BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Freedom's Landing (Catteni Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This series needs to be in ebook form!

This series needs to be in ebook form!

posted by KT2 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poor sample

Don't bother with the sample - only 1 page long. Waste of time.

posted by SteveLux on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This series needs to be in ebook form!

    This series needs to be in ebook form!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Poor sample

    Don't bother with the sample - only 1 page long. Waste of time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I love this Freedom Series, and I really love my NOOK. BN, plea

    I love this Freedom Series, and I really love my NOOK. BN, please pretty pretty please convert to NOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I think this would be awesome as ebooks... I own all of Anne Mcc

    I think this would be awesome as ebooks... I own all of Anne Mccaffrey's books, I have started to get the ebooks, but not many or her complete series are in ebook form yet...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2001

    Love it!

    I loooove this book. It was very hard to put down. I highly reccommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    A new series

    An alien life form has taken over Earth. The Eosi are ruthless, as are the Catteni, another race they have dominated and use as mercenaries. There are many dissidents on Earth. The would be conquerers kidnap them and drop them on an uninhabited planet to see if the can survive. In this work, the first of a trilogy, McCaffrey introduces a motley crew of humans and other species who have tried to fight their oppressors. One of their number is Zainal, a Catteni kidnapped by his own people and transported in one of their ships. He contributes much to the chances of survival of the colonists. The new arrivals on the planet they name Botany soon discover that they are not the first inhabitants. They do not see their hosts but they find their farming machinery and holding pens for the stock that resemble cattle. As usual Anne McCaffrey gives us a book we cannot put down or wait for the next instalment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    A must read

    This book was amazing with an inspirational beginning. I was very happy reading this book, it is wonderful how she figures up all these ideas. Her books are so different and so amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly Recommend all of Anne McCaffrey Books

    This is the story that man has often been worried would come true, it has in this book. Ms. McCaffrey paints a picture of the people with words so you feel that you can feel them. The Aliens have come but Earth fights back and creates trouble for the enemy and one person makes a friend of one of the enemy who helps earth and the people from other worlds to fight back. Well worth reading for older pre teens and teen agers but parents should read first to be able to talk with kids about the story. It covers important things like respect for self and others, Duty and Honor things people need to remember even today. All books that I have read by this author are very good and should be discussed in book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    i recommend it

    love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Excellent sci-fi adventure! *Book source ~ My home library. Kr

    Excellent sci-fi adventure!

    *Book source ~ My home library.

    Kris Bjornsen was going about her day at Denver University when the Catteni attacked Earth. Scooping up citizens by the thousands from 50 cities around the world the Catteni ships took their new slaves to Barevi, a planet used by the Catteni for R&R and a depot for their purloined goods from around the galaxy. Kris manages to escape her new ‘master’ and is hiding out in the wilds of Barevi when a chance encounter with Zainal, an Emassi (or high ranking Catteni), changes her life yet again. Gassed during a riot she and Zainal are dumped onto an empty world the Catteni have chosen for the aliens to colonize. Terrans make up the largest group, but there are also Deski, Rugarians, Turs and Ilginish. Fortunately for them, they have Zainal who knows a little bit about the initial survey of the planet. Unfortunately for Zainal, no one likes Catteni and there’s a large consensus to kill him. Chuck Mitford, a retired Marine, takes charge of the motley crew and makes a command decision to keep Zainal alive. For now. With only knives, hatchets, blankets and ration bars, they have to work together to survive on an alien planet.

    I love, love, love this book. There’s something about survival books I really like and I think it’s because I put myself into that situation and wonder how well I’d do. But this isn’t just any old survival situation on Earth where you can hope to eventually find civilization. Cell phones, a grocery store, a bed, hot water, a toothbrush. Forget it. This is an alien planet. Completely unknown. What is safe to eat? What will kill me? Are there dangerous animals? Is there shelter? What kind of weather is to be expected and how long are the days? Or nights? Back to basics in a way that’s hard to do on Earth anymore.  

    I’ve read this book (and the whole series) several times over the years and I’ve enjoyed it each and every time. So much to do and so much to explore with people and aliens who are strangers. The book mostly follows Kris as she survives on the planet they name Bounty and once again it kept me enthralled the whole time. The world is unique, the writing is wonderful and I love the characters. There is action, mystery, humor and even romance. All-in-all an excellent sci-fi adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Awesome Series!

    This is my favorite Anne McCaffrey series. Science fiction series that can show just how tenacious humans can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Freedom's Landing

    This book is great! This book is set in a discriptive, new setting and has many new characters, most of which are discribed well and seem very realistic. Also, it's really exciting and keeps you wondering all though the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2