Customer Reviews for

A Friend of the Family

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great characters. Pulls you in emotionally

Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight away that the main character Pete has done some...
Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight away that the main character Pete has done something regretful and wrong, which adds just a hint of mystery to the book. As the story unfolds I was pulled full force in to the lives and struggles of this suburban NJ family. The central theme of the book dealt with parent child trust and to what extent a father should be involved in life choices of his young adult son and at what point he needed to let go. As the story progressed Grodstein nicely played out the sacrifices a father is willing to make for his son with the main focus on the emotions, which drove Pete to make some rather poor choices. He fiercely loved his son and had a deep desire to want what's best for him. As you can imagine, the rollercoaster of emotions ranged from heartwarming to heart wrenching and my sympathies followed a similar curve as I am not sure I wouldn't have acted similarly. As the title suggests, the book also dealt with friendship on several different levels. Grodstein tested the limits of trust and loyalty in friendship and marriage. In summary this is a story of love, friendship and family dynamics, with unforgettable multidimensional characters, written in an engrossing style that takes hold of you and keeps you turning pages. Book clubs will find it sparks lively discussion as it deals with some typical but touchy family issues.

posted by princetonbookreview on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely u

I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely unlikable and pompous. The author or narrator seemed to relish in only giving you partial facts as if holding back information would make the story more interesting . It did not work. The time frame kept j...
I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely unlikable and pompous. The author or narrator seemed to relish in only giving you partial facts as if holding back information would make the story more interesting . It did not work. The time frame kept jumping around. Something there were even flashbacks within flashbacks. I had to keep jumping back to figure out when he was in his story. I was hoping the end would make it worth the read, but the end was just poor. It really just ended, no character development, no one got what they deserved. Waste of time.

posted by bookworm919 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great story!

    Usually I can figure out where a story is going; however, this one kept surprising me. It was quick and good!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters. Pulls you in emotionally

    Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight away that the main character Pete has done something regretful and wrong, which adds just a hint of mystery to the book. As the story unfolds I was pulled full force in to the lives and struggles of this suburban NJ family. The central theme of the book dealt with parent child trust and to what extent a father should be involved in life choices of his young adult son and at what point he needed to let go. As the story progressed Grodstein nicely played out the sacrifices a father is willing to make for his son with the main focus on the emotions, which drove Pete to make some rather poor choices. He fiercely loved his son and had a deep desire to want what's best for him. As you can imagine, the rollercoaster of emotions ranged from heartwarming to heart wrenching and my sympathies followed a similar curve as I am not sure I wouldn't have acted similarly. As the title suggests, the book also dealt with friendship on several different levels. Grodstein tested the limits of trust and loyalty in friendship and marriage. In summary this is a story of love, friendship and family dynamics, with unforgettable multidimensional characters, written in an engrossing style that takes hold of you and keeps you turning pages. Book clubs will find it sparks lively discussion as it deals with some typical but touchy family issues.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Excellent Read

    I read this book in a weekend. It is very well written, the characters credible and well developed. Highly recommended

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely u

    I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely unlikable and pompous. The author or narrator seemed to relish in only giving you partial facts as if holding back information would make the story more interesting . It did not work. The time frame kept jumping around. Something there were even flashbacks within flashbacks. I had to keep jumping back to figure out when he was in his story. I was hoping the end would make it worth the read, but the end was just poor. It really just ended, no character development, no one got what they deserved. Waste of time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, quick, easy story to read.

    I found this story easy and entertaining to read. The resolutions are at the very end of the story and everything happens somewhat abruptly. I liked the 1st person narrative. I would recommend this book. Interestingly, I read this on my wife's kindle. I have a nook but this book is not available for it. What's up with that?!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    I had a hard time getting into this book

    I don't think this is a bad book but I had a really hard time getting into it and eventually gave up. I think it will appeal to some people - after all all books are subject to personal opinion. I just didn't much care for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A good read, kept my interest

    I enjoyed the book but found the main character very annoying after awhile. I do like the author's writing style, reminds me of Jodi Picoult.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This book is good, but it could have been better. The author do

    This book is good, but it could have been better. The author does a good job of developing characters and the plot is interesting. The book is well written. I agree with another reviewer that the jumping around in time can be a bit confusing. The book moves quickly and there is a good amount of suspense until the end. The characters and plot felt very real to me. It's worth a read. I think this author has the potential to get better, maybe even a lot better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Most disappointing

    Very verbose......exceedingly boring with excessive description....constant timeline fluxuations....not recommended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    slightly below fair

    slightly below fair

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Very confusing

    The timeline is super hard to follow. The story is underdeveloped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    CONFUSING TIMELINES

    I found the timelines moving from one period to another made this a book I did not enjoy enough to finish. Have really tried to finish the book, but finally just gave up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read this book in two days. It was Ok...I found myself getting l

    Read this book in two days. It was Ok...I found myself getting lost in the swapping of time periods here and there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Well written

    Well written, great character development, they are believable and you can relate to them. Page turner for me, couldn't wait to find out how it would end. I thinkit would make for a good movie. 240 pgs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Thought provoking

    A somewhat humorous look into the mind of a overly protective parent of a now young adult. We all struggle with when to loosen the apron strings and this story throws in some of the "we are better than you " attitude to boot.
    I felt embaressment for the son , compassion for the girl and yet could not help but see myself in the father even though he made me angry with his judgments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    A friend of the family

    Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No thanks

    I was excited this was from a first person male perspective. But it is unfortunate that I found myself disliking most of the characters. Very little happens untul the end of the book and the resolutions feel rushed. I had no attachment to their fate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    This was an excellent book.  I don't understand how some readers

    This was an excellent book.  I don't understand how some readers thought it was boring.  I couldn't put it down.  While it's true that the 
    story jumped around in different time periods and was sometimes confusing,  it reminded me of how conversations naturally evolve
     in that way.  I felt a real connection to the struggles of these families. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Great book

    This book kept me guessing until the end! I really dislike the main character! Easy to get into and associate with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Interesting story

    An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5