Customer Reviews for

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Average Rating 4.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    MY ALL TIME FAVORITE!!

    I'm a fanatic of Fried Green Tomatoes. So, of course, I had to have the audio book, read by the author herself, Fannie Flagg. And she does not disappoint. Her southern drawl is cute and she knows how to act the lines (she was involved in the theater before jumping into writing).<BR/>Although...for all those who know the movie and the book like the palm of their hand, a word of caution: you'll miss the actresses's voices (in the case of the movie) and many of the delicious details of the book that were left behind in this abridged version (like the catfish joke Idgie and Stump played on unsuspecting visitors and when Idgie first met Ruth and when Ruth went away). I think it's because reading verbatim from the book would've made it too long, but I still resent that they left so much out.<BR/>This audio book is really for the hardcore fans. Anyone else will tire of it. But Fannie Flagg is delightful and it gives this CD that extra something when you know the woman who cooked this story up is telling you the story from her own lips.<BR/>Buy this if you fell in love with Ruth and Idgie and Ninny and Evelyn. It'll add to the collection you probably already have revolving around Fried Green Tomatoes. I love the sotries that stick with you the rest of your life. My recommendations are exactly that.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A SOUTHERN CLASSIC

    Evelyn Couch is having a midlife crisis. She was brought up to be a "good girl" and do everything she was "supposed" to do, which was to marry a good man and become a wife and mother. She did, but now that her children are grown and out of the house, Evelyn is feeling that life has passed her by. She is realizing that the current world is so very different from the one she grew up in and she does not know how to cope. On top of that, she realizes that her relationship with her husband is drifting farther and farther apart. Many days, she sits at home alone, overeating and wishing for the courage to end her life.
    Things begin to change when she meets Cleo Threadgood, a resident at a local Alabama nursing home. Cleo regales Evelyn with stories of her family and friends, growing up in a small town named Whistle Stop, Alabama. Through these stories and numerous visits with Cleo, Evelyn begins to reevaluate her life and discover for the first time, the kind of woman that she wants to become.
    This is my favorite book. I suppose it resonated so well with me because I read it for the first time when I was in college, trying to figure out who I was, much like Ruth. There are strong themes of hope, resilience, perseverance, and change, in this story. I never get tired of reading this book because the author writes with such passion and poignancy that it draws me in every time. As stated earlier, these characters feel like friends who I want to visit over and over.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    This is my favortie book! My favorite book is Fried Green Tomato

    This is my favortie book! My favorite book is Fried Green Tomatoes, and The Outsiders! I LOVE THIS BOOK! Best book I've EVER READ IN MY LIFE. I LOVE THE MOVIE TOO. Please read this book. It is soo good and SOO worth the money.(: I wish I could give it 100000000 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Viewed the movie numerous times - first time I've read the book

    The big surprise (to me) was how accurately the movie follows the book. Obviously there is much more detail, but unlike many book-based movies, this one is astonishingly true to the book.
    The movie did not cover the Whistle Stop weekly news bites, and the ending is a little different than the movie (I can see why they did what they did though). Deep south recipes are included (yes, fried green tomatoes too).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    One of my favorite books

    This book, along with the books 'Certain Girls' and 'Barring Some Unforeseen Accident' are some of my favorites. FGT as it is loving known to most of us, is posibly the best Southern book written (modern book). And it's one of the few that was made into a fantastic movie. The story of friendship, southern culture, and love will warm your heart and make you laugh

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    A wonderful, cute story.

    I would recommend this book to any one of any age. The book is well written with mystery, humor, culture and intrigue. I just love the characters. Ruth and Idgie are just so cute and endearing. The author is masterful at pulling you into this little town of heart.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jackson McCrae's southern book 'Bark of the Dogwood' set me off on a journey to read more about this wonderful story-telling-prone area. Thus I found Mrs. Flagg's 'Fried Green Tomatoes.' A superb book, this is a perfect story with tugs at the heartstrings and drama.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Careless 5

    (People who gave me a character application: be patient you'll each have your moment to shine and I might change some people so they can fit into the quest some how. Also if you don't kind dying please tell me!Advertisement: Twisted Stories. Story parts at 'philip gould: an unfinished life'!) Sawyer whipped around tp face Brandon. His face formed a wolfish grin and his eyes pierced her like prey. "Sit down." Only those two words were able to make Sawyer trudge back to the couch. "Ayame will definitely suit you on this quest. She has the right traits to keep you there." He continued. Sawyer stared right into his eyeballs but he just turned away, too proud to have a staring contest. Tipical wolves! Sawyer turned to look at Hannah to see her reaction but she seemed unfazed. "So!" Bekka shrilled,"I guess this meeting is done for because we have decided who will be leading and when they will leave!" Nobody needed to be told what was needed next. Everyone stood up and streamed out of the room just like that leaving Hannah, Sawyer, AND Branden alone in the room with just a dim light from the lantern above them for company.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    My all-time favorite

    I read about 3 books a week and this is still my all-time fave by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    The south the way it was

    For me, this was the story of the south the way it used to be, long before the stip malls took over and everyone got so materialistic. Fannie Flagg has obviously lived this tale in one form or another, or at least known people like this. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone of any age level.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Fried green tomatoes at the whistle stop cafe

    For once i must say i liked the movie better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    This book was extremely confusing and difficult for me to read a

    This book was extremely confusing and difficult for me to read and understand. I was required to read it for a college course. I thought it would be interesting and that I would like it, but one page was worse than the next. I couldn't get past the first half.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    &hearts

    Fgf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Genious? ? Genius.

    Love this book. Love these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    I love this book! I've seen the movie several times and, althoug

    I love this book! I've seen the movie several times and, although I love it, always felt like it was leaving things out. The movie, for sake of acceptable watch time and not having to find actors to portray the characters throughout their long lives cataloged in the book. The vivid, delightful, depressing, and amazing world depicted by Fannie Flagg almost makes me wish I had grown up in a small Alabama town during the Depression. Just the right mix of humor, drama, and emotion to make a truly great and forever re-readable novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    I felt that chapter was.......how do i put it.........a little boring. Short. You could lengthen atleast a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Amazing

    I read this book the first time about ten years ago. I reread it everyso often because I just can't get enough. Idgie Threadgoode is my hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    A great book

    What a great book about life in a small town in rural alabama in the 1920s and 1930s! I felt like I was there and was friends with the people who lived in Whistle Stop• I could not stop reading the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    One of my favorite movies, so I had to read the book, it didnĀ“t

    One of my favorite movies, so I had to read the book, it didn´t dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12