Customer Reviews for

French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating for Pleasure

Average Rating 3.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

It's working for me

I read this book in late December just before the New Year and decide it was going to be my New Year's resolution. I just graduated college 'at 138 pounds' and I want to get back to my high school weight '128 when I left high school, now I'm shooting for lower so I can ...
I read this book in late December just before the New Year and decide it was going to be my New Year's resolution. I just graduated college 'at 138 pounds' and I want to get back to my high school weight '128 when I left high school, now I'm shooting for lower so I can wear a bikini on my vacation' and so far I've lost a total of 7 pounds since January 1st. I realize this isn't very fast but I'm calling it my lifestyle change. I drink tons of water, make my own yogurt and even tried making her baguettes. I still eat meals every night with my family and that includes steak and potatoes, that includes shepard pie. I'm eating much of the same food I was before but I'm also eating smarter which is the quintessential thing you get from this book. I highly recommend her book to you. I never have done other diets, but this isn't a diet. I had a Lindt chocolate truffle the other day, just one, but it hit the spot. I'm finding that I can't eat some of the things I used to enjoy, they're simply too sweet and once you realize how savory some things can be you'll realize that her book will help you. She doesn't 'bash' Americans, what she points out is something that anyone with eyes can see. She points out that how we're eating is leading to the problem 'duh, I know' but more importantly that we've forgotten how to enjoy food without gorging ourselves. Thinking of food as a sinful pleasure is part of the problem she says, and I fully agree. The other day I was craving a cinnamon bun, so I made one, my mom told me I'd blown my diet now. I quoted the book, 'Oscar Wilde says the only way to beat temptation is to give into it.' Well, I gave into my craving and I'm still losing weight. This book is about an attitude adjustment towards food. I've done it and it's working, I'm thrilled that my skinny pants are loose and I'm hoping that when I go back to school and visit for my friend's birthday in April that I'll have reached my goal weight.

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nationality or....Wealth?

Married to a French man, I lived in France for many years and could relate to some of what she says...the French, on average, do walk more, drink more water, and eat more fruits and vegetables. No secret that such things will keep you leaner! But to me, much of what s...
Married to a French man, I lived in France for many years and could relate to some of what she says...the French, on average, do walk more, drink more water, and eat more fruits and vegetables. No secret that such things will keep you leaner! But to me, much of what she described had more to do with being part of a priveleged upper class... 'nannies and cooks and 'good wine' with every meal, etc.' than being French. There are plenty of 'metro-boulot-dodo' 'average working class' French that eat fast food and frozen food, shop at mega-marts twice a month for packaged food, and spend too many of their non-working hours between traffic jams and daycare to have time for sitting down to eat a half a banana with a knife and fork and napkin. S'il vous plait, let's be serious! Besides, some of her recipes were just plain wierd. Very NOT French, I think.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Simple eye-opening advice

    This is the one 'diet' book that actually worked for me and truly changed my life. She really made me re-think how I looked at food and I came to find out that I was not overweight because I love food, but truly because I hate it! Focusing on eating good quality food that I actually like and not putting food in my mouth because it's convenient or just because I want it has helped me loose 25 pounds so far. She does offer some advice that is not practical for everyone to follow, but the key to changing any bad habit is not to follow a list of what someone tells you to do, but to discover what works for you through trial and error. Instead of being a prisoner to some diet, for the first time in my adult life I feel free to enjoy desert if I want it, because I know that I will balance it out with what I eat for the rest of the day. Most importantly it has made me look at the eating habits of my children 5,3, and 1. Even though they are at a healthy weight now, when I see them walking around eating mindlessly, it helps me to see what I am teaching them. I don't think this was an American-bashing book at all. People in this country are too sensitive about what others (especially French) say about us. What she said is true and many, many people in America need to listen.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    French Women Don't get Fat

    This is an interesting book about healthy eating. It gives you different types of recipes, and it also gives you some everyday tips. This a fun book to read and it gives you a lot of good advice with healthy living.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Smart and True

    Some of her comments can be taken as 'American Bashing,' but if the shoe fits... The reading is light and easy and the recipes are delicious.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Change your eating habits

