BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire: What Happens When God's Spirit Invades the Hearts of His People

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

AWSOME

I'm not much of a reader, my sister-in-law gave me this book. When I finally started reading, I could not put it down. Jim opens your eyes to the spiritual by sharing heart-felt experiences. This is an easy book to read and the title matches the content. It is an exc...
I'm not much of a reader, my sister-in-law gave me this book. When I finally started reading, I could not put it down. Jim opens your eyes to the spiritual by sharing heart-felt experiences. This is an easy book to read and the title matches the content. It is an excellent source of encouragement for those seeking God. If you find it hard to pray, you will be driven to pray after you read this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Moving

A great read for those seeking more, a wonderful and inspiring story of the Brooklyn Tabernacle and how as Christians we need to behave and act to bring the Spirit down and feel the power of God. A must read and a must have for a library.

posted by Ranger_Derek on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    AWSOME

    I'm not much of a reader, my sister-in-law gave me this book. When I finally started reading, I could not put it down. Jim opens your eyes to the spiritual by sharing heart-felt experiences. This is an easy book to read and the title matches the content. It is an excellent source of encouragement for those seeking God. If you find it hard to pray, you will be driven to pray after you read this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Moving

    A great read for those seeking more, a wonderful and inspiring story of the Brooklyn Tabernacle and how as Christians we need to behave and act to bring the Spirit down and feel the power of God. A must read and a must have for a library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    excellent book - recommend reading

    Great book about following the directive in the Bible to pray without ceasing regardless of the situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    The Benefits of Returning to Fervent Prayer

    I couldn't put this book down! I have been a member of a few mainstream churches all of my life and until I actually experienced the kind of power that Pastor Cymbala speaks of in his book, I could not pinpoint what the problem was that was causing deadness in the churches. Pastor Cymbala makes this very clear and is truly a man indwelt by the Spirit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Khalifakit

    Glasskit!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Bane to zlightpaw

    No zi...nvm. Help me please fellow.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Hi

    Hi idk what "iceshine" and "wildflower" r someone pls tell me

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Incredible, Inspirational, Impelling Story!

    What a moving story! It should be a movie! If you are not inspired to pray and do more after reading this book, I would be amazed. Jim Cymbala, in an easy-to-read style of storytelling, describes about how God did miracle after miracle because of the power of prayer to breathe new life into a dead church and a disillusioned pastor. It will make you laugh and cry at the same time! If you don't want to get involved and see a change in yourself and your church, then don't read this book. But, if you want to see your own life and your church change and grow spiritually, read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    An Incredible Spiritual Journey

    This is a fantastic book. Not just a 'good read', but a book that comes to life, it will change your heart and your spirit if you allow it. Truly shows how God can move you and use you if you will only follow His guidance. It is deeply engaging and yet easily understood by anyone - should be recommended to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    A BOOK THAT WILL MAKE YOU PRAY!!

    This is one of the most profound books on the possibilities of 'effectual, fervent prayer' that I have ever read. I have read ALL of the E.M. Bounds books on prayer, but FRESH WIND, FRESH FIRE takes the 'Theory' found in EM Bounds' books and proves it to be A FACT!! If you or your church is lacking in Holy Ghost power and faith, I recommend you purchase this book, read it, and pass it along quickly to others in your church body. As Pastor Cymbala illustrates in this book, we could have a COMPLETE REVIVAL in America in less than 3 years just by praying and obeying God. I give this book the HIGHEST RATING POSSIBLE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Not your everyday 'Christian book'

    This is the best account of the power of the Holy Spirit that I have ever read aside from the book of Acts. Jim Cymbala tells his story in a very honest and matter-of-fact way; but a true account of God's Spirit working to change an entire community is the most incredible thing in the world. For those of you who are desiring to experience God in a real way, but are feeling that there truly is 'nothing new under the son' - come, strip away all cultural Christianity, and see the true power of God working in real peoples' lives. This book really lives up to its title.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Pray, Pray, Pray

    This is an extremely inspirational book. It is a wonderful record of what God's spirit does when we are faithful and trust Him for everything. The central theme of pray, pray,and pray without ceasing is very powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Quick and To-The-Point

    I thoroughly recommend acquiring and reading both Fresh Wind/Fresh Fire and Fresh Faith. In each of them Cymbala tells some of the story behind the resurrection of his congregation, The Brooklyn Tabernacle, and the birth and growth of the BT Choir as well. Jim Cymbala is protected from extremism by two main factors: Biblicism and Pragmatism. First, if the Bible doesn't talk about it, he doesn't accept it. Second, if it won't work in Brooklyn, it's probably not of God. The books are very fast-paced, with interesting narrative and straight-forward teaching. Cymbala does not attempt to be clever, just faithful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Bronzepelt

    Can I be depudy? I am a mateless tom. I will advertize. Whoawhoawhoa.. i am getting ahead of myself. May I join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Seashadow

    Hello *she said as she droped some herbs* i herd there was a battel here and i came with herbs just incase u didnt have enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Fireblaze

    Thanks. He looks around watching the camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Coalspark

    Attacked purple eyes, slashing her throat, heart and stomach. Then he leaped to help Blazefire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Bleh

    Uhdgijngignjbvibggnijineegiiuiiigfgygdggeegigufifibehig i dunn care anehmore. I aint adicted no more. >:T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5