Customer Reviews for

Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Friday Night Light Friday Night Lights is a great story that sho

Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well w...
Friday Night Light
Friday Night Lights is a great story that shows football isn’t the only thing in life and life isn’t fair. I liked that this story is a true story and each person in the book is represented very well with what really happened. This book is very well written, I give it a 5 out of 5, and I have no dislikes in the book. This book shows the life’s of different high school football players. Who are all seniors and want to win the championship game of the last year at high school. For many players this will be there last football game of their lives. It shows how each person handles the problems of a student athlete.
Boobie Miles has bad grades but is a great running back. Boobie thinks he is the best out there and doesn’t think he has to go to school or do anything so he chooses not to. He just plays football. Until one day when he suffers a horrible accident to his leg during a game. Boobie had many colleges wanting to give him a full ride for football. Then after the accident he cant play football and no colleges want him since he can’t play ball. And now that he can’t play and he has bad grades he has nothing to support him later in life. So if you focus on just sports and don’t worry about school you won’t have a good future.
Not everything in life is fair. For example when Boobie miles injures himself that isn’t fair! He had colleges looking at him and had full ride scholarships until after the accident. That isn’t fair to him. But everything happens for a reason. After his accident it changes his attitude about life. Instead of everything being about Boobie he sees that it takes 11 guys to make a team and that everyone should work together.
Overall I loved the book and I give it a 5 out of 5. I did not have any dislikes. This book is good for any student athlete and is good for anybody who wants a good story of a high school football team. I would recommend this story to anybody who likes a good read.

posted by jasonND on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was no

A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and cha...
A town, a team, a dream, a bad book. Friday Night Lights was not the book I had expected. I was excited to read a book centered on the success and struggles of a famous high school football team, however I found myself reading more about the history of the town and characters/stories that seemed completely irrelevant to the current goals of the town and team. I simply did not like the lack of exciting, detailed football moments and the focus of the past more than the present. Even though I was not a fan of the book I did enjoy the way the author portrayed themes such as racism and dreams from multiple viewpoints. I also enjoyed the small parts focused on certain football players, however they were rare and weren’t as related to things on the field. I would not read this book if you are expecting something centralized on football, it is more of a long, boring story focusing on history. My rating for Friday Night Lights would be a 2 out of 5.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Expected it to be more inspirational! Friday Night Lights by

    Expected it to be more inspirational!

    Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger is a true story about the town of Odessa Texas and it’s beloved high school football team, the Permian Panthers. The book fallows the panthers through the 1988 football season. The book mainly focuses on six of the players and the town of Odessa. It tells about how the players and town are triumphant in the face of tragedy and misfortune.

    The book strongly portrays the themes of racism, misplaced priorities and life isn’t always fair. Good themes, however the theme of racism has become overdone and dull. If your a high school student you know what I’m talking about. The characters in were crafted beautifully and you always felt as though you could relate to one of the players. My main disappointment in this book was it didn’t feel as inspirational as I would’ve expected it to be. I chose this book because I love Friday Night Lights the TV series and expected it to be similar. It was, but you didn’t feel as inspired after reading it. Maybe the TV series just better portrayed how “up against the odds” the characters were. Maybe reading a whole chapter about the desolate grounds of Odessa took away from the excitement. Not knowing football terminology took away from the book as well! It’s hard to be impressed with what’s happening when you don’t understand. At the end of the book they end up losing, however the next year the coach leads the team to victory at the state championship. Overall the book was worthwhile, I just wished it was as entertaining and inspirational as the TV series was! Over All I would give this book a 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    More Fact Less Story

    Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger is about a Texas high school football team in 1988. It is about a famous football team that overcomes a lot of hurdles, but in truth is a bad example. This team is very good team and always has been but recently it has had bad influences. The major message of this book is to show how racist America still was in the 80's and to show how football town's priorities are way off. Although I may not have liked the book as much it did have some advantages. This book did give a lot of history; you were able to learn a lot. This book chronicled the life of a small town basically from the 50's. This helped a lot from the reading as it was a tough read. Many things had to be understood to get the jist of the book this is why it was boring. The book was about 320 pages long and 200 of those were background information. It was mainly about explaining who each character was and how they came to be. Their parents, friends, how their football career came to be. This gets very boring as you go through it about twenty times. Then, it explains the history of the town and how it came to be. It explains how it is still the same yet very different. The likes of this book would be if you want a history lesson you got it. You learn a lot of how Texas is. Such as how it was a still a racist community as the town was separated into whites and not. It also shows how our priorities have changed. In most schools today the priorities are academics first sports second, well at Permian and many other high schools in small town Texas, it is the exact opposite. This is something many people I have asked do not know. The racism factor is also nice to learn. In Odessa (the setting for this book) nobody talked to colored people whether they be Hispanic or black, but when it came to football everyone wanted the black people because they were good at football. Whoever out there who wants to know about some troubles of football, or mainly early southwest history it is a good read. Everyone else out there who wants to learn but be entertained at the same time not a good read. The Blind side or Express are both true football stories that also might be liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Not a football fan? Then don't bother.

