Customer Reviews for

Fried: Why You Burn Out and How to Revive

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    To careless author

    Ill be a charater. My names harper cole and im 14 and a tomboy. Like to wear basket ball shorts and a blue hoodie that says adidas across the back. I have blondish bronwish hair and grey eyes. Im training to be a cat i guess. I like running and hiking and football. A boyfriend would be nice. Cool story btw! Keep writing! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    It was ok. Some advice: Dont end like that. Cliffhangers are good but i feel that that ending didnt really work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Careless 4

    (Thanks so much for your support and Celestia thanks for the advice. Usually I write stories thay seven pages but I relized it doesn't matter on how long it is but the story itself. Ill work on my grammer! Advertisement: The Medicine Kit. At 'twa'!) Sawyer broke the scilence,"I'll go on this quest." The moment after she said it she regretted ir deeply. Hannah eyes flew to her and she felt like ducking but held still. "Well, we will have to talk to the other leaders," Hannah said. <p> Sawyer walked down the hall with Hannah. The sides were littered with statues of animals and stuffed animals. They stopped at a clear glass door where people where sitting on comfy leather couches that circled around a black wooden table. "So!" Crued Bekka the leader of the Iguanas. "Does this girl want to lead the quest?" Hannah nodded solemnly and ushered Sawyer to a couch. "Im say she should because no one else volunteered." Bekka continued. "Do you have any idea who you're going to ask?" "Yes, probably Ivy and Jaquelin for sure but I can't decide on who else." Sawyer stared at the tinted glass walls after she finnished. "Okay," said Branden leader of the Wolves. "But some one in my group would like to join you. Ayama would." Sawyer turned to look at Brandon. His yellowush green eyes showed no feeling and his posture gave superity. Sawyer shivered and hoped that whoever Ayama was didn't act like that. "How about we give her one month to decide who wull be going," Helen leader of Arctic Wolves said whith her eyes as usual sparkled like the snow. Sawyer nodded. That meant a month to find 4 people that would be suitible for the quest. She then asked as politly as she could of she could be escused from the meeting. Hannah nodded but Brandon said in a cold voice,"No, you wanted to go on this quest and that means you'll have to listen."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    This groundbreaking book is a must-read and how-to-live guidebook that is destined to be a classic in the field of stress management and mind-body medicine.

    WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT "FRIED - WHY YOU BURN OUT AND HOW TO REVIVE": Donna G.: "Loving the book! So helpful for me right now. Thankyou!" Michelle G. H.: "Joan, I found your book last month....I want you to know that your book was what gave me the courage to insist that I deserved better, and that to continue with life as I had been was only going to make me feel worse. I'm now receiving some treatment, and I'm also taking a brief sabbatical from my work to see how my own behaviors and past experiences have affected me as well. It's nearly impossible to separate physical from psychological, but it needs addressed in all ways possible when we get to this point. THANK YOU for your wonderful book." Lisa B. H.: "What it's done for me is give me hope. Hope that this awful fried funk I'm in is not permanent nor is it a reflection of my personality or some flaw. I'm already seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and confronting and cleaning out things in my life that are just not working anymore.Thank you Joan!" Elizabeth H. M.: "I just finished reading FRIED last night. Wow! What I learned is, I'm not alone and I'm not depressed. My physical health is a reflection of my emotional health, which I have been too busy and too independent to pay attention to. Thanks, Joan!" Kerri M.: "Just finished reading "Fried" and I cannot tell you how much I got out of it. I have been at the depths of burnout for awhile now and feeling isolated and scared by how foreign my life had started to feel. Your words, your sources, your suggestions -- particularly about rewiring your thoughts and about eschewing learned helplessness -- hit home in very meaningful ways. Thank you!" Lori C.: "I ordered your latest book, "Fried...". . . I am overwhelmed. . .in the very first pages, I found myself over and over. . .I am not going crazy but I too, am FRIED. . . thank you for putting in print exactly what I needed to read. . .knowledge is powerful." Amy H. G.: "Just downloaded Fried yesterday onto my Nook (bless e technology!) and have read through the first chapter already. I'm planning to begin the exercises tonight to help with a looming decision about a potential job change. So many insights from it that hit home- thank you for writing such a meaningful, important book." Jane B.: "Just finished your book "Fried". Exactly what I needed to hear. Thanks to you and all the wonderful people who shared their thoughts on burn out." Darla W. C.: "It's an EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT book! I read it in one day and I'm going through it again more slowly. It helped me to see that I'm not ready for the psych ward, which is where I've been afraid I was heading." Lisa V. B.: "Thank you Joan. Just finished reading FRIED! It is my savior. What a year 2010 was for many of us and not in a great way. You have helped me start 2011 with a fresh, new perspective and armed me with the tools I need to revive myself. Your book could not have come to me at a better time. Thank you Hay House. Thank you Joan."... Ann Elizabeth M.: "I can't stop talking about your book. Have underlined nearly every page, and posted my recommendation on FB. I can't thank you enough for all the inner and outer work that obviously went into it. It is already touching the lives of so many!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    A wise, witty and well-researched book that will help all who read it

