Customer Reviews for

Freedom's Forge: How American Business Produced Victory in World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Must read to understand the role of American Industrial might in winning WWII

Well written and researched the book details haow business leaders answered Presidents's call to organize the mobilization of hundreds of thousands of American busineess to produce the flow of weapons, vehicles, aircraft, ships that supplied both ourselves and our allie...
Well written and researched the book details haow business leaders answered Presidents's call to organize the mobilization of hundreds of thousands of American busineess to produce the flow of weapons, vehicles, aircraft, ships that supplied both ourselves and our allies. The book keys on Henry Kaiser and Bunkie Knudsen (head of General Motors) and their leadership in the effort. However it also covers the contributions of many others including the influx of women into the factories that allowed men to join the armed forces while the flow of the tools of war continued unabated.

posted by WhiteHat61 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Interesting but Flawed I have to start by saying that I have pr

Interesting but Flawed

I have to start by saying that I have previously read two books by this author, one on the Royal Navy, and the other on the impact of Scotsmen on the world, and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them.

I enjoyed this book when it was presenting the m...
Interesting but Flawed

I have to start by saying that I have previously read two books by this author, one on the Royal Navy, and the other on the impact of Scotsmen on the world, and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them.

I enjoyed this book when it was presenting the many success stories of the American Economy and the production miracle that it achieved during World War II. As Herman accurately points out, the Axis was literally buried under American war production. When limiting himself to describing how Big Bill Knudson and Henry Kaiser among many others helped to produce this economic miracle, Mr. Herman has produced a very interesting and much needed history.

There are several things however that bothered me about this book.

First of all, there is a breezy lack of regard for facts, showing up as numerous small errors. For example, the woman who served as the model for Rosie the Riveter was named Hoff, not Huff (page 263). Hitler did not declare war on the United States on December 8. It was December 11. (page 156). The battleships sunk and damaged at Pearl Harbor were not modern, but obsolescent, the newest one having been in service for about 20 years. (page 168). And the Japanese did not heavily damage the shipyards and equipment at Pearl. (pages 168-169 ) In fact, just the opposite, and Admiral Nagumo was criticized by his colleagues for not launching a third wave to attack the facilities. The author states that “18,434 Navy battleships, cruisers, carriers, subs and destroyers poured out of America’s shipyards…” (page 247). I don’t know what the real number is but it much less than this. In 1944, the warship count of the US surface fleet was about 850 units.

I only checked one footnote and found that the quotation cited was not on page 241 of the book cited, but instead on page 236. (page 144). Mr. Herman had some poor help in editing and fact checking his book.

This brings me to the second, and more disturbing issue with this book. Mr. Herman has worked for the American Enterprise Institute for the past two years, and this book was written under their auspices. He cites help from AEI colleagues in editing this work (they should have done a better job. See above.) The AEI is a conservative, pro-business, libertarian think tank. Their political agenda is promoted through out this book with the subtlety of a jackhammer. Conservatives never miss an opportunity to denigrate FDR, minimize the impact of the New Deal and dispute Keynesian economics. Mr. Herman attempts to fulfill his obligation to his employer referring to the “failed New Deal”, by minimizing FDR’s role in World War II, and portraying him as clueless, shiftless and worthless. Communists lead the labor movement, and New Dealers can’t wait to take over the economy and destroy the war effort for their own agenda Then in the conclusion, he makes a diatribe against Bruce Catton and Keynesian Economics. It is bizarre.

In short, the very good story that this book contains has been cheapened due to the errors and gratuitous editorials it contains. It appears to have been written to promote a political view first and present a very important part of our history second. It is a shame that Mr. Herman has sold out his objectivity as a historian. I will continue to teach my college students that demand for war material led to a vast economic expansion of the American economy which brought full employment to the economy and overcame the Great Depressio

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Interesting but Flawed I have to start by saying that I have pr

    Interesting but Flawed

    I have to start by saying that I have previously read two books by this author, one on the Royal Navy, and the other on the impact of Scotsmen on the world, and I thoroughly enjoyed both of them.

