Customer Reviews for

Freedom

Average Rating 3
( 2472 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(625)

4 Star

(469)

3 Star

(538)

2 Star

(466)

1 Star

(374)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Sad, but still an interesting read

Not as great as The Corrections, but...there is something about Franzen's writing that makes it difficult for me to put it down. This story was so realistic in many ways to my experiences and those of my friends (predominately boomers), as well as our adolescent and you...
Not as great as The Corrections, but...there is something about Franzen's writing that makes it difficult for me to put it down. This story was so realistic in many ways to my experiences and those of my friends (predominately boomers), as well as our adolescent and young adult kids. He really gets family ties and the effects of depression on relationships. I felt like I knew Patty. You feel like you are right there... watching or experiencing everything, especially the effects of 9/11 on everything (I live near DC and he gets everything right about it). I would read him again and again. Recommend for book clubs.

posted by Bookbabe53 on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

What'chu talkin 'bout Oprah

Not sure why Oprah picked this book, it was hard to read, I put it down and re-started it five times, I finally finished it, but kind of wished I would not have. Very boring, self serving story about a not so normal family. I would not reccomend this to anyone, sorry...
Not sure why Oprah picked this book, it was hard to read, I put it down and re-started it five times, I finally finished it, but kind of wished I would not have. Very boring, self serving story about a not so normal family. I would not reccomend this to anyone, sorry Oprah. If you are looking for a good read, try Unconditional. It is well written story, with well developed characters. The plot twist and ending will certainly surprise you, and I guarantee that you wont put it down until you reach the end.

posted by Tammy01 on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 374 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What'chu talkin 'bout Oprah

    Not sure why Oprah picked this book, it was hard to read, I put it down and re-started it five times, I finally finished it, but kind of wished I would not have. Very boring, self serving story about a not so normal family. I would not reccomend this to anyone, sorry Oprah. If you are looking for a good read, try Unconditional. It is well written story, with well developed characters. The plot twist and ending will certainly surprise you, and I guarantee that you wont put it down until you reach the end.

    32 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    A big disappointment. Don't believe the hype!

    I was persuaded to read this book after all of the hype - cover of Time magazine, multiple radio interviews, etc. I did finish it - and it was somewhat interesting, but there was nothing to feel passionate about. It seemed like the author looked around and asked himself: "What are the hot topics that should be included?" and then found a way to insert them into the plot line. I found his style of writing difficult to get used to, as the chapters droned on and on, with no natural breaks where I could put it down. I finally had to just arbitrarily stop in the middle of a scene. Ultimately, I did not care about what happened to any of the people in this book, and it was a relief to end it. I usually trade books with friends, but this is one book that I will not inflict on others. I do not recommend this book.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Freedom not worth your time nor money

    Please do not waste your time on this book. The characters are shallow, self-centered and above all boring. It shows a very unlikeable Patty, who really has no redeeming value. We share our book's but this is one I ditched as I was to embarrassed to let the group know I had read it. Save yourself the time and money and pick another book. There are so many books that will serve you better for a good read.

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Highly over-rated. Story of a boring life and dysfunctional families

    Clearly a mistake to have spent the time to read this self-absorbed writers story of her pitiful life, by a MAN ? Written in annoying autobiographical manner and about nothing important at all. Could not finish after 180 pages of waiting for something meaningful to be said. Absolutely would not recommend.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Eh

    I do not understand how this book has received so much hype. It was depressing. I found none of the characters had any redeeming qualities. I don't mind sex in a book, but when, what you are reading was on the big screen it would be considered porn, it becomes unnecessary. Like a movie with the F word sprinkled liberally throughout just for shock value. I always wonder how horny these authors are that do this.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Not getting the hype!

    This was a big disappointment, before I even knew about Oprah's recommendation. The writing style is annoying. It's a slew of facts which are suppeosed to lead to the character development. Patty wasn't compelling to me at all. I kept trying to read it because it was supposed to be fabulous. When it was over, I realized that the hyped up books are just that.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Don't waste your money!

    One of the worst I've picked up in recent memory. Who cares about the dreadful self absorbed people in this book! I'm having trouble reconciling what I read with what others are saying. I've always suspected Oprah had a strange agenda with her picks and this confirms my theory. I put it down after about 175 pages-- it just never found itself.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    You can skip this one!

    Rambling prose, pages of narrative traveling a bridge to nowhere and an alarming lack of plot made this cumbersome at best. Too little return on my investment of time and energy.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    Don't Read What You Don't Want to Read!

    Are only books written by conservatives publishable? As a liberal, I don't read Ann Coulter or Glenn Beck or the others - that's my choice. Why you would pick up an Oprah book when you don't like her says that you just like to be confrontational.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Does Oprah really read????

    I must admit most of my reading consists of non-fiction, primarily politics, finance and economics. I had read a weird article in the LA Times opinion section about this book (now I realize it was a parody) and had heard smatterings about the author and the book. When I saw it at B&N I decided to give it a read. Well, I'm at page 80. I look at the book sitting on the table, it looks back at me. Should I continue to read it as my compulsive nature directs me to do? Should I donate it to the library so it can torture some other poor soul? Should I burn it? Time will tell.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Overhyped, Over rated, Unfinished

    At first I was not going to write a reveiw, because I was unable to finish the book. When I saw all of the other negative reviews I figured I might as well express my feeling too. I found this book nearly impossible to read, I did not even get half way through.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Freedom? Hardly

    I wasn't crazy about Franzen's first novel,but since Oprah selected it, I ordered it. Way too much drug culture and over the line sex scenes. The characters are a bunch of people you just can't care enough about to even finish the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    Highly disappointed

    I had such high hopes and anticipation for this book. I have always trusted Oprah's choices. But after struggling through 200 pages of this book, I just could not make myself finish it. I found myself irritated with the unlovable characters, offended by the pure pornographic images and language and frustrated for having wasted my time and money with this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Death

    "No, not now." He meowed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    What a sense of Freedom when I finished this book

    I am an avid reader and this was truly one of the worst books I've ever read. It was meaningless and boring and the constant referral to the male swollen genatalia and reference to the f... ... word I found offensive and a prude I am not. I fail to understand the hype about this book and would rate it even less than one star, if possible. For a truly good read, try Rose Tremain's The Color, Abraham Verghese's Cutting for Stone, or any of the David Rhodes trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Don't Bother

    Don't know what all the hoopla is about. Unlikeable, self-absorbed characters, skipped pages at a time because it was boring. Most in our book club could not even get thru this book - I made myself finish at and wondered why I wasted my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    A waste of time

    Don't waste your time on this one. There are much better books out there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Would never recommend this book

    Never in my 76 years have I started a book and just NOT care how it ended.Just wished I could have gotten my money back.
    Not one decent character.All were dysfunctional. Nobody was free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    Not one likable character!!

    I ordered this book after reading a rave review in a magazine & I have just now decided to stop reading about 2/3 of the way in. There are no characters that are even remotely likable and I am really bored with all of their individual whining/obsesssing about the other characters. I kept reading this far thinking it just had to get better, but it doesn't. Don't bother!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Don't Waste Your Time!!!

    This is the worst book I have ever read. I am not a die hard reader, but I do enjoy reading a lot of different books. On Oprah's recommendation (first mistake) I downloaded this book to my nook. After 50 pages I was falling asleep and by page 300, I was done. I never leave a book unfinished, but I couldn't torture myself any longer! The sexual references were absolutely disgusting and bordered on x-rated! I am deleting this off of my nook!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 374 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19