Customer Reviews for

French Milk

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Unique and Charming!

    What a charming and unique book! Lucy Knisley and her mother took a trip to Paris to celebrate milestone years for each of them. Her mom was turning 50 and Lucy was about to graduate from college. Lucy captured the trip perfectly in this illustrated journal. Eating, art, and shopping are the focus of the trip and I could almost taste the foie gras and pastries! I took a trip to Paris after college and some of the scenes Lucy drew feel just as I remember them, especially the staircase in the Louvre leading to the Winged Victory. Scattered throughout are photographs that she took on the trip and I enjoyed being able to compare her some of her drawings to photographs. In the end I felt like I had escaped to Paris for a few hours. I¿ll be eagerly looking to see what Lucy Knisley comes up with next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    French milk - entertaining

    I thought this book was very entertaining. It wasn't what I thought it would be when I bought it, but it's a quick easy read as all the book is written in illustrated cartoons along with some photographs. It was a refreshing way to look at Paris through the eyes of a cartoonist and it included some interesting tid-bit information about the city only someone who had lived there for a month would be able to convey. It's a lighthearted fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Epitome of creativity

    Lucy Kinsley has hit the ball out of the park on this one. This is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. Its essentially a journal of the author's time in Paris with her Mother. The two rented an apartment for a month and saw the sites, ate the food, and watched Arrested Development in bed.

    The pictures are charmingly whimsical, and I love the candid nature of the Journal, it's really quite personal. In addition to chronicling their sightseeing adventures, the author writes about her internal struggle with graduating college and having to make her way in the world.

    I love the way the author writes not only about what she has seen, but she comments on her impression of what she sees as well. As she walks through the gardens of Versailles, she comments on how she likes to imagine ladies in their wigs and dresses scampering about. She talks about the decadent nature of the castle and paints a clear picture of what it may have been like to be there during that time.

    The novel also mentions a lot of places in Paris that she would recommend. This would actually make a nice travel guide, places that she has gone are described and drawn giving a great idea of what to expect.

    The novel is also peppered with photos from the trip. Its such an excellent balance of comic drawings and photos. The combination really gives the feel of being inside a private journal.

    I highly recommend this read. It took me about 2 hours from start to finish, coming in at about 200 pages it is a breeze to read. Why not try something new? Comics are fun, and this is an easy way to introduce yourself to the world of graphic novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    How this was published I'll never know.

    Don't waste your money. The cartoon drawings are not very good and the writing is amateurish and self centered. It really is not worth the hour it takes to read the entire book and definitely not worth paying money for.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute But Lacking Substance

    I just finished reading "French Milk" and came away with a strong feeling that this book could have been so much more than it was. Instead, it was very much "middle of the road" for me, with the one benefit of it being a very short read.

    Knisley's travel diary is littered with photos and cute little drawings that recount her time in Paris with her mother. A large part of the book is spent talking about food. While food is such an essential component of Paris, I really felt that, due to Knisley's drawing style, the multitude of food pictures could have been totally left out. I mean, it all just looked like scribbles and triangles. I kind of felt like it was filler for the lack of a real, thoughtful experience that you'd expect from a diary of an American girl in Paris. There are glimpses, yes (such as Knisley's awareness of French men, and body issues as an American in super-skinny Paris) but they are gone a page later - leaving you wanting to know more.

    The preface mentions that the book "also deals with the valuable and significant influence that we take in from our mothers" yet we see none of that in it's pages. Knisley's mother is a side-character that we don't really even get to know - definitely not enough to draw any ideas about the influence she has on her daughter.

    One thing I did enjoy about the book was the format - a perfect mix of drawings, photos, and text. Maybe it's because I myself have always dreamed of going to Paris for a significant amount of time, but the book struck that envious chord in me. I'd recommend picking it up if you're a Francophile, but don't expect too much from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1