    I enjoyed this book when it was presenting the many success stories of the American Economy and the production miracle that it achieved during World War II. As Herman accurately points out, the Axis was literally buried under American war production. When limiting himself to describing how Big Bill Knudson and Henry Kaiser among many others helped to produce this economic miracle, Mr. Herman has produced a very interesting and much needed history.

    There are several things however that bothered me about this book.

    First of all, there is a breezy lack of regard for facts, showing up as numerous small errors. For example, the woman who served as the model for Rosie the Riveter was named Hoff, not Huff (page 263). Hitler did not declare war on the United States on December 8. It was December 11. (page 156). The battleships sunk and damaged at Pearl Harbor were not modern, but obsolescent, the newest one having been in service for about 20 years. (page 168). And the Japanese did not heavily damage the shipyards and equipment at Pearl. (pages 168-169 ) In fact, just the opposite, and Admiral Nagumo was criticized by his colleagues for not launching a third wave to attack the facilities. The author states that “18,434 Navy battleships, cruisers, carriers, subs and destroyers poured out of America’s shipyards…” (page 247). I don’t know what the real number is but it much less than this. In 1944, the warship count of the US surface fleet was about 850 units.

    I only checked one footnote and found that the quotation cited was not on page 241 of the book cited, but instead on page 236. (page 144). Mr. Herman had some poor help in editing and fact checking his book.

    This brings me to the second, and more disturbing issue with this book. Mr. Herman has worked for the American Enterprise Institute for the past two years, and this book was written under their auspices. He cites help from AEI colleagues in editing this work (they should have done a better job. See above.) The AEI is a conservative, pro-business, libertarian think tank. Their political agenda is promoted through out this book with the subtlety of a jackhammer. Conservatives never miss an opportunity to denigrate FDR, minimize the impact of the New Deal and dispute Keynesian economics. Mr. Herman attempts to fulfill his obligation to his employer referring to the “failed New Deal”, by minimizing FDR’s role in World War II, and portraying him as clueless, shiftless and worthless. Communists lead the labor movement, and New Dealers can’t wait to take over the economy and destroy the war effort for their own agenda Then in the conclusion, he makes a diatribe against Bruce Catton and Keynesian Economics. It is bizarre.

    In short, the very good story that this book contains has been cheapened due to the errors and gratuitous editorials it contains. It appears to have been written to promote a political view first and present a very important part of our history second. It is a shame that Mr. Herman has sold out his objectivity as a historian. I will continue to teach my college students that demand for war material led to a vast economic expansion of the American economy which brought full employment to the economy and overcame the Great Depressio

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This book is *not* history, as it is written with a very strong

    This book is *not* history, as it is written with a very strong ideological bias that will become abundantly clear after the first few pages. Business leaders are good - everyone else is bad and just gets in the way. Regardless that more Americans died and were injured in their factories than were on the battlefields, labor was the problem. Regardless that government was borrowing to the hilt and giving them money recklessly, they were the impediment. The ulterior motives, the cost over-runs, the worker abuses, the profiteering, the failures, are all glossed over. To believe this book, the world was saved by the two businessmen in this book, one of whom made almost his entire fortune by war profiteering, the other of which steered some $14 billion (1944 dollars) in contracts to General Motors, his former company. Or that the latter was an admirer of the Nazis, and proclaimed just prior to the war that Germany was "the miracle of the 20th century", or that his Opel subsidiary was the primary manufacturer of Nazi engines for trucks, tanks, and aircraft engines.

    My grandmother, a military wife during WWII, always talked about the sacrifices everyone made during WWII - the rationing, the victory gardens, women working in the factories while their husbands were on the battlefields, etc. Yet in this book, the heroes are the guys sitting at home with their cost-plus, profit-guaranteed contracts to grow their businesses. Give us all a break.

