Customer Reviews for

The Friday Night Knitting Club

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A must read...so read it!

Kirkus Reviews dubbed this novel, "a Steel Magnolias for the twenty-first century." I believe Kate Jacob's The Friday Night Knitting Club to be a valiant reminder of the constant struggles entangled within the human condition and it does an impressive job in delving int...
Kirkus Reviews dubbed this novel, "a Steel Magnolias for the twenty-first century." I believe Kate Jacob's The Friday Night Knitting Club to be a valiant reminder of the constant struggles entangled within the human condition and it does an impressive job in delving into the many diverse, and more often than imagined, meaningful relationships experienced by her characters. An onslaught of characters-each attempting to make their own way in the big, bad city of New York-permeate the pages of the author's renderering of true sisterhood. The protagonist of the story is Georgia Walker, a forty year old single mother to her only daughter, twelve year old Dakota. Together, they own Walker and Daughter: Knitters; a unique yarn and knitting shop situated on busy Broadway Avenue. The shop has become an unlikely home away from home for an eclectic group of women of all generations- all searching for a refuge from their hectic and grueling lives. The club emerges as one customer lingers on a typical Friday night. The club soon becomes a haven from the perils of the harsh world they all live in. Just when it seems like all is okay with the shop and life in general, Georgia is faced with more drama than she bargained for. The story begins to spiral into a place that the reader couldn't have prepared for; and then toward the unimaginable. Even though Georgia Walker is the main character in Jacobs' plot, the reader gets a closer look into the complicated lives of six other New York women. All of these other women emerge as the foundation of a strong sisterhood in Georgia's desperate time of need. In the end, the true hero of the story reveals itself to be the Friday Night Knitting Club itself. Throughout the novel, the author offers a plethera of knitting techniques, recipes, and simple reminders of why a bond between friends is so vitally important in a person's life. This novel showcases the characters' constant struggles associated with socio-economic status, race, emotional issues and overall health. The characters develop in a way as to evoke realism, as well as to generate empathy from the reader. Bottom line- if you haven't seen Steel Magnolias, see it! And if you haven't read Kate Jacobs' The Friday Night Knitting Club, read it!

posted by ttcurphy on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Overrated!

Whew -- I thought you had to be a good writer to get a book contract and sell a gazillion books! Clearly, a good book cover and the word "knitting" in the title are more important.

I felt like I was reading the draft of a book written by a new author. While she was...
Whew -- I thought you had to be a good writer to get a book contract and sell a gazillion books! Clearly, a good book cover and the word "knitting" in the title are more important.

I felt like I was reading the draft of a book written by a new author. While she was clearly earnest in her endeavor, she needed a really good editor to make her book shine.

There were a lot of characters in the book, and there was something about each that was almost likeable. However, they were each so lightly developed that it was like reading a book about stick figures. It enough to make the reader angry that the author didn't care enough about them to give them the flesh and bone they deserved. Fewer characters more thoroughly developed would have made for a much better book.

And as for the author's unceremonious dumping of the main character at the end of the book, all I can say is that she deserved better as well. What a waste to build a plot around this woman's life and then ditch her in all of about two pages. This was done with no creativity, very little sympathy and, as far as I could tell, without much purpose.

Overall, the book was a big disappointment. I won't be buying any more of this author's books.

posted by 1358132 on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Overrated!

    Whew -- I thought you had to be a good writer to get a book contract and sell a gazillion books! Clearly, a good book cover and the word "knitting" in the title are more important.

    I felt like I was reading the draft of a book written by a new author. While she was clearly earnest in her endeavor, she needed a really good editor to make her book shine.

    There were a lot of characters in the book, and there was something about each that was almost likeable. However, they were each so lightly developed that it was like reading a book about stick figures. It enough to make the reader angry that the author didn't care enough about them to give them the flesh and bone they deserved. Fewer characters more thoroughly developed would have made for a much better book.

