Customer Reviews for

Free Prize Inside!: The Next Big Marketing Idea

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I thought this book was informative and gave the reader somethin

    I thought this book was informative and gave the reader something to time about. There were times
     that I felt he could have been more descriptive about some of the terms he used. Also, I felt like the
    endnotes weren't really needed because they took a lot of space and that the websites in them aren't
    really important to the text. I do like that he made many of the examples things that people could relate
     to like Amazon or Dyson, things that are well known.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Helpful Hints

    "Free Prize Inside" provides valuable insight to anyone willing to work hard and make a small, yet innovative change to his or her company's operation. Godin gives very helpful hints as to how to make your idea work. Some of these are pretty obvious, such as not letting others bat it down, but others are subtle and thoroughly explained, such as selling the idea to individuals rather than in a large meeting. Furthermore, the ways to create a successful idea make perfect sense after reading, such as taking your product to "the edge." Godin shows us that to beat the competitors, a product must be unique from all others, and small changes won't cut it because people want the extreme. Overall, if one will take chances and is not afraid to pursue their innovative ideas, this book will help achieve that goal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    It does what it set out to do

    I first became familiar with Seth Godin when he wrote a column for Fast Company magazine a few years back. The best way I could term him is as an 'alternative marketer,' someone who thinks that traditional marketing has run its course. In fact, that is the entire premise of this book. Why spend all sorts of time, money, and effort on traditional media advertising, when you could spend a fraction of that time, money, and effort to find a way to make your product truly remarkable? Then your product would sell itself, because it would actually solve people's problems, so you wouldn't have to convince them to buy it, they would convince themselves. The problem with that strategy, of course, is figuring out how to improve your product. Luckily, the author actually puts the bulk of the writing in this book towards that goal. There are pep talks to convince you that you can make big changes, and there are rather long lists of all kinds of ways to think about improving your product, which mostly revolve around the idea of taking your product to the 'edge.' This often involves messing with people's expectations. Examples include a bank that is open on weekends, including Sundays, or maybe a super-exlusive product, like the American Express Centurion card, or radically changing your retail channel, like the Cranium game being sold in Starbucks stores. All told, this book is pretty good, but the ideas are 'high level' enough that I'm not sure it would be worth the full cover price. If you can find it on sale, though, it's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Highly Recommended!

    If your organization needs to jump-start its creative processes, this accessible book may be helpful. It¿s broad enough to apply to all industries and has enough examples to provoke some serious thinking. Yet, Seth Godin, also the author of other zippy marketing books, sometimes gets carried away with his own evangelism and coinages (e.g., 'edgecraft' for finding innovative product additions at the fringes of your current offerings). Still, Godin¿s thesis that small improvements and 'soft' innovations can reap big benefits rings true, as his many examples make clear. His discussion about why ideas need champions, and how to be one, is also powerful. So if you want your marketing or product development staffers to juice up their creativity, we say this light little book might inspire them to think differently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Not just for the CEO

    Seth Godin has done it again. He has, again, brought marketing to a level that the rest of us can use in our daily lives. So many books are written for the marketing executive or CEO. Not Free Prize Inside. Godin helps the rest of us figure out how to make a major impact from where we are in the organization. He leads us through finding the 'Free Prize Inside' that you can offer in your own situation. It's a book for everyone! (It also is to blame for a couple of dreary-eyed days after I stayed up WAY too late reading it.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    The Best Things in Life are Free

    Seth Godin has another hit with his latest, Free Prize Inside. The old adage, the best things in life are free, rings true as Godin emphasizes that the common consumer is influenced by the promise of something free. Keeping this in mind, Godin questions why companies are spending so much money on their marketing campaigns. In his very keen business mindset, Godin recognizes that the common consumer is not as affected by advertising as many marketers assume. As a consumer, I think this is extremely accurate. I am always enticed by the thought of a free gift, and I don't think that an ad has ever impacted me as much regarding my desire to make a purchase. His example of the prize in the cereal box is very relevant. I remember being a kid and looking for the box of cereal with the best prize and asking my mother to buy that box. This is a great book for any entrepeneur that is interested in making a product that is your 'free prize.' Godin encourages the business man/woman to have a product that markets itself. This is the key to Free Prize Inside and Godin has unlocked my business sense with this very enjoyable and practical book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Another Great Godin