    Coming into this book not knowing the first thing about football, I found that Friday Night Lights appeared to be a pleasantly surprising book. H.G. Bissinger does an excellent job of making you feel as though you are witnessing the Permian Panther football pride and team connections yourself. He does a brilliant job of bringing you into the individual team members lives to show the reasons for their actions on and off the field, not only including football and school academics, but home life also. Unfortunately the book did get the feel of being extremely slow and boring at times feeling as though it was a broken record. However, it was only a matter of time before it picked up the pace again. Following the lives of 6 of the top varsity players and the coach, the book talked about how big of an impact in Odessa, Texas the Permian Panthers High School Football is. With the weight of the world ,or in this case the entire town of Odessa, Texas, on these players shoulders the dream of going to the state championship game seems to be the only thing expected out of them. A terribly difficult challenge it is, but impractical it is not. I would recommend this book to football fans. Otherwise, if you are not a football fan and could care less what a touchdown is, I would not read this book. It took me till the very end, about 350 pages later, to realize how good the book was. The reason that I decided to read Friday Night Lights was to widen my book choice selection. Not being a football fan, it was a little hard bare through this book. This book has taught me more than I anticipated it would about football. Not just about the game and rules but also the behind the scenes of the football players lives, showing the reasoning's of what might be a crazy decision to anyone else, but a realistic one to the player.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    love and compasion

    Friday night lights is a hope filled story of true commitment and community based on the Permian Panthers and a man named Pulitzer Prize a journalist who decides to fallow them for one season of football, he soon discovers that this is no ordinary high school football team, Odessa is not known to be a town big on dreams, but the Panthers help keep the hopes and dreams of this small, dusty town going. They are more than a team they are a family. They are bond, between everyone in the whole town. This bond is so strong that no matter the issues happening or the despair ravaging the town, every Friday night from September to December, when the Permian High School Panthers play football, this West Texas town becomes a place where dreams can come true, everyone leaves all the turmoil behind and just enjoys the games and the commitment that the players give to this sport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Friday Night Lights

    For a book report I chose to read the book Friday Night Lights; A Town, A Team, and A Dream. Overall the book was really good and i would reccomend it to many people. The book talks about how a school football team works hard to make it to a state championship game. The book also talks about how the city the book takes place in deals with the out law of discrimination and the racism people deal with. this book is really inspirational and makes people aware. The book makes people aware of what other people went through when discrimination was a big problem here in the United States, expesically in school. The book is a little hard to read because of how well it is written but after a while you begin to get used to it and you will fly though the book once you get started.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    It Was Okay

    I'm sure that I would have enjoyed Friday Night Lights a lot more if I understood the game of football. Friday Night Lights does have a good storyline, but it just did not hold my attention as much as I hoped it would. I do admire the characters on the football team because football was what they loved and what they worked so hard for and everyone should have a passion to some extent. Ultimately, I would not recommend it to anyone unless they loved football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    A special story and a special ending

    A story of a team who has the heart of a million bears. Permian Jaguars start of a new season of high school football. The determination of these boy are tremendously strong because they know that they need to continue the legacy of the Permian football, and win state. It all starts off at summer camp the player go hard and tough training. Some can¿t handle it some are use to it. Those are the seniors of team, and they know what time it is when it comes to Permian football. One of the stars of the team is Boobie Miles, a special talent on the team. He can play any position on team if he want, and the team knows it . At times he could be cocky but it all pays off. In a part of the story team find themselves go against their rival, Aburn. Something shocking happens to their best player, and its really devastating. My opinion on this book that it is a book that will have you waiting to see what happens next. If you love the sport of football and enjoy stories of team with heart and courage this a great book for you. I enjoyed the description and detail of the football games that occurred in the book. The ending is a shocker, but kind of leaves you in the since of why choose this team to make a book about. But knowing the story helps you understand the significance of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Not just about a high school football season

    This book is not what I expected it to be. I was expecting more football when I got more history of towns, life of players, and segregation in the 1980's. The parts of the book that actually talked about the games were real exciting and well written. The book jumped from topic to topic way too much. The second half of the book was a lot better because it delt with the players and their lives and how they delt with the pressures of being on a team with such high expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    kinda dispointign

    when i first picked up this book i was expecting a front to back football book not a book about oil poverty or racism in a town 1,000 miles away form me. i wanted pure football. the chapter was by far my favorite because thats what it gave me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Friday Night Lights (Gift): A Town, a Team and a Dream

    A great book...very interesting on how a town can become so engrossed in a football team. H. G. Bissinger does a great job showing how the football players really feel. I would recommend you read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Not very interesting

    This book to me wasn't very interesting to me, i tried to read and get into the book but it just seemed boring to me. I think that I would reccomend it to some one who was big on football.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    book, unbelievable

    this book was a geat book and it had a lot of things that were unbelievable. to know that there may be some of these things happening in football are hard to understand and definately unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2