Customer Reviews for

Free to Be ... You and Me

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book - Released Again

    I remember this book when I was much younger and I'm glad it's being released again. The message is as fresh as ever and very inspirational. Marlo Thomas, to my surprise, is a wonderful writier. Free to be whatever you want to be. Free to be yourself. Get the book and enjoy it's story. You won't regret it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great children's book

    my sister gave this book to my daughters when it first came out. they really enjoyed it, but it somehow got lost during the last 30 years or so.
    i now have 4 great grandchildren, and i hope they will enjoy and benefit from the newest edition as much as my kids did from the original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This takes me back

    Growing up we had(of course)this on a 78' record and we wore it out playing it over and over. I loved it then and hope to some day soon find the whole thing converted to cd form. I'd love to give this to my Nieces and Nephews and get them hooked. Thank You Marlo Thomas and Friends for refreshing a great memory for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for Kids @ TeensReadToo.com

    I was a young child when FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME was first released. My elementary school even used songs from FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME for a spring concert. As I reviewed this book now, as an adult, I was still amazed that I could hum the tunes to the songs written as poems in the book. <BR/><BR/>FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME is one of those rare gems that have managed to stand the test of time. Updated with vibrant new illustrations, FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME takes controversial messages (imagine how controversial they would have been in the early 1970s!) and brushes off the impossibilities of what can be. <BR/><BR/>FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME emphasizes to children the endless possibilities that are available to them. The book encourages children of all ages to do what they want, and not be limited by what society expect of them. <BR/><BR/>Take the story of "Atalanta." The princess's father automatically expects her to marry the man he chooses for her. Atalanta wants nothing to do with that. She wants to be the creator of her own destiny. She compromises with her father that if she can run the race with the possible suitors, if she loses the race, she will do as he wishes. But ultimately, Atalanta holds her own fate in her hands by risking running the race against the suitors. <BR/><BR/>Or, there's "William's Doll." What father doesn't cringe at the thought of his son wanting to play with a doll? But this story shows that by allowing William to have the doll that he desires, he has gained the knowledge to be an awesome big brother. <BR/><BR/>These are just two of the wonderful parts of FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME. With poems, comics, songs, and amazing illustrations, parents will fall in love with the book again, and children will immediately make FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME one of those treasures to be read time and again. <BR/><BR/>And if you are a parent that doesn't remember this from your childhood, pick up a copy and read "Boy Meets Girl." There's no way you can forget the amusing tale of the babies that meet minutes after being born in the nursery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Nostalgia to share with your kids

    As great as I remembered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    A Great Gift

    My daughter was given this book for her third birthday (over 30 years ago) and it was the best gift she could have received. She never let the fact that she was a "girl" hold her back and now she has a wonderful career as an ordained United Methodist minister and is a wonderful wife and mother. She always tells her youth that you can be whatever you want to be if you put your mind, heart, and soul to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Wonderful Addition

    We owned the CD first. My daughter liked some of the songs. She now likes the stories since the book comes with pictures. She can now understand the stories. She also sings the songs as we read through the book.

    The CD that comes with the book is nice to have but it's not the full version with all the songs and stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1