Customer Reviews for

Free for All: Joe Papp, The Public, and the Greatest Theater Story Ever Told

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    An eagle with a scar on its left eye

    Watches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Sparkle MagicGem

    The light bluish eagle soared in. "May I please join?" she asked Lily. <p> ((Do you guys play Animal Jam?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Enchanted WindyLily

    She looks at te three eagles. "Sure," she yelled.
    <p>
    {I do.}
    {CAMP PENDLETON IS ON FIRE! I live there. ;( }

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    An Absolute Gem

    As someone who had the privilege working for the NYSF during this history making time (two summers working the Mobile Theatre), reading this book is like a love letter to this great man. It gives the feeling of "you are there" as ground breaking actors who influenced your life learning were just getting their start. Anyone who has the required passion for theatre in order to survive it is recognized and accounted for here. Joe spoke of the roar of the crowd - and that was the most moving experience of all. The understanding that all the effort was worth it 10 times over. This book is about living the experience all over again and how it fulfills the soul and how Joe Papp's legacy lives on today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Truly, The Greatest (Theater) Story Ever Told

    "Free for ALL, Joe Papp, the Public, and the Greatest Theater Story Ever Told," by Kenneth Turan & Joseph Papp, is my favorite of the hundred or so theater books I've read over the past twenty years. This book is the best primer I've seen on how theater truly is created, and how it truly works, both backstage and in the producer's office.

    The theatrical process doesn't always work smoothly or happily, but somehow Papp held his productions together, and the stories of how he did that are wonderful indeed. In fact, my biggest problem in writing this review was that every time I'd pick up the book again to find a quote or check a fact, I'd start rereading the stories I'd read a couple of days before.

    I'm not sure I've ever read a book that was entirely composed of quotes, but the format really works, giving immediacy to each event. Often the reader has a Rashomon experience, as two or more people recount the same meeting or moment in entirely different ways. And the deeply personal feelings expressed by those interviewed make for wonderful insights into them, and into Joe Papp.

    When producing, Papp wanted his audiences to see and experience parts of American life they might otherwise avoid: the heartlessness of the Vietnam War (Pavlo Hummel; Sticks and Bones); child molesters in prison (Short Eyes); mastectomies (Mert & Phil); street kids (Runaways); the outbreak of AIDS (The Normal Heart); and the basic hypocrisy and blindness of society (Aunt Dan and Lemon).

    He was passionate, infuriating, shrewd, relentless, soft-hearted (at times), ruthless (at times), mercurial, unstoppable, idealistic, pragmatic, often impossible, and brilliant. He left an undeniable mark on the face of American theater that, I hope, will not soon fade away.

    If you love the theater, you must read "Free For All". I guarantee you won't regret it.

    http://iblogbroadway.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Greatest Theatre Story May be Just That

    Kenneth Turan's oral history of the New York Shakespeare Festival, aka, the Public Theatre, is an extraordinary achievement in current American theatre history. It successfully captures a you-are-there quality as Papp struggles against mighty Goliaths, political and social, in his quest for a free classical theatre for the citizens of NYC. The voices of many of the participants who are no longer among us except in our memories (including Colleen Dewhurst, George C. Scott, J.D. Cannon, and Jason Miller) are indelible and a reminder of their individual importance. For theatre lovers, for audiences who were there then, for new audiences and practioners, for all of us who need reminding that theatre can and does matter, this is an inspiring, moving, and joyful work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1