    Of the 15 books she has written, Joan Borysenko believes her new book, Fried: Why You Burn Out and How to Revive, is the most important one she's written. I agree. As someone who runs a nonprofit holistic wellness center, I constantly see people who suffer as the result of being `fried.' When we refuse to reflect upon what causes burnout and ignore our responsibility for trying to recover from it, our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health breaks down. Joan's book is a wonderful template for how to take charge of becoming well in mind, body and spirit. She describes 12 stages of burnout (and shares personal stories to illustrate them), thus enabling people to identify what is contributing to their own sense of being `fried.' Then she suggests practical and easy self-reflective exercises to holistically revive ourselves, both in our personal and professional lives. I found her discussion of the relationship between personality, temperament and burnout to be especially fascinating. Joan summarizes some of the most groundbreaking research in psychoneuroimmunology, in a way that enables readers to explore the impact of mind/body/spiritual connections in their own lives. By providing specific resources for discovering one's own personality and temperament, the book opens a door to the self-reflection--and action--necessary to make changes based on a better understanding of one's own needs. As Joan writes, "If you know who you are and accept it, then you're less likely to waste energy trying to be something you're not." Often this realization is the first step in finding more joy and meaning in our lives. She also discusses the importance of trust, faith and letting go, all crucial steps not only for recovering from burnout, but in living life to the fullest. By inviting her Facebook friends to participate in the creation of this book, Joan enables readers to benefit from the wisdom, insights and life-experiences of other highly regarded professionals and inspiring individuals who are her `friends.' I found many of these comments to be enlightening and entertaining, almost like being invited to a gathering of wise and welcoming old friends. I highly recommend this book to anyone who seeks a better understanding of why they have been/are burned out and how to recover from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    i loved this book!

    i have discovered that i'm not really depressed, just burned out. now i know what to do to feel better, thanks to the details in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Fried" is a Life-changer and Life-saver; a Must-read and How-to-live Guidebook

    My dear friend Antoinette Spurrier and I have the honor and pleasure of being quoted in Joan Borysenko's new book "Fried: Why You Burn Out and How To Revive". I highly recommend this special book.

    Here is an overview of "Fried" from the book's table of contents. In addition to each chapter's topics, Dr. Borysenko includes Self-Reflection Exercises that are very helpful.

    Contents

    Preface: Hell Is a Bad Place to Pitch a Tent

    Introduction: Notes from the Underworld

    Chapter 1: Mapping the Descent into the Inferno . . .

    "Here's a quick breakdown of the burnout stages:"

    Stage 1: Driven by an Ideal
    Stage 2: Working Like a Maniac
    Stage 3: Putting Your Own Needs Last
    Stage 4: Miserable, and Clueless as to Why
    Stage 5: The Death of Values
    Stage 6: Frustrated, Aggressive, and Cynical
    Stage 7: Emotionally Exhausted and Disengaged
    Stage 8: "I've Morphed into What?"
    Stage 9: "Get Away from Me!"
    Stage 10: Inner Emptiness
    Stage 11: Who Cares and Why Bother?
    Stage 12: Physical and Mental Collapse

    Chapter 2: The Depression Industry

    Chapter 3: The Childhood Roots of Burnout

    Chapter 4: Personality, Temperament, and Burnout

    Chapter 5: Energy Management

    Chapter 6: Letting Go and Moving On

    Chapter 7: The Great Revival-Awakening in the Now

    Chapter 8: Heaven on Earth

    Epilogue: Your Epitaph

    Endnotes

    Acknowledgments

    About the Author


    As my breast cancer surgeon once asked me (in response to my ceaseless 18 hour days working on my breast cancer advocacy efforts), "Do you really want to die with an empty in-box?" I was in chemotherapy, building a national movement; fighting for my life and killing myself at the same time. Wow! This issue is a prime example of why Joan Borysenko's new groundbreaking book "Fried: Why You Burn Out and How to Revive" is so relevant and necessary. My only wish is that I had been able to have this precious book in my possession several years ago. I learned many of the lessons that Joan so eloquently and clearly puts forth in this trailblazing book the hard way and at great expense. I don't want others to do the same or to look back upon their lives and ponder, "If only I knew then what I know now." Do yourself, your friends, family members and colleagues a great favor -- pick up and read a copy of "Fried" and send out copies to those you know and love -- it will be a blessing and gift that keeps on giving that will help you and others to survive, revive and thrive in this fast-paced world of ours.

    This book is a life-changer and life-saver; a must-read and how-to-live guidebook that is destined to be a classic in the field of stress management and mind-body medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1