    ¿Free Prize Inside¿ is a guide to creating a small innovation that creates a big profit. Seth Godin, of ¿Purple Cow¿ fame, builds upon his remarkable product concept (purple cow) and shows you how to launch your product within your own company. Godin elaborates on many concepts, success stories, and failures of soft innovations (such as adding sports team logos to hard hats) and leaves you with the necessary tools to create your own Free Prize. Seth Godin has delivered another excellent book, a book that is definitely worth the cost, especially to anyone involved in any stage of the production of a product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Free Prize Inside delivers the Prize

    Okay, I hadn't been a big fan of Seth Godin, author of Purple Cow and Permission Marketing. Mostly because I'm not a marketing person, and I felt that Purple Cow was mostly a book that pointed out successful companies and tried to explain their success with a simple 'They're remarkable'. In short, it's easy to say they're good and here's why. The hard thing, I thought, was to show people the way to become the Purple Cow, if say, you were merely a brown and white one. In Free Prize, he does recycle the idea that good companies do remarkable things, but instead of giving the reader lofty, intangible platitudes about successful companies, he explains a more basic concept of giving the consumer something to desire beyond the actual product, such as the toy in the cereal box. If he had stopped there, he wouldn't have written much more than Purple Cow 2, but fortunately, he didn't. He outlines tips and strategies for how to create the Free Prize from both a product marketing perspective and personal growth perspective. Actual usable, realistic, practical tips and strategies. Free Prize goes beyond its title, as it's not just a primer on how to market effectively, by showing the reader how to get noticed in the much smaller, but more important, realm of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Guess What the Purple Cow Dropped

    Like the purple cow that left this pile, this book is remarkably unremarkable. Cool cover but that's where the good ideas end. It's full of sketchy, cutesy and often confusing case studies and examples that leave you baffled or angry. There is no prize inside, not much of anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    learn to push your soft innovation to success!

    so i picked up this book, and thought, gimmick, this box contains a book? it looks like a cereal box!!! So when I opened the book once it was out of the box, I started flipping through it, expecting boring pages of charts and marketing trends, the kind of stuff that doesn't interest me much. Instead I found it captivates me - the book is easy reading, and starts by giving the background on a lot of real life stores, chains, people that innovated with their ideas, and how they did it. Most importantly, I got totally captivated when I'm reading about the common obstables people encounter in pushing their ideas and helping it succeed - for example, have someone ever pooh-poohed your idea at a meeting? Well Seth Godin here writes about 'people peeing on your idea to mark territory' - I felt that just the other day! and the importance, of not letting an idea get forgotten. Not only is HAVING an innovative idea important, but making it happen, or helping it not get forgotten, and voicing it, makes the whole difference. in any case, this book was a very interesting read. I like the background it gives on previous innovations and such, I also like how I really can relate all the things he said in my real working world. I think this book will help anyone trying to find a direction, of how to push their good ideas in any job, to succeed. I really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    Wonderful!

    An amazing book that puts the responsibility of changing the way business is done squarely in the hands of¿all of us. Easy and fun to read, ¿Free Prize Inside¿ is another message of hope and inspiration for the working masses. Anyone who read ¿Purple Cow¿ should jump on this sequel. To anyone who has not yet discovered Godin, do yourself a favor and discover him now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    if you liked purple cow you'll love this

    What type of cow are you? Are you still thinking about Seth Godin and the amazing things he has to say? Well Free Prize Inside is the answer. This book (umm, cereal box) holds the answers to more out of the box marketing questions then you can think of. You'll learn the techniques that will teach you and your company to go to the edges and not look back. Read it and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1