Customer Reviews for

Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Recommend

    I got this book because I just finished freshman year. So I was like a book about freshman year I have to read it so I got it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I recommend Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disaster’s

    I recommend Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disaster’s to anyone who wants a fun escape. I think readers will identify with Kelsey and find her delightfully different than the teen characters that are trying to save the world. Kelsey is just a girl trying to get through the freshman year that didn’t quite go as planned and will satisfy your funny bone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters

    I remember freshman year like it was yesterday. I thought that it was the beginning of something big. I had some of the greatest friends in the world and we were about embark on a pretty awesome time....well that is what we thought. What did we know we were freshman. My freshman year was not as bad as Kelsey's. She had it pretty bad. I can relate to her on somethings but not much. And I am okay with that.

    Kelsey is starting what she thinks is going to be one of the best years of her life. She is entering her freshman year with her best friends. This is going to be epic! But it turns out to be far from it. Everything that you can imagine that could be bad happened to her. From being mad fun of in the school newspaper, to having a the popular girl in school make fun of her. This could really make or break someone in high school. But also during this time she finds out who her true friends are and also she finds out that she is not the only one having a rough year.

    During my high school years you really find out who your true friends are. I thought that these friends are just going to be around until the friends you are going to be friends with for the rest of your life come around. Boy was I wrong. I am still best friends with the same girls that I have been friends with since freshman year. They understand me and they get everything that I am about. That is a true friendship and this is how Kelsey and her friends are.

    This book was so good that I could not put it down. Now I am not going to lie it took me awhile to read it just because my life has been crazy lately. But this book helped me laugh during the rough times I have been having lately in my laugh. And that is what makes a book great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    FRESHMAN YEAR & OTHER UNNATURAL DISASTERS- A fun read about friendship, first love and the proof that life- especially freshman year- doesn┬┐t always play out as planned.

    The story around Kelsey Finkelstein is obviously set in high-school, a beloved scenery of mine. And just like other high-school stories FRESHMAN YEAR & OTHER UNNATURAL DISASTERS has the enormous conflict potential of a bunch of growing up, hormonal kids.

    It’s just like in real life, because Kelsey expects her new school year to be epic and what does she get? An epic fail! There are a few very funny things happening to Kelsey and I totally felt with her. The chase after her crush keeps her mind occupied and Meredith Zeitlin doesn’t make it that easy for her to find Mr. Right.

    I would have wished for a profound romance between Kelsey and Mr. Right as I call him, but there simply wasn’t enough time for one to develop, because the story concentrates on the failures of Kelsey’s freshman year in the first place. One of Kelsey’s goals is to score her preferred position on the soccer team and I can tell you that much... it won’t be easy for her to play a successful season. Some people in the story are exactly who you think they are, others are not.

    Many moments of FRESHMAN YEAR & OTHER UNNATURAL DISASTERS are about the bonds of friendship between the four girls, Kelsey, Cassidy, JoJo and Emily. All four are very different characters and throughout the story we learn more about Kelsey’s friends and their lives, too. FRESHMAN YEAR & OTHER UNNATURAL DISASTERS is about first experiences in love and sex for all of them.

    Of course there needs to be a family that Kelsey is embarrassed and annoyed of. They dare to ruin her social life in school and even her private life thanks to hideous outfit suggestions and a little star of a sister. This story is about lessons to learn and Kelsey’s really doing a good job to keep up with every social obstacle thrown in her way. Get into Kelsey’s head, she’s fun!

    THE VERDICT

    I give it 3,5/5 stars.

    The story offers typical freshman year elements like a prom, a school play, high-school parties, annoying siblings, a bubbling mix of teenage hormones and the crazy incidents resulting from them.
    And the story is totally riddled with these hilarious, embarrassing, pitiful incidents. I was entertained, but I didn’t feel a very deep connection to the characters. I think there should be a sequel to Kelsey’s story so we could get to know the characters some more and be part of a more detailed view on the blooming romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Kelsey, Kelsey, Kelsey. Try as she might to make these great

    Oh Kelsey, Kelsey, Kelsey. Try as she might to make these great plans about her freshman year of high school, she just keeps getting knocked down again and again. Just when she thinks one thing is pulling through, pffft there is goes down the drain. However, this story is a great reminder that when you are so focused on one thing, the thing that’s staring you in the face can often be overlooked. This story has the best relationships and at times the worst betrayals, but it is definitely about friendship and making it through everything together…eventually.

    The moments that Kelsey is clueless have a great payoff in the end and there was a bit of a twist to the story that I never expected. Kudos to Zeitlin for that bit, it made me a very happy reader. This story is full of laughs and some heartbreak for Kelsey and I think that everyone can relate to some part of her life. And the things that I can’t relate to are ones that I am grateful for. This would make a great read for anyone entering (or in) high school and anyone that still remembers what it was like to be thrown into that foreign land!

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My freshmen year in high school....I can totally relate to every

    My freshmen year in high school....I can totally relate to every aspect of this book. A new girl, starting at a new school, friends and of course boy drama. I really like the feel of this book. It took to my heart right away and I could not put it down.

    What I enjoyed most about this book is the great characters. Kelsey is a freshmen. Bent on setting a name for herself, Kelsey is determine to do things a certain way. I loved Kelsey. She reminded me of me when I was young. Over dramatic, heart-broken , embarrassing moments, anyone can relate to this girl. I loved that Kelsey feels real. She's not perfect. She just a girl in this world trying desperately to find her place.

    I really loved the plot line. It was simple yet a wonderful journey to walk in. To see Kelsey grow with every mistake made her such a better person. Yes, she got all teenageary and cried, got attitude, but who wouldn't? I like that her character feels real. She captured the voice a teenage girl beautifully.

    Freshmen Year & Other Unnatural Disasters is a cute coming of age book. Ms. Zeitlin has a way of writing everyday situations that everyone can relate to and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful!

    In Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters, we follow new Freshman Kelsey Finkelstein through her first year of high school. All Kelsey wants is to make her mark and to have a really great first year. Unfortunately for Kelsey, things do not work out exactly as she has planned them to.

    I really love Kelsey’s character. She kept me in stitches with all the mishaps that happen on her first year of high school. I can totally sympathize with her on some of the things that happened; as I definitely remember my freshman year all too well. Her best friends; Cass, JoJo and Em were all wonderfully well thought out characters as well! I really enjoyed the relationships that these four girls had.

    All of the ‘disasters’ that poor Kelsey went through definitely make the book a hilarious read. From her first kiss, to being back-stabbed by her best friend over a boy, to a school play gone wrong; it all adds up to some really funny situations. Add in some pretty emotional teenage drama, a great storyline and it all comes together into a really fun read.

    The only part in the book that I had an issue with was all the underage drinking. Call me a prude, but I am not a fan of drinking at all. And being a mom of a 13 year old, I would definitely not want my daughter drinking at that age. I understand that all kids experiment, and that’s ok, but I just felt that it went a little overboard. I do, however, think that the author sent out a good message about the other issues that teen’s face; sex, drugs, homosexuality, etc. (Please keep in mind that this is just me, and I know many people will not feel this way!)

    Overall, this book is definitely one of the funniest books I’ve read so far this year. The teenage drama and the fun characters definitely kept me hooked. I am definitely looking forward to reading more work by this author in the future. This really was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1