Customer Reviews for

Freight Train

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Freight Train - Mooooooooving!

    Beautiful book, and a must have in any 2 year olds library. My son has a mini freak out when he sees me going for this book. After the deafening shrill of delighted screams subsides we read the book. After every page he makes his train noise and eagerly helps me flip the page to see where the trains is heading next.
    This book has excellent illustrations and simple words, it is perfect for young children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Love this book!

    My kids loved this book from the library so I decided to buy it on my Nook for them and was delighted to hear the songs added to it. My kids love singing the songs and this is one of their favorite books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    The narration of the book is poor. There is no inflection in th

    The narration of the book is poor. There is no inflection in the speakers voice. I am surprised this is a Caldecott honor winner. I have read the other reviews and maybe I am missing something. However, my 3 year old grandson is not impressed either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    One of the best

    Good book to purchase for a boy baby shower, many months of teaching and love the vocab!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    One of our favorites

    This is a classic book that my 3 year old and 1 year old love. I thought I was buying a hardcover book, but it came as a board book. For a book with only a few words, we can read it for a surprisingly long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    For tiny hands

    Each car and its color is named. Beautiful drawings show the freight train going through a tunnel, over a trestle, by a city, etc. Whoosh! A board book for the toddler set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Very disappointed!

    Not worth it my sons were not interested in the music and well the narrator didnt hold their attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Train books

    Why don't you have any big kids train books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    I used to use this book to teach colors and to teach kids to read. It is a classic! Now I see this has the added delight of some classic American songs that all of us used to sing. What a treat. I can't wait to read it with my grandchildren!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Grandpa's favorite book

    Allows for making up your own story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Disappointing

    My 3.5 yr old grandson was not interested in the music include and there just too little else in it -- turned out an expensicpve dud for my trained obsessed g/s

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Fun train book!

    few words, great illustrations, good rhythm. my grandsons love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Not as impressed as my 2yr old grandson

    I was immediately disappointed in this book - there's nothing to it! The illustrations are pretty basic and repetitious and there's little reading. But my 2 1/2 yr old grandson loves it, so that's good enough for me. I ad-lib as I read it to him though... just doesn't have enough substance for reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    For young toddlers

    Like another review... Our 2 year old just loves this book. Although I wish it was grammatically correct... It is an easy read. Our 2 year old has memorized it. He reads it to us and he often sits down to read it to himself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Eye-catching

    The last visit to Barnes and Noble I allowed my two year old to pick out a book on his own to sit and look at. He found this book and he sat and looked at the pictures by himself over and over. After finding what I needed I looked and found him still sitting loooking at this book, I so I sat down to read it to him. It has very few words but the pictures are outstanding. I even enjoy looking at it more than once. It teaching some basic railroad words and he can pretty much read it aloud with me now. It allows for interaction and he loves that. He sleeps with this book when we read it at bedtime. This book is a hidden treasure and one of our favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Great book for a 2 year old.

    My 2 &1/2 year old carried this book around Barnes and Noble from the moment he first picked up the book and then for a couple weeks after we bought it. If we read it at bedtime he insists on sleeping with it. It's his favorite. For a child who likes trains it will be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Great for learning colors!

    My sons are in middle school and high school, but I continue to give this great little book as a gift to friends with small children. I truly think that my children learned their colors from this book. If you have or know a train-obsessed toddler or preschooler, this book is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Freight Train is a terrific book for little ones who love trains!

    My son had this book and loved it. I recently bought the board book as a gift for a nephew who is two. He was glued to it immediately. The illustrations are simple, yet perfect, and they demonstrate the text exactly. The book is great for teaching colors. The illustrations show the movement of the train. As soon as you read to the end, your little one may want you to start over again! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Excellent short picture book for just before bed

    Very short but my kids love naming all the train cars each night before going to bed. Helps with colors and actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    This train keeps on going...

    Children love this book! I have given it as gifts and delight watching them read it. The story is simple, but the illustrations are detailed. It can be used to teach colors, shapes and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3