Customer Reviews for

Friday Night Alibi

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laugh

I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laughed, I cried.... and I was in total shocked that such a simple, step by step love story sucked me in.
 
Kelli is such a fun character.  She helps others hang on to their trust fund money by making herself av...
I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laughed, I cried.... and I was in total shocked that such a simple, step by step love story sucked me in.
 
Kelli is such a fun character.  She helps others hang on to their trust fund money by making herself available and giving up her own possible plans for Friday nights.  
 
Chase meets her in such silly and unexpected circumstances.  She is out on a Friday night...and they click and clash.  He surprises her by being the guy who is continually saying and doing the unexpected.  The unusual.  
 
The chemistry is strong.  They become frenemies.  Then, stronger friends and maybe something more?
 
What I loved about this book the most....was the slow burn.  The story builds.  The honesty becomes routine.  Kelli and Chase are meant to be together and with each page you feel the build and the uncertainty.  The end is soooooo worth it!!

posted by 2kasmom on May 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just ok for me

## This book is geared for a much younger audience than me. It was humorous for sure. The witty inner dialogue was cute as well. However, high school kids are a tad (ok, a little more than a tad) too young for me. Maybe a little too rich as well. Anyone who throws away ...
## This book is geared for a much younger audience than me. It was humorous for sure. The witty inner dialogue was cute as well. However, high school kids are a tad (ok, a little more than a tad) too young for me. Maybe a little too rich as well. Anyone who throws away $400 jeans because they had to hide under an air hockey table on a dirty floor for a few minutes, has way too much money. How about washing them? Anyway, it was ok but I won't be reading it again.

posted by 9394860 on February 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Just ok for me

    ## This book is geared for a much younger audience than me. It was humorous for sure. The witty inner dialogue was cute as well. However, high school kids are a tad (ok, a little more than a tad) too young for me. Maybe a little too rich as well. Anyone who throws away $400 jeans because they had to hide under an air hockey table on a dirty floor for a few minutes, has way too much money. How about washing them? Anyway, it was ok but I won't be reading it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laugh

    I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laughed, I cried.... and I was in total shocked that such a simple, step by step love story sucked me in.
     
    Kelli is such a fun character.  She helps others hang on to their trust fund money by making herself available and giving up her own possible plans for Friday nights.  
     
    Chase meets her in such silly and unexpected circumstances.  She is out on a Friday night...and they click and clash.  He surprises her by being the guy who is continually saying and doing the unexpected.  The unusual.  
     
    The chemistry is strong.  They become frenemies.  Then, stronger friends and maybe something more?
     
    What I loved about this book the most....was the slow burn.  The story builds.  The honesty becomes routine.  Kelli and Chase are meant to be together and with each page you feel the build and the uncertainty.  The end is soooooo worth it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    The premise of this story interested me. It had been something I

    The premise of this story interested me. It had been something I hadn’t heard before. A girl who people hire to be their alibi so they do whatever else they want—things that aren’t necessarily “Sundale approved.”—like go out on a date with a girl that the ‘rents wouldn’t approve of.

    Kelli lives in Sundale, a generally small community of rich people where things have to be approved by their parents and if the things they do or the people they date aren’t “Sundale approved,” they might lose their trust funds. Since most of the people we meet in this story are super-rich who live off their trust funds, they can’t lose it.

    That’s where Kelli comes in. People buy packets of Friday Night Alibis, and they memorize what they did, pay her, and then bam! Families are happy, they are happy. Everybody wins. Sort of. Until, of course, Kelli meets someone who makes her want to actually go do actual things on Friday nights.

    And that’s where Chase comes in. Chase isn’t like other guys—though Kelli tries to treat him like them. But Chase keeps breaking through the walls that Kelli didn’t even know she had, and when Kelli realizes it, she has a hard choice to make.

    Kelli has built walls around herself to keep herself from getting close to people. Her parents don’t care, and that’s affected her in more ways than one. To stop herself from going through that pain again, she doesn’t let herself get close to people. And she doesn’t even realize it.

    Chase has a background that I sort of saw coming. There were hints here and there but not much else, so when Chase revealed it I wasn’t so surprised, but it was still sad to hear his story. But Chase is sweet and he is patient—and he truly loves Kelli’s company, even after the many pranks they’ve pulled on each other.

    Kelli and Chase fit together so perfectly, that sometimes I wondered if this book is a bit too cheesy in that aspect. There are points where Chase just knows what to do—like when making out, he just happens to pretty much read her mind and knows what she wants—that it was a bit unbelievable. I mean, Chase hasn’t kissed more than three women and all of a sudden he’s a kissing expert? No, thank you.

