Customer Reviews for

Freshwater Road

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

Freshwater Road was a powerful book to read about a brutal era in the South. The novel did a nice job of depicting the Black community as diverse and human, not totally good and not totally bad. The characters were not just victims as some other literature might portra...
Freshwater Road was a powerful book to read about a brutal era in the South. The novel did a nice job of depicting the Black community as diverse and human, not totally good and not totally bad. The characters were not just victims as some other literature might portray them, but rather as empowered. After reading this novel, I developed a very deep respect for those who risked their lives in the Civil Rights Movement so that the vote could be available for everyone in America. I also liked reading about Detroit, my home town. Kudos to Ms. Nicholas on her first novel. It was truthful and well-written and drew me into the lives of the characters. Thank you for the history lesson!

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Boooo

Another put down to mississippi, the south and whites in general. This is a terrible book full of lies and misrepresentations.

posted by 8888649 on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Good Read

    Freshwater Road was a powerful book to read about a brutal era in the South. The novel did a nice job of depicting the Black community as diverse and human, not totally good and not totally bad. The characters were not just victims as some other literature might portray them, but rather as empowered. After reading this novel, I developed a very deep respect for those who risked their lives in the Civil Rights Movement so that the vote could be available for everyone in America. I also liked reading about Detroit, my home town. Kudos to Ms. Nicholas on her first novel. It was truthful and well-written and drew me into the lives of the characters. Thank you for the history lesson!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Beautifully written historical fiction

    The well written and equally well researched "Freshwater Road" kept me turning the pages, unable to put it down. I found the slower parts to be descriptive and, at times, extremely poetic. Thanks to the author's descriptive style I swear I could breath in the scent of pine needles and hear the Cicadas in Mrs. Owens' back yard, craved a tall glass of crisp, ice cold gingerale along with Celeste, wilted in the oppressive Mississippi heat waving my paper fan with the members of the AEM Church, and sunk into the cool leather seats of Shuck's Old Spice scented Cadillac. These slower parts perfectly mimmicked the hot and hazey feeling of summer afternoons. I felt the story played out well and was satisfied with the ending, though others have complained about resolution. To me, the author did a believable job of introducing and letting us get to know the Pineyville residents in a believable and organic way through Celest's outsider eyes. She captures that feel of summer's slow and at times seemingly endless passage, yet at the same time going by so quickly that Labor Day sneaks up on you as the reader just as quickly as it does for Celeste and the other characters. At the same time the almost unbelievable events of the civil rights movement in the deep south are painted in vivid colors and, like everything else in the book, seen through the eyes of an idealistic and enthusiastic, if naive, young women. Celeste's coming of age fits hand in hand with the remarkable changes for Pineyville, Mississippi, and all of the south. My only complaint is that this particular E-version had alot of random words in italics. Other than that it seemed well edited with no spelling or grammatical errors. All in all I found this book to be an eye opening and satisfying historical read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    This is a book that conveys the traumatic events of those Freedo

    This is a book that conveys the traumatic events of those Freedom Summers and portrays to those who have never experienced it the second class citizenship that millions of our citizens had to endure in the Deep South, from the period after Reconstruction until the polling places were fully opened to them. The author writes as one who was both there and who talked to many participants. This is a great first novel and I look forward to the author's next one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Boooo

    Another put down to mississippi, the south and whites in general. This is a terrible book full of lies and misrepresentations.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Well written and hard to put down

    This was the best Free Friday book I've read. Well researched and informative, too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Interesting read

    This could have been just an exciting story about the Freedom SUmmer of 1974. Instead, the shifting between two points of view gives the characters depth and makes the story that much richer. Recommended (PS Just to deflect a sadly inevitable comment: No, the story does not mention "all the good white people." That wasn't the point of the book).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Wonderful details.

    This was a wonderful book, with beautifully described details... you could almost smell the smells, see the skies, feel the heat. Though some points in the story were predictable, I still enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    GREAT READ

    This is non stop reading. Every page is breathtaking. I am waiting for her next Novel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Well written piece of historic fiction. I enjoyed her narrative

    Well written piece of historic fiction. I enjoyed her narrative of the time, the places, and her struggle to find herself both as a woman and as a negro. Even at that time being raised in the north was so much different that being raised in the south - especially the deep south. I barely aware of this time in history, but this made it so much clearer how hard it was and is to make changes in our culture. Could hardly put the book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Good But Drawn Out

    Freshwater Road is an interesting look at the Civil Rights Era, racism and the Deep South. Those who remember this time will reflect on this country's painful, not-so-long ago past. Others will learn a valuable lessson. While the story is entertaining, the writing is a tad overdescriptive causing the story to move at a much too slow pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Great Book

    This is truly a classical story of growth and knowledge

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    This was a sample of 20 pages.

    When I down loaded this excerpt, I was unaware it was just a sample. It is only 20 pages. I could not really get into the story because of the length. What I was able to read seemed very well written and edited. Most of the excerpt was background details. None of the reviewers mentioned that was a sample, nor did the cover or overview. I thought it was a full length novel.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great read

    Beautifully written. A natural flow. Good dialogue. Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    "Have you seen Emberheart? He is missing!(speech)"

    "Hello, cats! Leaders, deputys and warriors! Appretinces, elders, kits and queens! Emberheart of Aquaclan HAS GONE MISSING. If you find him, you will earn my caring respect. Give me your name, and you can become a trusted friend. But if anyone is mouse-brained enough to kill him, StarClan forbid what happens. Emberheart is a sleek, black cat with a white under-belly and paws. He has unusual green eyes. Try if you will, and good luck!", meowed Daisypelt of AquaClan. She runs to result 6. "Bye!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Wolfstar

    Wont be on till next monday. Moons in charge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Awesome in many ways This book engaged me from the beginning. I

    Awesome in many ways
    This book engaged me from the beginning. I came to understand the characters and the important historical era much better than before. I enjoyed good writing and a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I found the story engaging. The characters are very relatable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Ripplepelt to all

    I won't be on for a while. See Into the Wild for details.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    YO GUYS

    Ozzie just killed an innocent kit at result one. Man you aqua clanners are nuts. Well godbye.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Ozzie

    Hey you're back!!! *Grins* I was begining to worry! *Steps on a kit's tail and kicks it away irritated*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3