Customer Reviews for

French Kiss

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fine heated erotic romantic suspense

In Southern California successful wealthy record producer Johnny Patrick would do anything for his beloved nine years old daughter Jordi. Thus he hires architect Nicole Lesdaux to design a tree house for his adored child. Nicole finds herself attracted to her client a...
In Southern California successful wealthy record producer Johnny Patrick would do anything for his beloved nine years old daughter Jordi. Thus he hires architect Nicole Lesdaux to design a tree house for his adored child. Nicole finds herself attracted to her client and his preconscious offspring.--------------------- However, when Johnny¿s former wife drug addict Lisa on a whim takes their daughter to Paris, he panics as he knows her friends at best are not good for his little darling and she is unstable. He enlists his sexy architect who speaks a few more words of French to accompany him across the Atlantic to retrieve Jordi. Shocking herself by breaking the golden rule of never mixing business with pleasure, Nicole agrees to go to France with Johnny. In Europe the architect and the music mogul begin to fall in love, but first must rescue a preadolescent child whose mother has placed her in danger from her so-called predatory friends.------------------ Though some will wonder why Nicole as he could have easily hired an interpreter who spoke fluent French, this is a fine heated erotic romantic suspense with the emphasis on the erotica. Profanity is overused and feels more like shock therapy. However, the lead couple is a solid pair and Jordi is a precocious youngster in trouble because of her mother¿s terrible judgment especially in her choice of friends. Susan Johnson keeps the heat beyond boiling as Johnny and Nicole share much more than just a FRENCH KISS.-------------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating

I really wanted to like this book, but to me, it was just frustrating. I thought the characters could have been so much more likable and well-written, but they were as hollow as L.A. itself...I agree with another reviewer who wrote that the language Johnny used (and Ni...
I really wanted to like this book, but to me, it was just frustrating. I thought the characters could have been so much more likable and well-written, but they were as hollow as L.A. itself...I agree with another reviewer who wrote that the language Johnny used (and Nicky as well) was degrading and unromantic, not to mention unrealistic. Johnny had friends all over Paris but couldn't speak French? Yeah, right.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine heated erotic romantic suspense

    In Southern California successful wealthy record producer Johnny Patrick would do anything for his beloved nine years old daughter Jordi. Thus he hires architect Nicole Lesdaux to design a tree house for his adored child. Nicole finds herself attracted to her client and his preconscious offspring.--------------------- However, when Johnny¿s former wife drug addict Lisa on a whim takes their daughter to Paris, he panics as he knows her friends at best are not good for his little darling and she is unstable. He enlists his sexy architect who speaks a few more words of French to accompany him across the Atlantic to retrieve Jordi. Shocking herself by breaking the golden rule of never mixing business with pleasure, Nicole agrees to go to France with Johnny. In Europe the architect and the music mogul begin to fall in love, but first must rescue a preadolescent child whose mother has placed her in danger from her so-called predatory friends.------------------ Though some will wonder why Nicole as he could have easily hired an interpreter who spoke fluent French, this is a fine heated erotic romantic suspense with the emphasis on the erotica. Profanity is overused and feels more like shock therapy. However, the lead couple is a solid pair and Jordi is a precocious youngster in trouble because of her mother¿s terrible judgment especially in her choice of friends. Susan Johnson keeps the heat beyond boiling as Johnny and Nicole share much more than just a FRENCH KISS.-------------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Frustrating

    I really wanted to like this book, but to me, it was just frustrating. I thought the characters could have been so much more likable and well-written, but they were as hollow as L.A. itself...I agree with another reviewer who wrote that the language Johnny used (and Nicky as well) was degrading and unromantic, not to mention unrealistic. Johnny had friends all over Paris but couldn't speak French? Yeah, right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Too Much Profanity

    It was difficult to like the male character in this book because he cursed profusely and used degrading terms like 'tits', etc. It was an annoying distraction to a fun summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Fun, but awkward

    The story-line was really good, but it was hard to like the characters. Johnny was too macho, and Nicky too weak, even though she kept protesting that this wasn't how she normally behaved. The other thing that got on my nerves was the relationship between the ex-wife and Johnny. Everytime the ex got in trouble, he would drop everything to fix her problem. The main characters didn't seem to have anything in common but sex and those scenes were awkward at best. I was really disappointed in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Misled by the movie title

    This book should come with an NC-17 rating. I flipped through it when I received it in the mail and promptly returned it to my local store. A book about babysitting this is not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this was an amazing book! I absolutely loved it. It is definately a book that I recommend to read, and it makes a wonderful summer book. I could understand the complaints about the language but that is how the young generation talks, and it can be considered a turn-on. I loved the suspense and the plot, and Johnny's protectiveness about Nicky, it was realistic for him to want to...expecially since my man gets like that. To not know the French language without being native is a very difficult thing. I took 4 years of French and 3 more in college, and after 7 years my ability to speak is minimal. It is a hard language, and not everyone has the patience or the time to learn the language. I think the story was believable, and I highly recommend it as a fun summer read. It is definately a feel-good movie that will totally boost your spirits, and it will seem like the book just blew by. I finished it in about 5 hours and couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    I loved this book! It was funny, I liked the charters. It was a fun easy read. I read in only a day. It had good sex and suspense in it. I have recommended it and would read again. This was the first book I read by Susan Johnson and I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    French Kiss

    This is now the book I thought it was when I bought it. This kind of adventure is what I would love to have been on. The romance between the two main characters is what any girl wants. Susan Johnson hit it on the nose when she wrote this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Definite escape book...enjoyed the characters immensely...

    I really enjoyed this book but I wish that the author would have developed the characters a little more in the beginning before the "tryst" begins. The lead characters occupation was definitely original and I enjoyed her independence in this unique field. I would recommend to anyone who wants to escape on a rainy day or on a beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Great Book!!!!

    This being my first book read bt Susan Johnson, I thought is was an exceptionally great book. I loved her style of writing. I loved how the characters inter-twined with one another. I love how Jonny, wanted with all his heart to protect Nicky. Cant wait to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    This was something not to be put down!

    I thought this book was fun and exciting! I loved the characters'. I would definitely recomend this book to everyone. Susan Johnson is an excellent author and I look forward to her other books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2