Customer Reviews for

Freeman

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Outstanding

    Though my reading preferences vary, historical fiction such as this, that engages you from the very first chapter and doesn't let you go, is amoung my favorites. This is a view of African-Americans, and of a culture of the south after the civil war that is portrayed with empathy, and with an understanding I've not read before. This novel fills you with emotion, and makes you sad that it ends.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    One of the best books of 2012!

    Freeman is the story of Sam, a runaway slave, who upon the ending of the Civil War walks from Philadelphia to Mississippi to reunite with his true love, Tilda. Tilda is currently being marched across state lines from Mississippi by her owner who refuses to accept emancipation. Prudence is a young white woman from Boston who wants to start a school for freed colored people in Mississippi. Pitts is realistic, intricate, and thorough in this novel. I enjoyed every page. As a fan of historic fiction, I was pleased. I highly recommend it!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book. It will take you back after the civil ear ended. You will feel like you are on a journey with two of the "freed" slaves. It will bring tears to your eyes. I couldn't put it down after I started.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    A Wonderful Read!

    From the very first page this book drew me in and even after ending, it's still in my thoughts. It is such a rich story of fiction but it pulls at our nations conscience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    One of the best books I have read in years. You really get drawn into the story and into the lives of the main characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    This book was outstanding in every respect. I envy the experienc

    This book was outstanding in every respect. I envy the experience those of you who have not read it are going to have when you sit down with one of the best books I have ever read!
    An Avid Reader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    BRILLIANT!! Leonard Pitts, Jr's story "Freeman" is BR

    BRILLIANT!!

    Leonard Pitts, Jr's story "Freeman" is BRILLIANT and one of the best historical fiction novels I have ever read!  The characters are rich within the tapestry woven for them, blended to transfix you, and stitched together during a most tumultuous time in our history.  I truly believe that this novel should be listed as an "American Classic".

    The lives of the slaves after the Civil War, in someways was just as cruel as slavery.  Being "free" came with a high cost to many, with no where to go, no money and  continued cruelty from the white community. Many slave owners refused to admit defeat to the North and continued treating their slaves as property instead of as human beings.  There were many families that had been broken apart and having very few clues as to their location began searching for their loved ones, with often terrifying results.

    Emotional and riveting "Freeman" is a true masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    What a journy.....Excellent read

    I am a fan of historical fiction especially focusing on the civil war or the black experience. This story is quit compelling, heartfelt, and sad. Its an emotional roller coastor. A journey that takes a thousand miles, perserverence and faith.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I am not a Black person, but I loved this book. I felt the pain

    I am not a Black person, but I loved this book. I felt the pain of both cultures in their struggle to change.
    This novel touched me to the very core of my being---how easy it is to forget what the slaves had to go through both then and now. How easy it is to blame stagnation on what happened centuries ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend this book

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was a beautifully written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Great book

    Couldnt stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Excellent Historical Novel

    It is an excellent book and it shows the horrors that came out of slavery . If you like historic fiction you'll love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wonderful, moving  story with twists and turns

    Wonderful, moving  story with twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    About life & bigotry after the end of the Civil War. Down to earth & real. Not slanted, just life as it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It gives you pause on how everyone's life has a purpose. Mr. Pitts has expertly written an historical novel that has modern ties. I think we still live in a time were African Americans are still thought of as less and judged purely by the color of their skin. The novel has spoken some truths about what it means to be African American in the United States (past and present) and I will forever be changed by it. Thank you Mr. Pitts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Heart wrenching read!

    Freeman grabs you from the beginning and holds on long after you put it down. Mr. Pitts tells of Lincoln's assassination from the slave's perspective and shows the chaos and turmoil of the time, described in vivid detail. When I rounded the corner on the last pages, I felt like I was leaving behind friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    OMG!

    I loved loved loved this story.........
    I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    One of the BEST!!!

    If you read "HELP". This is a MUST READ. I'd give it 10 stars!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    A Must Read!

    This book was amazing! It should be made into a movie. The characters were very well developed! It took a chapter or so to really get good, but it is worth it. I could not put this book down! Every chance I got to read it-I was reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Captivating!

    Didn't want to put this book down. A must read for those that love history and a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3