I enjoyed this brief look from Four's perspective. It's always fun to get a look at the same events from someone else's POV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Recommended

    I loved Divergent and enjoyed getting more insight into Four. He is a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5