Customer Reviews for

Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Friday Night Light Friday Night Lights is a great story that sho

Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well w...
Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well written, I give it a 5 out of 5, and I have no dislikes in the book. This book shows the life’s of different high school football players. Who are all seniors and want to win the championship game of the last year at high school. For many players this will be there last football game of their lives. It shows how each person handles the problems of a student athlete.
Boobie Miles has bad grades but is a great running back. Boobie thinks he is the best out there and doesn’t think he has to go to school or do anything so he chooses not to. He just plays football. Until one day when he suffers a horrible accident to his leg during a game. Boobie had many colleges wanting to give him a full ride for football. Then after the accident he cant play football and no colleges want him since he can’t play ball. And now that he can’t play and he has bad grades he has nothing to support him later in life. So if you focus on just sports and don’t worry about school you won’t have a good future.
Not everything in life is fair. For example when Boobie miles injures himself that isn’t fair! He had colleges looking at him and had full ride scholarships until after the accident. That isn’t fair to him. But everything happens for a reason. After his accident it changes his attitude about life. Instead of everything being about Boobie he sees that it takes 11 guys to make a team and that everyone should work together.
Overall I loved the book and I give it a 5 out of 5. I did not have any dislikes. This book is good for any student athlete and is good for anybody who wants a good story of a high school football team. I would recommend this story to anybody who likes a good read.

posted by jasonND on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was no

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and cha...
A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and characters/stories that seemed completely irrelevant to the current goals of the town and team. I simply did not like the lack of exciting, detailed football moments and the focus of the past more than the present. Even though I was not a fan of the book I did enjoy the way the author portrayed themes such as racism and dreams from multiple viewpoints. I also enjoyed the small parts focused on certain football players, however they were rare and weren’t as related to things on the field. I would not read this book if you are expecting something centralized on football, it is more of a long, boring story focusing on history. My rating for Friday Night Lights would be a 2 out of 5.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Correction

    Just for the record, I am from Odessa and our lives do NOT revolve around football. The book and movie over dramaticize the importance of football in the community. The athletes are not passed simply because they are needed to play, if they fail, they fail. Just a correction for those who believed the hollywood nonsense.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    The

    Book,
    ,
    Sucks













    ,





















































































































































































    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    hey

    this book is really unapropiate to people they should burn this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Terrible

    Terrible book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    Interesting book!

    Friday Night Lights is about the Permian High School Panthers football team in the 1988 season. In Odessa,Texas they only have two things which are football and oil. On the young shoulders of the Panthers are the hopes, dreams and aspirations of an entire community. The book focuses on the intense pressure placed on the players, coaches, and even families. After a tough loss the head coach has his house vandalized, his family verbally assaulted, and calls made for his firing. The student population of Permian is mostly white, but the few black players from Odessa's poor mostly black south side are some of the team's most successful players. The book shows the contrast in the white wealthy suburban area against the older section of Odessa which is populated mostly by blacks and Hispanics. The book also profiles several of the team's star players. Some live for every single moment they can wear the Panthers uniform. Some are the lucky sons of Odessa's richest residents, while others come from painful poverty and broken homes. Odessa is represented as an entire city of broken dreams devastated by the downturn in the oil industry where unemployment is high and crime becomes increases. What holds the community together is the Friday Night Lights at Ratliff Stadium where the Panthers battle not only for team and school pride, but for the pride of an entire community.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    THIS DOES NOT EVEN WORK!!!!!!!!

    I tried downloading this eBook version but it wouldnt open up! IM SO UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    High School Football at it's Best

    This is an amazing book about the greatness of a football team in the town of Odessa, in western Texas. Western Texas is all about football. In the book they would close down the whole town for a Permian High varsity football game. You feel like you¿re at the game both when the team does good and bad. I loved the in your face football action and the support from the entire town. This varsity football team is what held this town together. For a non-fiction book it seems almost surreal how an entire town would shut down just for a varsity football game, but that is exactly what would happen. Come Friday night there wasn¿t a soul that lives in Odessa that wasn¿t in that stadium, cheering on their team. This book is great for anyone who doesn¿t understand the importance of high school football in Texas. Not only is it a terrific book on football, but also it has a lot of non-football related themes. One of the biggest themes in this book is racism, not only from the town, but also from the team. Racism was portrayed in many different ways, but the main was name-calling. Being a football player myself it was hard to find any dislikes about this book. I loved every part of it. I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever played football, plays football, or just enjoys football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    A book for football guys

    Friday Night Lights was an ok book. It didn¿t really interest me as much as I had thought it would have. Because I am not really interested in football so the story was somewhat confusing. I will admit that I thought Boobie Miles was a good character in the book. When he broke his leg you could tell that he was a team player and that he really wanted to get out there and play with the team and win. It was brave of Boobie to quit the team but he did it for the good of the team. The book was also confusing for me because it used some football terms that I didn¿t really understand very much terms such as chain gang and even quarter back are terms that I am not familiar with. I would not recommend this book for kids under the age of 14 years because of the bad language. But I will recommend this book for people that are really interested in football and that are true football fans. In the book there were some boring parts that really didn¿t catch my attention. The rest of my reading group had either read the book or have seen the movie and thought that both were exciting and trilling and many people that I know that have either read or have seen the movie have also said that neither was great I also agreed with them. The book also expresses a passion for football as I had said previously for those who are true football fans this is the right book to read. Another confusing thing of the book, was that you don¿t really know who is the main character this is a book about a team, so you have to kind of figure it out for your self.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1