Customer Reviews for

French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    great stories, good food, altogether fantastic reading!

    This book details the adventures of Peter Mayle as he travels throughout France researching festivals, food, wine, and of course, the French! Reading this book made me want to take up French cooking and fly to France immediately to taste all the wonderful dishes Mayle describes. For anyone who loves food or reading or France, this is your book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Charming

    This book has a little of something for everyone. Billed as a gastronomical guide, it also gives a great look at the French and their customs as well as includes fun adventures with Mayle's eccentric friends. Absolutely charming and absorbing, it's a great read for a weekend at the beach (which is just where I read it!).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Good food, good wine, GREAT book!

    Having read all Peter Mayle's other books so often that my copies are dogeared, I was delighted to see he had a new book out. I bought it just before boarding a plane for a 4-hour flight. Thoroughly enjoyed French Lessons! Mayle's style makes this book so easy and so much fun to read, I almost didn't realize how much factual information he delivers. His dry wit and wry observations about people and events -- especially in the chapter about the marathon run in costumes -- had me laughing out loud. The only down side to this book is reading it while you're hungry, because his descriptions of food and wine encountered make anything less, unpalatable. As usual when Mayle writes, the book ended before I grew tired of reading. It's not a cook book, so even those who fear boiling water can enjoy a good read. And if you read with a glass of wine in hand, so much the better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    What a delicious book

    As I sat in my backyard on a warm summer evening reading this book, I lost myself in the delicious sounds and smells reaching my brain from it. All subject covered many times before by many other authors but then Peter Mayle can make all things new and fresh again with his words. I highly recommend this book to all lovers of good life or those who just want to sit in their backyard and dream about a good life. Nearly as good as being there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    An amazing travel in French culture

    An original point of view on french way of living. There are moments in life in which it is necessary to slow down and decide what is really important for you. Peter Mayle invites all of us to enjoy our time in a relaxed atmosphere...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Peter Mayle writes well

    I got exactly what I expected from this book. An enjoyable romp through Provence and a glimpse of its people and the area's food. This is my second book by Mayle ("A Year In Provence") and there was some overlap. With these two books and viewing the A&E movie based on "A Year In Provence" I've probably read/seen as much Mayle as I'm going to. I would highly recommend to anyone read some of his work. If you like "fish-out-of-water" stories, a French tourist, a connoisseur of fine foods, or ever wished to spend more time in Provence, or just an enjoyer of good humor -- this book (and his others) are for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Eating Peter Mayle - A Culinary Delight!

    Once again Peter Mayle has proven that marketing is the best tonic. His books fill people up with all of the things that they seems to adore, food, wine, and a few anecdotes to make it go down with a laugh or two, and he sells it as neatly wrapped as a big Mac hamburger. The quality of the writing is not the question, nor actually is the content of his books as far as his depth of knowledge on French culture goes, it is all for fun, and fun for all. The depth that is lacking will not be missed by his adoring fans who would not know any better any way. I find the book is like an old cliche - you've heard it before but find it amusing since really to have an Englishman be called the high priest of French cuisine and wine is quite humourous in itself. The book is an easy read and not to worry if you get it wet at the beach, you can guess what the next line will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1