    It was fun to read their relationship grow and develop into a serious relationship (though Kelli might deny it at first) and the ending was a very sweet and happy one. When Kelli finally realized what was more important—her security and being “safe” or being truly happy and with someone she deeply cares about—I felt like it was about time! Poor Chase!

    This book was a cute, light read with a slightly predictable ending that will leave you with a smile on your face. There were quirks—like the oranges!—and there were parts that were cute to read about. I recommend this book if you want something light and happy that has a guaranteed happy ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Aew

    Adorable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    A sweet, funny, romantic and fun read. It had me laughing out lo

    A sweet, funny, romantic and fun read. It had me laughing out loud at some of the things I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Cute

    Cute fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A very fine depiction of the coming of age of a feisty and clever young woman. Both funny and sad but well balanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, romantic, innocent look at first love

    Kelli's used to being the girl everyone says they're with when they're really out with someone else. She's the girl with the good reputation that keeps them from getting in trouble with their parents — and she's fine with that. After all, she's making plenty of money to just sit at home and not be seen while they're off doing whatever their parents wouldn't approve of. But then she meets Chase.

    Chase is obnoxious and funny and rather easy on the eyes. She knows he's older, but she's not sure how much. But he's the one person she can count on to always be around, even when she's not expecting him. From mercilessly teasing her to worrying about her when she's upset, he's quickly becoming someone she can call a friend. And he's not a bad kisser either.

    But... As much fun as this book is, Kelli's a bit to naive to really be believable. I mean, even the most sheltered girls aren't immune to crushes when they're eighteen years old. And while I have no trouble believing she's a good, church-going girl who hasn't had a boyfriend, it just seems so unlikely that a girl whose filthy-rich parents leave her alone constantly wouldn't find some kind of trouble. That's not to say I didn't like her, just that she remained more fictional to me than the characters I normally meet in books.

    The Verdict: After reading Switched, I was thrilled to get my hands on another book by Cassie Mae. That book made me so ridiculously happy that I just knew this one was going to blow me away. Granted, Friday Night Alibi was really sweet and often laugh-out-loud funny, but it didn't quite rank up there where Switched did. At least not with me. Though I should probably know better than to go into any book with such uncommonly high hopes. But once I sort of separate the two, I can better judge this one.

    Friday Night Alibi is a really sweet, very romantic, rather innocent look at first love. While Chase has been through something absolutely heartbreaking, the story doesn't lean heavily on angst. It's more a look at a true friendship that develops into something more between two characters who weren't necessarily looking for a relationship. It's also entirely appropriate for younger teens who probably shouldn't be reading about sexual awakenings the way most teen romances tend to play things out. Kelli and Chase are so sweet together, all while being utterly hilarious, and while it deals with some family issues, it stays away from some of the grittier content I've read lately. If you're looking for a feel-good book that doesn't cross any adults-only lines, here it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Its alright

    Pretty dull. But good ethics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    :)

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Arizona

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Awwww...so sweet!

    221pgs. Enjoyed the story and the humor. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Story contest rules

    1: your contest entry must be a sex story. (Obviously.) 2: no rape. 3: part one at res one, two at res two, et cetera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    :-)

    ***4 Stars***
    What a cute clean read for a 16+ year old (some major kissing & some young adult language) I liked the book & was a good break from Alpha males for a day!! The ending was ok, but I wanted more.
    **200+ pages**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Great PG Romance

    I really liked reading it. A great book for young n old about love without smutt..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Friday

    Its friday friday whos on?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    This is such a cute story. I loved it!

    This is such a cute story. I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    l

    l

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I love it! Quick, funny, warm hearted read. Loved all the chara


    I love it! Quick, funny, warm hearted read. Loved all the characters. You could feel their hearts in their actions, even if certain characters tried to hide it. The characters were funny and that helps make Friday Night Alibi a really cute book. I'd call this book PG-13, it was wholesome, in a good way. I highly recommend it! If you need a quick, cute read definitely read Friday Night Alibi by Cassie Mae!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well, this is one plot l I never, ever would have come up with.

    Well, this is one plot l I never, ever would have come up with. It's been awhile since I was in High School. This was really crazy! Kelli had one amazing imagination. It's hard with only one friend and working with people who don't care about you and even parents who blow you off. Then she meets Chase. He plays and teases her and she has this way of pranking him back. They get close and she refuses to admit that she really cares for him. You have to read this book to see how everything works out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2