    Besides the strong bias, the numerous documented factual inaccuracies in this book should discount this book. While the book describes at some level the rise of the US military-industrial complex from non-existent to what would become world dominating, this one could not be more one-sided and shallow. A much more critical and insightful book would far better serve the discerning reader who wants to actually better understand just what Eisenhower warned us about.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Must read to understand the role of American Industrial might in winning WWII

    Well written and researched the book details haow business leaders answered Presidents's call to organize the mobilization of hundreds of thousands of American busineess to produce the flow of weapons, vehicles, aircraft, ships that supplied both ourselves and our allies. The book keys on Henry Kaiser and Bunkie Knudsen (head of General Motors) and their leadership in the effort. However it also covers the contributions of many others including the influx of women into the factories that allowed men to join the armed forces while the flow of the tools of war continued unabated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    One of the best nonfiction books I have read in a long. It tells the story of how American industry responded to the massive needs of WWII. Men like Bill Knudson and Henry J. Kaiser became heroes in their own right as they helped awake the sleeping giant that was the ability of the American people to come together and build planes, ships and armament needed for the war effort both in America and in Europe. Couldn't put the book down because of wanting to see what amazing thing would be accomplished next. Very well written story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I was so moved by Freedom¿s Forge that I was compelled to share

    I was so moved by Freedom’s Forge that I was compelled to share my enthusiasm with the author, Arthur Herman, a first for me. Following are the exerts from the letter I sent him on December 14.
    Dear Professor Herman—I just had to take this opportunity to tell you how much I enjoyed Freedom’s Forge. I absolutely couldn’t put it down! It was a marvelous three part thriller. In part one you masterfully laid out the grim isolationist mood of the country, the pathetic state of our military, the dire shape of our industrial base after our 10 years of depression, all at the time World War II began to rage in Europe. Part two begins with Roosevelt’s action that led to winning the War and curing the Depression—the call to Knudsen. Thus begins the transformation and buildup of American Industry and the introduction of Kaiser and many other Geniuses of Business that seemed to pop up whenever an insurmountable problem occurred—which was often. The pace of accomplishment ratchets up to astounding levels after Pearl Harbor continuing nonstop with more unique characters coming into the picture until the War ends with the dropping of the Atom Bombs on Japan. Part three begins with the ever present gloom and doomers predicting massive unemployment for the thousands returning to civilian life and a return to depression as the country reverts to peacetime production. Part three ends with their pessimism thwarted almost instantly by the continued American ingenuity which lead to a massive post war boom that lasted for 20 years—a sustained period of growth not since equaled. Reality, I guess, demanded that you end the book on a nostalgic note with a few pages at the end detailing how history for the civilian effort during the war years has been rewritten and how the postwar boom began to devolve. At the age of 18 in 1965, I was working on the assembly line at General Motors. I saw myself, during the long GM strike of that year, the UAW's attitude of more pay for less work. Then over the years subtle but growing changes occurred. Our moral culture eroded, productivity declined and public education was dumbed down putting us to where we are today.
    How nice it would be (and how needed) if a Steven Spielberg took your book to the big screen! It certainly has the makings of an epic. If told in Frank Capra style, it would remind us of American Exceptionalism at it’s best. They’d  have to add a tagline for the benefit of those 40 and under “Based on a True Story.” There’s another thought I’d like to share with you. Earlier this year on Glenn Beck’s recommendation, I read The 5000 Year Leap which in a powerful and clear way conveys the principals on which our Country was founded. After reading your book, it hit me that The 5000 Year Leap and Freedom’s Forge should be required reading, as a unit, before any child is allowed to graduate high school in America. Leap lays out the theory of a limited government, setup by and for the people, based on Judeo-Christian principals to ensure a free society. Forge conveys the real life practical application of the Leap theories with the absolute proof that they work as the framework for a free and prosperous society. For me this "combo" package of Leap and Forge greatly added to four things 1) My understanding of just how far we've drifted from our Founding Ideals 2) My concern for the freedom & prosperity of my grandchildren should we drift further 3) My resolve to actively contribute to righting the wrongs while simultaneously 4) Preparing for the havoc that will surely occur if "Progressives" win. Thank you again for resurrecting this wonderful chapter of my father’s generation. Next to the Founders, they truly were the Greatest Generation!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    A Must Read

    Concise, factual, and reads like a thriller. I could not put it down. If you are a student of history this is one book you need to have on your shelf. The author writes in a style that brings the sense of urgency of the time into focus, and pulls you into the subject matter while laying everything bare for you to examine and judge for yourself.
    A wonderful work.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly recommended. Excellent book telling the true story of US recovery after the depression

