Customer Reviews for

The Friday Night Knitting Club

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A must read...so read it!

Kirkus Reviews dubbed this novel, "a Steel Magnolias for the twenty-first century." I believe Kate Jacob's The Friday Night Knitting Club to be a valiant reminder of the constant struggles entangled within the human condition and it does an impressive job in delving int...
Kirkus Reviews dubbed this novel, "a Steel Magnolias for the twenty-first century." I believe Kate Jacob's The Friday Night Knitting Club to be a valiant reminder of the constant struggles entangled within the human condition and it does an impressive job in delving into the many diverse, and more often than imagined, meaningful relationships experienced by her characters. An onslaught of characters-each attempting to make their own way in the big, bad city of New York-permeate the pages of the author's renderering of true sisterhood. The protagonist of the story is Georgia Walker, a forty year old single mother to her only daughter, twelve year old Dakota. Together, they own Walker and Daughter: Knitters; a unique yarn and knitting shop situated on busy Broadway Avenue. The shop has become an unlikely home away from home for an eclectic group of women of all generations- all searching for a refuge from their hectic and grueling lives. The club emerges as one customer lingers on a typical Friday night. The club soon becomes a haven from the perils of the harsh world they all live in. Just when it seems like all is okay with the shop and life in general, Georgia is faced with more drama than she bargained for. The story begins to spiral into a place that the reader couldn't have prepared for; and then toward the unimaginable. Even though Georgia Walker is the main character in Jacobs' plot, the reader gets a closer look into the complicated lives of six other New York women. All of these other women emerge as the foundation of a strong sisterhood in Georgia's desperate time of need. In the end, the true hero of the story reveals itself to be the Friday Night Knitting Club itself. Throughout the novel, the author offers a plethera of knitting techniques, recipes, and simple reminders of why a bond between friends is so vitally important in a person's life. This novel showcases the characters' constant struggles associated with socio-economic status, race, emotional issues and overall health. The characters develop in a way as to evoke realism, as well as to generate empathy from the reader. Bottom line- if you haven't seen Steel Magnolias, see it! And if you haven't read Kate Jacobs' The Friday Night Knitting Club, read it!

posted by ttcurphy on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Overrated!

Whew -- I thought you had to be a good writer to get a book contract and sell a gazillion books! Clearly, a good book cover and the word "knitting" in the title are more important.

I felt like I was reading the draft of a book written by a new author. While she was...
Whew -- I thought you had to be a good writer to get a book contract and sell a gazillion books! Clearly, a good book cover and the word "knitting" in the title are more important.

I felt like I was reading the draft of a book written by a new author. While she was clearly earnest in her endeavor, she needed a really good editor to make her book shine.

There were a lot of characters in the book, and there was something about each that was almost likeable. However, they were each so lightly developed that it was like reading a book about stick figures. It enough to make the reader angry that the author didn't care enough about them to give them the flesh and bone they deserved. Fewer characters more thoroughly developed would have made for a much better book.

And as for the author's unceremonious dumping of the main character at the end of the book, all I can say is that she deserved better as well. What a waste to build a plot around this woman's life and then ditch her in all of about two pages. This was done with no creativity, very little sympathy and, as far as I could tell, without much purpose.

Overall, the book was a big disappointment. I won't be buying any more of this author's books.

posted by 1358132 on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    The Friday Night Knitting Club

    It was an excellent book about a group of different women, gathering to knit. Different women and different lives, emotions slowly begin to form a bond. When faced with difficulites they all help each other with their different life gifts. Beautifully written. Can't wait to read the next one, Two Yarns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Good story line, kept me wanting to read more

    Would like very much to read other books by this author

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Sparked the Knitter in me

    When I picked this book up in the library I was quite reluctant to reading it but needless to say once I got started it was hard to stop. I enjoyed this book greatly because I feel it was beautifully written. Along with the dialogue the message behind the book was quite inspiring because it propelled you to appreciate the true meaning of sisterhood and to reconcile with those whom have hurt you. I would read this book over and over and I am sure it will be special each time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Wonderful read...

    It's like a girls night out with your best friends. Grab a cup of coffee, knitting project and enjoy some amazing company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Recommended a good read

    I enjoyed this book! As a crafter it shows how much crafts plays a part in our lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Soft and Easy Read!

    This book is for woman I think maybe a man who wants to understand woman may find this a good read.

    I love the softness of the book as the woman face all the issues in their life with the support of there Friday night knitting club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Heartwarming Story

    Loved this book. There were lots of unexpected surprises, and kept me well interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Very good, highly recommend.

    Great book, I can't wait to read the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I loved this book! My MIL bought it for me for Christmas and I

    I loved this book! My MIL bought it for me for Christmas and I couldn't put it down. I laughed, cried, and read constantly! I liked it so much that I went out and bought the next book immediately!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Ok

    I am a kid, 13 years old, who read this. I understood it, unlike others who might not. However, parts were dull and dragging. Others were okay. I thought Georgia talked about James and the break up way too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A truereflection of the friendships we all crave

    I wish i had my own Friday Night Knitting Club after reading this. Excellent to the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the book

    Being a knitter myselfI, liked the book. The story was fun and touching. I felt as though I knew the women personally (knowing someone just like them). I think she captured the essence of a knitting group and I found this book to be a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite book of the novels!

    I love this first part of the novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Comforting

    As a knitter it was only fitting that I read this book. I absolutely loved this book. Kate Jacobs delves into the bounds of friendships and family that are created around the simple action of knitting. Set in busy New York, the unlikeliest of characters come together in the Yarn shop of Walker and Daughter. At first I was a bit worried that there were so many characters, each with their own strong presence. However, each character is given the chance to present not only their own personal story but also how they are affected by the other women. Each character thus is able to become the main character.

    This book also focuses on many real-life situations and concerns that many deal with on a daily basis: single-motherhood, getting older, marriage & divorce, being young, work, and the most important, friendship and sisterhood. Kate Jacob's book presents these extraordinary women both as individuals as well as dependent on each other. Through emotional trials of failure and success, only through the Friday Knitting Club is each woman able to find themselves were they are meant to be in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hate knitting? You'll LOVE The Friday Night Knitting Club

    I've never had an interest in knitting but the cover enticed me to buy this book. The Friday Night Knitting Club's characters group pull you in to their diverse group. Each time I put the book down, I couldn't wait to pick it back up and join another 'club meeting'!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fell in love with this author

    wow! totally not my type of book, it was recommended to my by a friend and I was impressed. I enjoyed the book so much, i went and bought her follow up books. I loved the characters and the setting, the mix of personalities was fabulous. Enjoy this book and keep reading Kate Jacobs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good entertainment!!

    "Friday Night Knitting Club" is written for people like me: I´m not the big fan of knitting, whool and all that stuff, but K. Jacobs is talking about knitting, sweaters, the 1000 colours of Georgia´s whool - well, it might bring you a bit closer to a yarn shop ... And there is another point: I love New York City and every time I opened this book I opened a door which could lead me straight into this wonderful city!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    This is a lovely book to give to a girlfriend as a gift.

    I enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and diverse, the storyline was relatable and I found it was a good book to melt into at night before going to sleep. It was a fairly light read with a twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Loved this book

    The book was excellent, blending the victory over adversity of many kinds. Good read, I found that I could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    A Good Knitting Club

    This is a book that you just can't put down. You cry you laugh reading
    this book. You are touched by the struggles and hope for a good ending.
    This is a book that everyone should read whether they knit or not....but
    if you don't knit....I think you will want to knit when you are done with
    this book. It does inspire you to join a group whether you are in a small
    town or a big city!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6