    I have always believed that changing your eating habits vs a fad diet is the only way to lose weight permanently, and this book will show you how. I did not find her book snobby, the author loves living in America. Granted we all don't have access to farmer's markets, but her ideas are pure common sense, something that is missing from most diet books with all these ridiculous 'phases' you must endure. I lived in Europe for a year, I ate a fresh croissant every morning with real butter and Nutella. I lost 15 pounds in one month and kept it off until I returned to the States. I remember eating alot of fresh salads, vegetables, soups, meat, fruit and I had dessert every day! I walked everywhere because I did not have a car, and took the bus or my bicycle. What I did not do is a)snack b)eat after 8:00 pm c)consume junk food d)eat a heavy dinner. Lunch was the biggest meal. Good concepts to adhere to, which I am trying once again to do with 30 pounds to lose!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Read for the sake of your body and mind.

    I've always been fascinated by the French culture, and reading this book has been an experience I truly treasure. I suffered from both anorexia and bulimia, so my relationship with food was far from acceptable or normal. I was either starving or gorging, and this book has taught me to find a happy balance and appreciate food without overdoing it. If you're looking for a concrete plan to follow, or if you're just looking to lose a few pounds fast, this isn't the book for you. But if you're looking for a lifestyle change and are tired of depriving yourself of your favorite foods and obsessing over food, give it a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great fun, ma petite chou.

    Wonderful insight into the French in general, men and women.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Great Book!

    We should all follow the advice of this woman, it all comes down to common sense and dedication. Two things which seem simple but are hard to maintain in our crazy lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    It's not rocket science.

    Fad diets don't work, permanent weight loss doesn't come in a pill, control your portions, and move. Basically, change your relationship with food and you'll lose weight for life. It's the same basic information that we've heard before, and even the author admits it. But there is a tid-bit of worthy information here and there, some good recipes, and plenty of motivation (you don't have to slave away at the gym to obtain a normal weight). There is a lot of French dialect that isn't always translated (a bit annoying if you've never had French). But overall I would say it's a good read and worth the price (I got it on sale). Oh yeah, the author recommends this book for people trying to lose 30 pounds or less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    It's working for me!

    I recently moved to the United States. A year later, I was overweight for more than 10 pounds. I had to do something and somehow I found this inspiring book. I read the book, followed the procedure she recomends, and now it's working for me! I'm on my way to lose weight! I've been checked the recycle garbage and realized that the boxes and bags of procesed food are gone! Now I cook fresh food with new seasonings and my husband, guests and myself ENJOY it a lot. I liked this book, it's easy to read, easy to follow (forget counting calories, low carbs, or any special combination of foods). You identify and control your offender foods. The most outstanding of it is that it ENCOURAGES you to start a healthier life style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    food for thought

    I enjoyed reading French Women. I started it in the hospital after having my second child. It does read like a novel, which makes it even more interesting. The author did not say anything new, however she made me rethink food. Why fill up on food that is overprocessed and tasteless. I use to go to COSTCO and load up on all sorts of meat and freeze it, I would buy all sorts of canned and frozen veggies. The changes I made are simple, but I feel better about myself- buy fresh fruits and veggies that are in season, buy meat for the week, and use fresh herbs. Making sure to eat three meals a day, drink tons of water. I keep a pretty glass pitcher on my counter with lemon slices in it. It makes the water more inviting. My Colombian relatives are all thin and in great shape. They eat and live the way the French do. Everything in moderation and take time to enjoy the meals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Makes sense to me