    A must read for those that thought FDR,s socialist policies turned our country around, and how capitalism actually won WWII.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Should be read by every American

    I have studied WWII history for years but was amazed by the contents in this book. Thank you, Mr. Herman, for revealing the engines and great people behind our victory in that war.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    I loved the book. I read every book I could find on the subject

    I loved the book. I read every book I could find on the subject in preparation for writing my own book on aircraft manufacturing in World War II. Herman's book was one of the best I found, and certainly the most interesting to read.

    He tells a story that is seldom told. No war was more industrialized than World War II. It was won as much by machine shops, as by machine guns. Manufacturer for manufacturer, factory for factory, worker for worker, America outproduced its enemies.

    As William S. Knudsen, of the National Defense Advisory Commission put it, "We won because we smothered the enemy in an avalanche of production, the like of which he had never seen, or dreamed possible."

    As I have discovered in my own writing, one can't spend too much time proofreading. And, Herman's book does contain some minor errors here and there that made me wince (I'm sure they will make him wince, too!). As, some of the other reviewers in this section have observed, Herman is no fan of Franklin Roosevelt or unions. Significantly though, he does give Roosevelt credit for resisting his New Deal instincts for a government take-over of business in World War II. The government had tried this with the railroads in the First World War, and it not only did not solve the congestion problem, in some ways it made things even worse. Herman gives Roosevelt credit for learning from this, and letting business do what business does best: produce.

    Herman also gives Roosevelt (who had long been the friend of unions) credit for standing up to unions whose strikes were crippling military production. Roosevelt even sent in the Army - with bayonets fixed - to drive away picket lines at the North American Aviation plant in Inglewood, California.

    The affect of strikes (many of them over jurisdictional issues between one union and another, rather than wages or benefits) on military production is another story that is seldom told. Herman tells it.

    Two other great books on the significance of manufacturing in World War II are:

    - "Why the Allies Won," by Richard Overy. Not quite as interesting to read as Heman's book, but an excellent analysis of the subject.
    - "Masters of Mass Production," by Christy Borth. Long out of print, but used copies are available, and worth finding.

    If you are interested in aircraft production, I recommend:

    - "Climb to Greatness: The American Aircraft Industry, 1920-1960," by John B. Rae. Another excellent analysis of the subject.
    - "Slacks & Calluses: Our Summer in a Bomber Factory," by Constance Bowman Reid. Definitely a fun personal memoir to read.

    If you are interested in aircraft production in the Los Angeles area you might enjoy my book:

    - "Building Victory: Aircraft Manufacturing in the Los Angeles Area in World War II," by Dana T. Parker.

    Meanwhile, Arthur Herman's book is well worth reading!

    As Donald Douglas (founder of Douglas Aircraft) said about America's phenomenal production in World War II, "Here's proof that free men can out-produce slaves."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    A Chestnut Stallion

    Gallops in and whinnies bucking himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    A bay stallion

    Rears and trots down nickering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    A black mare

    races in and skids to a stop shaking dirt out of her mane as she whinnied. Her wild eyes look around feriociously

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    To all

    Res four, a book simply titled Freedom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great read

    Having read many books on WW2 I was interested in the logistics side. Prior to reading this book that information was incidental. Freedom's Forge helps to understand the process.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Fascinatimng

    Fascinatimng

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Important book to understand true authors of ww2 production miracle

    A must read for students of ww2 & economics: Kaiser & Knudson are unsung heroes of capitalism & democracy; Arthur HErman is to be commended!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I recommend to all--especially younger folks

    Well written--read in 3 settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    History they don't teach at school

    This book pairs well with Amity Shlae's Forgotten Man. They both have the information that history teachers omit and mislead students from. (I speak from personal experience.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great Book! Highly Recommend.

    A great book. If you find that particular era of American history fascinating and enjoy stories of individuals who worked hard to accomplish amazing things, this is a must read. I had no idea American industry was such a key player in the success of the war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2