Customer Reviews for

Friction

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    The book Friction by E.R Frank takes place in a private school c

    The book Friction by E.R Frank takes place in a private school called Forest Alternative. The main charecters are Simon, Alex, and Stacey. In this book we learn the effects of gossip in the life of a young adult. Stacey is a new girl at Forest Alternative who spreads rumors about the teacher Simon having an inapropriate realationship with one of his students. When Alex is aware of these rumors she turns to her parents for help on how to handle the situation. Unfortunatley her parents are busy with work and can not help Alex. In the end Simon's reputation is tarnished and Alex is left wondering if everything that happened was her fault. This 197 page book takes you on a journey through this young teens life and helps the reader understand the effects of gossip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Very Good!!

    This book is a very good book. It's a book of what teens would go through today would recommend for high schoolers because this is book has teen scenes in it. Haha:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    leave Friction on the shelf!!

    Know one likes the mean girls at school, yet there always seems to be one. You know the type, stuck up girls that think their better then everyone else. In Friction, by E.R. Frank, Stacy is the new mean girl at school. She spreads horrible lies that shakes the hole class up. Then Alex ,the victim of the lies, decides she has had enough. The story takes place in a not so normal middle school. The 8th graders still go to recess and the characters seem extremely elementary. The main characters Alex and her best friend Tim have the personalities of kids a lot younger then themselves. The author did a horrible job portraying the characters personalities. They were doing and saying things unusual for their age group, and I found it extremely odd and hard to read. Even though the characters were portrayed badly the idea of a student teacher love affair is what kept me wanting to read on. Friction is a moving and powerful story about forgiveness and it teaches an amazing lesson.I would recommend this book to middle school aged kids that enjoy drama filled books.Its defiantly not a most read book, but i can see a younger age group really enjoying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing JLM

    this book was really good because when i first stared reading this book i thought it was goign to have alot of drama in the story having a girl with a tounge ring then a teacher that people think is "A Babe" overall this book was amazing i read it in liek 2 day. i recoment this book to 14-up because it somethimg that tennagers hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Thrilling

    Friction was a very interesting book to read. the fact that it had conflict after conflicts made you just sit down and read it until you were done. the ending could have been better thats for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    This book is outstanding.

    You read the first page & you hooked on the book forever. I read it for school. I didn't even want to know what it was about, I just took it off the shelf. Then I read the first page & it kept getting more & more exciting. Seriously, every page is a suprise that you will never see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    An Awesome Book

    This book was amazing for me. In its mere 108 or so pages, the author managed to connect with my emotions. I read it in 4 hours at eleven at night staying up till three in the morning. I was crying towards the end many times as I reread sections, though I don't know why. I wish there was more so I could finally learn what happened to the main character and all these different relationships with people. An awesome teacher - student relationship, and the power of friendship, trust, the truth, and coming of age type of book. I feel as if Alex is now a part of me, and I hope for her the best. I thought this was an amazing book, and I say a MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Great Book

    This is a great book, when i first started reading i got a little bored... but as i went on i got more and more interested. On the night i finished it I stayed up till 1'oclock in the morning crying. I was feeling how it must be to be in Alex's shoes. And how it was not only Stacy's falt for telling lies. I also found it interesting how the auther talks in the present. I recomend this book :':':'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Worst Book Ever

    This book was horriable. It had no plot and just spews out random points that have nothing to do with the story. The the word chioce was poor at best. The characters are soooo guliable. It's like what ever Stacy says is the bible or something. The part I really hate is when Alex starts to believe the things Stacy makes up about her. I read this book in a co-ed group so everyones opinions could be diffrent but they wern't we all hated it. If you get a chance to read this book don't. Instead pick a better one that won't be a waste of your life.(Read a James Patterson book they're a ton better!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    I was pretty disappointed by this book

    The language that the author uses (in characterization or not)got annoying after about the 15th page. The plot wasnt all that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    This is amazing!

    When I began to read this novel I thought to myself 'what in the world is going on?' Though the farther you get into the novel the better it becomes! This novel has many themes that many people can relate to love, family, friendship, trust, judging, teen sexuality, and child abuse. There are many more. All in all this was an amazing novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Berry good

    This book is a really good book that i thought to be extremely realistic! I enjoyed it and it takes less than a day to read... its that intresting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Brandy, a freshman student

    I enjoyed reading the book Friction, when I first looked at the cover of the book I looked as if what am I getting ready to read. I elborated on whether I should read the book, so finally I did. After the anticipated time I really enjoyed reading the book. I felt like while I was reading the book I could tell what would probably happen next but I was very wrong. As I say again I enjoyed reading the book literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    A cannot put down book

    Friction is one of my favorite books.i couldnt stop reading it.I think the books theme is 'dont judge people before you really get to know them ',thats because the whole book is based on judgment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    possibly the greatest book

    When i first picked up Friction in the library, i didn't think anything of it. But the more i read, the more i became entwined in it. Friction is the story of twelve-year old Alex, whose life at Forest Alternative is pretty normal. When a new girl, Stacey, becomes part of her class, everything turns upside down on Alex. Stacey starts spreading rumors about the possibility of their teacher, Simon, liking Alex. As more coincidences occur between Alex and Simon, Alex begins to suspect that he might indeed have feelings for her. all the while, Alex's friend since childhood Tim sits on the sideline and believing everything he sees and hears. The climax of the story is when after a freak accident happens and Stacey breaks her arm, she accuses Simon of molesting her in the principal's office while waiting on the ambulence. Alex and Tim then fight and make up. And, after seeing a movie, establish the possibility of a future relationship. All seems fine and normal, but the story still twists at the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    awesome

    this books was so good.i was so angry at the girl (i 4got her name) that started all the rumors, and this book is a good lesson to teens and kids younger: that even though spreading rumors or talking gossip is fun, it can hurt lots of people and ur 2 blind 2 see it. I definitley reccomend, especially to teen 12 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Bookluver

    I loved this book. It shows how cruel the world can be, but at the same time how wonderful it can be. Very good and inspireing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Great Book

    This book has became one of my favorite books. This is an unforgettable novel I will never forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    this is awsome

    this was great alex is so cool i thought that it was going to be a book about eigth graders being immature and got it and it wasnt something that i would usually read but i gave it a chance and i loved it it is now one of my favirotes it was almost like reading a manga comic because it was so descriptive. you should really read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    She did it again...

    This is one of the best books ever, but I expected it from Ms. Frank. I have read all three of her books now, in order and she hasn't failed me yet. I loved the first two so much that I requested that the school librarian order this one and she did and sure enough, I was the first one there to check it out. From the minute I opened the book and read the inside cover, I new this Stacy girl was going to be intersting. When Alex went through all that for her to find out she wasn't Jehova's Witness, I wasn't mad at her. When she lied on Simon, I wasn.t mad at her, I knew Stacy had a reason to cover the truth, and it turns out, I was right. Stacy's tales were so convincing, even I believed her and started feeling that Simon was taking advantage of Alex's innocence. Just read the book, cause it's no fun when someone else tells you the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2