    I just read this book, and I really enjoyed it. It is simply a list of tips and tricks on the ¿how to¿ of getting your body moving and eating less. We have all heard it, but have we all done it? Apparently not. I have tried numerous ways of losing weight..all fairly nutritious and seemingly doable: Weight Watchers, South Beach, Ediets, Somersizing (Suzanne Somer¿s food combining methods) etc. I always lose 5-15 lbs, but gain some back. So what is the problem? 1)Regular, simple exercise. I am a single parent with limited income and a full time job, so this has been a challenge. 2)Food lists that match my likes/budget/time. I enjoy food, and love to cook but many eating plans advocate low fat, light, or fat free foods. YUCK. I¿d rather have small amounts of tasteful whole foods. I was so happy to see the apple tart recipe to get you through some sweet cravings that actually uses real butter and sugar! I already eat lots of fruits, veggies and whole grains, but I also eat lots of processed sweets and snacks. You can take the suggestions to fit your lifestyle. We are so used to rigid diet plans that we must have it laid out for us in minute detail or we can¿t do it. For example, living in MN, I don¿t have open air farmer¿s markets all year round, but I can certainly go in the summer on occasion, and in the meantime try different foods at the supermarket. I am already looking forward to homegrown tomatoes! They are the best! Small changes are the key. I also decided to walk 30 minutes during my 60 minute lunch and walk to my car for another 15 minute walk at the end of the day ¿ because that is truly something I can do on a regular basis and for free! This book may not help everybody, (especially if you have serious weight issues) but if you are like I am, not moving at all, eat fairly healthy already but just need to fine tune your eating habits, you might be able to glean some helpful hints to budge that scale down ¿ for good. I didn¿t particularly enjoy watching my toddler stuff food in his mouth and swallow without a lot of chewing and wonder where he learned that¿until I realized probably from watching me. I know I want my children to learn how to be active in daily life, how to savor and enjoy food, to eat healthy and well¿why don¿t we want to learn to do this for ourselves?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Great Book - True Principles

    Having lived in another country prior to the U.S., I do understand the author's first weight-gain experience. In my freshman year, I successfully added 15 pounds. I do think it's the result of the sedentary lifestyle in the U.S. (office jobs where you sit for 9 hours or more a day), the large portions and the highly processed foods. While some of us may not be able to afford the costs of organic foods or have the luxury of farmers markets, there are many principles in this book that you can apply to your life: 1. Drink more water, 2. Move more 3. Control your portion size 4. Eat more vegetables and fruits. I do believe it's beneficial to record one's eating habits as the author mentions, because you may be amazed by the many 'offenders' that creep into your diet. The author also implies that we are the ones that have control over what we eat - it would benefit us all if we exercise that self-control more regularly, and we will feel empowered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    C'est Magnifique!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Mireille Guiliano's observations regarding the differential lifestyle choices between the French and American. Having had several wonderful opportunities to travel extensively through France, I have to admit that some French women actually do get fat. C'est dommage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Easy, Common Sense Ideas for Healthy Eating, But...

    I read an article about the author and the principles of this book in a high-end shelter magazine in December 2004. It sounded interesting so I began to follow the ideas outlined in the article even before the book was released. I later purchased the book and was, and continue to be, surprised, at how easy the changes have been, how enjoyable eating is for me now that I can give myself permission to actually enjoy eating, and how much more fulfilled I feel eating a smaller amount of food. Despite the author's assertation that the eating plan may not be suitable for someone needing to lose over 30 pounds, I have lost 20 pounds since December and feel that this is a lifestyle I can not only live with, but one that actually enhances my quality of life. My one caveat is that I do agree in some ways with the previous reviewer's observations. In the beginning of the book the French Woman vs. American Women comparisons seemed good natured and well-intentioned, but by the end I, too, started to feel a little brow-beaten simply for being American and therefore for having some (gasp!) American tendencies. Very few compliments are paid to the nature of American women (although surely there are some!), while the criticisms are many. The author does rely quite a bit on ingredients that are sometimes difficult, and usually costly to come by, at least here. In California, it was possible to get fresh fruits and vegetables year-round and healthy markets were very accessible; finding creme freche wasn't a problem. I now reside in a rural community which, although only 85 miles NW of NYC, might as well be Mars for all the access we have to unusual ingredients. The same can be said for produce; bountiful in the summer, pathetic in the winter. In any case, I have been able to adapt many of the principles outlined in the book in a way that has been successful to me. My advice to the author; don't look a gift horse in the mouth. We American women are your market, and although we appreciate the advice, I would suggest you offer it in a more complementary way. We may be sweaty, athletic, over-indulgers(!), but we're also fun, free-spirited, and most importantly, open-minded. Can you imagne how the French women would react were we to preach our lifestyle philosophy to them? I would bet that would go over like a lead balloon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2