Customer Reviews for

Free to Be You and Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get multiple copies!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a WONDERFUL CD! When I was a child I performed this as a play in kindergarten, it made such an impact on me that I searched for it when my daughter was the same age. I purchased a bunch of them and gave them as birthday presents. EVERY child that was given one, from age 4 up LOVED IT!!! The parents all loved it and everyone is just thrilled with the messages in it. So what are you waiting for???? BUY MULTIPLE COPIES NOW!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Children's Music Ever.

    I cannot say enough about how much this music influenced my life and widened my understanding of the world. The tunes are catchy, hard to forget and - even after all these years - a joy to remember. With lyrics like: William Wants a Doll and When I grow up will I be pretty, will you be big and tall?...well I don't care if I'm pretty at all and I don't care if you never get tall, I like what I look like and you're nice small so we don't have to change at all" No child should grow up without it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Crucial

    This album is fantastic. As a child, I listened to it over and over, and it had an incredible impact on me. It shaped the way I looked at gender, and helped me feel, as a little girl, that there was nothing I couldn't do if I set my mind to it. What's amazing is that it still isn't dated. Truly wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful still!

    How could this possibly be out of date? I played this for my children as they were growing up, and they loved it as much as I did. They've become compassionate, productive citizens in their communities, and slow to place judgement on others, for which I am thankful. This is a great way to gain an understanding of how silly it is to judge people by their individual likes and dislikes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TERRIFIC MOVIE ALSO

    i HAVE THE DVD, It is terrific. I am 51 and i like diecent shows like these. Children should watch shows like this instead of the movies that are coming out now that parents let them watch and then wonder why kids turn out the way kids do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oldie but a goodie

    I have listened to this "record" since I was a little girl and have loved the video version as well. Every time I hear it it reminds me of the 1970's and all of the efforts that went in to breaking down social barriers, gender discrimination, and racism in our country. Awesome choice for little people who need their minds to grow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    family with two boys

    My boys received this record and book when they were very young. I raised them with the songs and stories and truly believe they are better men because of it. My older son has two daughters now, and I will purchase the CD for them so they can enjoy it now. I also taught preschool and early elementary and exposed those students to the songs and stories. I have enjoyed sharing this wonderful experience with them, especially Margo Thomas reading the story about the little princess who believes that ladies should come first. There is now a commercial on TV that uses the theme song. It brings back wonderful memories from my sons' childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pass it on

    Got this for my daughters when they were young (cassette version);
    have now (at their request) have given it to them again (CD version) for their daughters...
    Good for all ages to grow up with, first the music and then to take lessons from

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Required listening for all kids!

    I am blown away that this was issued in the 70's. I listened as a child but it was not until my own kids sang the words, did I realize how great and "radical" it really is -- gender equality, differences and respect. The diversity of the vocal line up is unmatched by anything on the market today.

    My hat goes off to Marlo and friends for pushing the edge of the envelope then, it is still incredibly relevant today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a GREAT buy!

    I bought this cd for my 9-yr old daughter because I remembered having the album as a child, and loving it! She loves it, too. The songs are exactly the same - you won't be disappointed. These are fun songs that teach your child that it is okay to be yourself. If you have the old book, you can read/sing along with the cd (the new book has most of the same songs/stories, but there are a few new ones). I highly recommend buying this for your son or daughter! Now if I could only find the old book...mine is long gone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still relevant after all these years

    I just bought this recently because I remember it so distinctly from my childhood with a women's-lib single mom. My 3-year old girl loves "the baby story" (Mel Brooks and Marlo Thomas as babies trying to determine what gender they are based on appearance), and my 4-1/2-year old princess-loving girl loves the story about Atalanta running a race, tying with her would-be suitor.

    The lessons in this album are great - be who you are, treat each other with respect, etc. - and the material and cast (inc. Diana Ross, Mel Brooks, Alan Alda) are first-rate. Catchy songs I still love hearing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1