    And as for the author's unceremonious dumping of the main character at the end of the book, all I can say is that she deserved better as well. What a waste to build a plot around this woman's life and then ditch her in all of about two pages. This was done with no creativity, very little sympathy and, as far as I could tell, without much purpose.

    Overall, the book was a big disappointment. I won't be buying any more of this author's books.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    Not worth the wait.

    I had been waiting and waiting for this book to finally come in at my local library. They only have one copy and it is ALWAYS out. I took that to be a good sign, this book must be a good one if it is in such high demand. Unfortunately this was not the case. I found it difficult to get beyond the first several chapters. There was absolutely nothing clever about this book or the characters in it. Kate Jacobs must be laughing all the way to the bank. Writing books about knitting and cupcakes (Comfort Food), what's next a book about cats? Oh wait, Vicki Myron already did that with 'Dewey' and that wasn't very good either.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Wonder how it ends...?

    I tend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    review

    I wasn't to impressed with his book. It was hard to to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    this is a best seller - why?

    an easy read, but ultimately not satisfying. poorly written, even as far as chick-lit goes. the book is seemingly about a group of women but I felt it went into so many tangents and didn't get into these women's friendships deeply enough.

    don't bother....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ummmm...NO...Disappointed

    I liked the book at first but about half way through it just went down hill.
    I was especially disappointed with the author's completion of the book. It was not necessary to have it end the way she did it. Left me shaking my head and saying... HUH? & WHY????
    This book left me mad that I invested reading time in it to have an ending like that!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Trying too hard to turn "Lifetime Movie" into "Hollywood material"

    I rushed through reading this book, but only because I hate leaving books unread and I didn't want to suffer any longer than I had to.<BR/><BR/>I can't love a book unless I can at least care what happens to the main characters, and I couldn't care less about Georgia. She was entirely unlikeable. The periphery characters, with the exceptions of James and Cat, were fairly one-dimensional, even though the reader is supposed to care about them too.<BR/><BR/>Still, I could have put the book down and walked away thinking, "Eh...could have been better," if the author had just left out the last 50 pages or so. The ending was completely out of character for the whole book and invalidated the whole theme of redemption. It felt as though the author sat down and read what she wrote and thought, "Hmmm...it's only Lifetime movie material. I need some huge, out-of-the-blue tragedy if I'm going to get the eye of someone like Julia Roberts. Hey, I know...!" So instead, I flung the book away in disgust, won't be seeing the movie, and most definitely won't be inflicting the sequel upon myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Inferior writing

    The writing of this book is so inferior that it made it hard to focus on the story. I was often confused with who was speaking and I noticed a few inconsistencies (small but annoying nontheless - such as James was sitting then a few sentences later he was suddenly pacing with no warning to the reader). I didn't mind all the characters but I did mind the lack of character development. They all seemed to speak similarly. I saw them as all the same person but with different outside features. Even Anita seemed to speak like a few of the younger characters. I dislike using this word but sometimes I would just say to myself this is so 'stupid'. The book was filled with cliche after cliche. The story seemed so unrealistic in so many ways. Darwin would just suddenly get drunk and sleep with someone she just met?! Upscale, classy Anita would talk about having sex with her psuedo-daughter?! Georgia could afford all those NYC summer camps for her daughter on a small business budget? You can get a double-gyno appt in NYC next week?!!! The whole story felt as though the author rushed through without giving much thought to her plot or her characters. A better author may have done somehting with this idea but so far I have even less of an inclination to take up knitting then when I started reading the book. I am truly sorry I wasted a few days of reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    Waiting for more

    A slow, distracted read. Chick Lit can hold my interest sometimes, and I enjoy a light beach book, but Jacob's story was inconsistent in pace, theme, character, and narrative voice. I wondered who was telling the story, I wondered why the characters felt the way they did, and I constantly hoped for better development of the themes and connections between the women. Jacobs bogs her reader down in peripheral details and cliche comments made by the narrator's inconsistent voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1