Customer Reviews for

Free Marketing: 101 Low and No-Cost Ways to Grow Your Business, Online and Off

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Another quality product from Jim Cockrum!

    I have pre-released version of this book. Packed with a ton of current information on marketing your online or offline business. Jim not only writes about these marketing strategies, but uses them with great success in his businesses. A great read for those who want to grow their business to the next level. Also proceeds are going for a great cause.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Only on Page 11 and already found a GEM!

    I've been a follower of Jim Cockrum's for a long time, so when I got an opportunity to read a pre-release version of this book, I jumped on it. My husband and I aren't exactly new to marketing concepts. We have our own marketing company (that we started thanks to one of Jim's websites), so I was honestly expecting to have heard, read about or have actually tried most of the techniques shared in the book. But here I am, only on the 11th page, and I've found an idea (regarding monitoring reputations online) that I'm going to implement for my own websites AND that we'll offer as an additional paid service to our marketing clients. If I can find something totally new to try within the first 2 chapters, anyone can pick up this book and find something to grow their business, whether it's online or offline. If you have ANY kind of business, this should be required reading. PERIOD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Outstanding Marketing Book - Highly Recommended

    I received a pre-release copy of this book. It is just loaded with outstanding marketing advice. It's one thing to have a great website and great products, but you have to know how to market your information. That is what this book teaches. This book has twenty parts or sections of no nonsense, useful marketing advice.

    This book covers building your brand, how to use lead capture pages, online marketing habits, how to make yourself known, how to develop a marketing funnel, using eBay and Craigslist as marketing tools, media and smart phone marketing, using videos and so many more topics that I can't even list them all.

    This book is well worth your time and will be a book you refer to again and again and i highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Awsome book

    This bookbis some you shd read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Ditch your MBA and get the only marketing book that matters!

    I'll be banned from(my alma mater) campus for saying this, but Jim Cockrum's book is WAY more valuable than my MBA (or any other MBA, for that matter). Why? This book will tell you exactly how to grow a business, generate customers (=revenue), ensure you/your company offers bomb-proof products, and do it all without breaking a sweat. By comparison, my MBA taught me to toe the line, deploy yawn-inducing marketing strategies that worked well 20 years ago, and how to suck my way up the corporate ladder while diminishing my quality of life. If you want to win in business and life (I have, and 90% of the reason is 'Jim Cockrum', get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    EXCELLENT! I COULDN'T RECOMMEND IT MORE HIGHLY!

    I was honored to receive a pre-release copy of Jim Cockrum's book. Thank you Very Much!!

    Having read everything that Jim Cockrum has written, I did expect nothing but the best. I was surprised as I read "Official Free Marketing 101" because it FAR surpassed my already high expectations!

    If you have dreams or a desire to start a profitable Online Business, Jim Cockrum is definitely the one you can trust to teach and inspire you. If you want to learn this business the right way -- the moral way -- developing many loyal followers yourself, PLEASE purchase this book.

    IT IS TOTALLY AMAZING. I am an Internet Marketer and have been for years now, and I learned so very much! It is great to have a teacher who studies and figures out the right way to run a profital online business. Yes... it certainly CAN be done!

    Anyone, and I do mean anyone, can follow his tips, advice, and instructions to become very successful online!

    I would and WILL recommend this book to everyone I know!

    Congratulations Jim!

    LadybugWreaths

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Legendary internet marketer Jim Cockrum's first book!

    I've been a fan of internet marketer Jim Cockrum's online newsletter for years. Having already bought several products from him to help me with my online business, I was very excited when Jim offered me an advance review copy of his new book. This book is filled with Jim's usual creative, cheap but effective marketing strategies, but this time is expanded to apply to all businesses online and off. Highly recommended, and will pay for itself in free marketing strategies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Having read a pre-released copy of this book I can highly recommend it. If you are new to online marketing you will find this book full of great information to make the way smoother for you. If you have been online for awhile you will see some things that you are already implementing but you will also pick up lots of new tips scattered throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ethical Online Promotion Techniques

    The word that came to mind most often when I was reading Jim's book was "ethical". He presents a vast array of ideas and practical solutions to successfully doing business online, in a way that I have never seen. There is no high-pressure "go get-em" sales techiques. Just lots and lots of very do-able methods, all at low or no cost, that simply work. And, unlike some other techniques that are promoted online, you won't feel like you are doing something a little bit naughty.

    Too often I have found that people simply expect to be conned. For example, I have my own schedule available online, and I block out times for "my time off". I once actually had someone complain about this, because they considered it was not the "right" thing to do to say that I was taking time off. They said instead that I should have said I was in training or in a conference or something.

    But that type of honesty is exactly what Jim is encouraging us to have. He tells us to be open and honest with our potential customers. He tells us to be generous with our time and our knowledge. He shows us how important it is to have an amazing reputation for being an expert, and a nice person too, and he tells us exactly how to go about achieving that.

    I have "known" Jim through Facebook for a while now, and so I know he is a family man, and a Christian. While I am not going to say that it is important to be religious to succeed in online business, I will say that Jim has obviously listened very carefully to his mentors, and to his own conscience. This book is full of lessons not only for selling online, but for doing business ethically in general.

    He starts the book with an excellent checklist of action steps, then goes into great detail of exactly how to achieve each one. I certainly will be referring back to that list often, to see whether my own sites, and those I build for clients, tick lots of those boxes.

    In short, Jim's book is definitely recommended reading for anyone who wants to succeed in business online, and wants to protect their own business and personal reputation as they do so. It is great to see that it is possible to succeed in online business, and not have any sort of guilty feeling that you are doing something you shouldn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    This book is worth 1000 times its price!

    I was blessed enough to have received a pre-release copy of this book. If you are at all serious about starting or growing your business and you are not familiar with Jim Cockrum, you are depriving yourself of some of the most practical, honest advice you can find. Jim presents a comprehensive course in how to build a successful online business, yet does it in such a way that any offline business using the principles in this book will thrive as well.

    You don't need to have a business degree, you don't need to be a computer whiz, you don't even need to know anything about marketing to understand what Jim is teaching. On the other hand, even a seasoned Internet marketing expert can benefit from the chapters on business ethics. This is not a book that will collect dust on your shelf.

    I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Amazing Book - Highly Recommend

    I want to thank Jim for allowing me to get a pre-release copy of his new book. After only reading the first few chapters, I have already pulled out my business plan and am making some modifications that I know will really help super charge my online business.

    Jim has a way of explaining how things work in simple to understand terms. This book is written in short, easy to follow chapters that make it a good read, especially for all of us on a very busy schedule.

    I think this is a "must have" book for new and experienced marketers. It's the first book in a long time that presented something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1