BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream

Average Rating 4
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(132)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Friday Night Light Friday Night Lights is a great story that sho

Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well w...
Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well written, I give it a 5 out of 5, and I have no dislikes in the book. This book shows the life’s of different high school football players. Who are all seniors and want to win the championship game of the last year at high school. For many players this will be there last football game of their lives. It shows how each person handles the problems of a student athlete.
Boobie Miles has bad grades but is a great running back. Boobie thinks he is the best out there and doesn’t think he has to go to school or do anything so he chooses not to. He just plays football. Until one day when he suffers a horrible accident to his leg during a game. Boobie had many colleges wanting to give him a full ride for football. Then after the accident he cant play football and no colleges want him since he can’t play ball. And now that he can’t play and he has bad grades he has nothing to support him later in life. So if you focus on just sports and don’t worry about school you won’t have a good future.
Not everything in life is fair. For example when Boobie miles injures himself that isn’t fair! He had colleges looking at him and had full ride scholarships until after the accident. That isn’t fair to him. But everything happens for a reason. After his accident it changes his attitude about life. Instead of everything being about Boobie he sees that it takes 11 guys to make a team and that everyone should work together.
Overall I loved the book and I give it a 5 out of 5. I did not have any dislikes. This book is good for any student athlete and is good for anybody who wants a good story of a high school football team. I would recommend this story to anybody who likes a good read.

posted by jasonND on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was no

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and cha...
A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and characters/stories that seemed completely irrelevant to the current goals of the town and team. I simply did not like the lack of exciting, detailed football moments and the focus of the past more than the present. Even though I was not a fan of the book I did enjoy the way the author portrayed themes such as racism and dreams from multiple viewpoints. I also enjoyed the small parts focused on certain football players, however they were rare and weren’t as related to things on the field. I would not read this book if you are expecting something centralized on football, it is more of a long, boring story focusing on history. My rating for Friday Night Lights would be a 2 out of 5.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was no

    A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and characters/stories that seemed completely irrelevant to the current goals of the town and team. I simply did not like the lack of exciting, detailed football moments and the focus of the past more than the present. Even though I was not a fan of the book I did enjoy the way the author portrayed themes such as racism and dreams from multiple viewpoints. I also enjoyed the small parts focused on certain football players, however they were rare and weren’t as related to things on the field. I would not read this book if you are expecting something centralized on football, it is more of a long, boring story focusing on history. My rating for Friday Night Lights would be a 2 out of 5.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Very upsetting. I was very excited to read this book because i a

    Very upsetting. I was very excited to read this book because i am huge about football. I was excited reading it then i noticed, more then half the book was about oil and the history of Odessa. The theme was histotic in a way. The book was about how they had many issues in early Odessa and how that helped form the football program of the Permian Panthers. The last 2 chapters is where it got interesting and told us the final results of the football season. I give this book a 4 out of 10, i would not recommend it to you unless you want to learn about oil and how it affected a town.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Friday Night Lights-A true story of Football The novel Friday Ni

    Friday Night Lights-A true story of Football
    The novel Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger was brought to me and I was so excited to read it because I had always heard what great of a story it was. When I read this book I was very disappointed. I thought it was okay but nothing really popped out at me saying it was different from just any old book. The main themes in the book were supposed to be the struggles of the football team, and how inspiring they can be. Instead of reading about the motivating book it was claimed to be, I found myself reading multiple chapters about the town Odessa. Another dislike I had about this book was the description. I do like watching football a lot and I am a big fan, but if you don’t know what happens in football one hundred percent of the time you will get a little lost in this book just like I did. There was one thing I did like about this book. You can make connections very easily, being in high school and having a well-known football team it is easy to connect to this book. I would give this book a two out of five. Overall this book did not meet my expectations, and I would not recommend it to someone unless they wanted to learn about the town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Average read

    I picked this book to read because I thought it would be a good football book. I was dissapointed at how little football it was. The majority of the book was leading up to the games and talking about the town and its problems. The author did do a great job with description and detail. If you are looking for a strictly football book I wouldn't recommend this book but it is a good book about a town that lives for the friday night lights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    a mixed bag....very uninspiring

    I know that there are many people that love this book dearly, and that my opinion is in the minority, so this review may get readers blood boiling, but for me this book was very disappointing. Now, I didn't care much for high school sports when I was in high school, so this was not a subject that I was really interested in reading about. I'm a huge sports fan, but that applies to the college and pro level and high school sports should fall under an extracurricular activity, and when they are raised to the level of pro or college sports, I find it to be an example of misplaced priorities. I never would have bought this book on my own, but my cousin gave me this book last Christmas and it was the last book left I had to read to finish out my reading year, so I picked it up and delved in. My problem with the book, is that it was too easy a read for me, very unchallenging and three or four levels beneath the subject matter that I am used to reading. When something is to easy to read it, bores me, and that is what this book did. Bissinger's novel works best when it turns into a sociological examination of Odessa, Texas, and the tragic results that come when people put the state championship of high school football in Texas above the education and long term life needs of the student/athletes who are put through the meat grinder that is high school football in Texas. The one point that the book illuminates is that communities that have an unhealthy obsession with a sport or one of their sports teams' Texas with high school football, Boston with baseball and the Red Sox, North Carolina with college basketball'are often masking a deep unhappiness with the area in which they live. The lack of opportunities whether it be in life, work, or upward mobility, coupled with high crime, poverty, and population flight cause those communities to put all of their hopes, dreams and life wishes onto the shoulders of the teams they root for, which causes an out of control fandom that loses perspective on the fact that it is just a game. We all want our teams to win, but when you have a full life, the individual tends to not be so devasted when their teams lose. I do understand why those who played high school football love this book because it speaks to their own experiences, but when Bissinger writes that many students learned about American History by watching Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid on video, and that many students could not think about anything, make critical judgements and deliberations, or interpret what they had just read, I shook my head at the troubling condemnation of the American educational system being sabatoged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Friday Night Lights (Gift): A Town, a Team and a Dream

    Friday Night Lights was okay. It was interesting at times and not at all other times. A good book for someone that likes football alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1