Customer Reviews for

A Friend of the Family

Average Rating 3.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great characters. Pulls you in emotionally

Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight away that the main character Pete has done some...
Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight away that the main character Pete has done something regretful and wrong, which adds just a hint of mystery to the book. As the story unfolds I was pulled full force in to the lives and struggles of this suburban NJ family. The central theme of the book dealt with parent child trust and to what extent a father should be involved in life choices of his young adult son and at what point he needed to let go. As the story progressed Grodstein nicely played out the sacrifices a father is willing to make for his son with the main focus on the emotions, which drove Pete to make some rather poor choices. He fiercely loved his son and had a deep desire to want what's best for him. As you can imagine, the rollercoaster of emotions ranged from heartwarming to heart wrenching and my sympathies followed a similar curve as I am not sure I wouldn't have acted similarly. As the title suggests, the book also dealt with friendship on several different levels. Grodstein tested the limits of trust and loyalty in friendship and marriage. In summary this is a story of love, friendship and family dynamics, with unforgettable multidimensional characters, written in an engrossing style that takes hold of you and keeps you turning pages. Book clubs will find it sparks lively discussion as it deals with some typical but touchy family issues.

posted by princetonbookreview on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely u

I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely unlikable and pompous. The author or narrator seemed to relish in only giving you partial facts as if holding back information would make the story more interesting . It did not work. The time frame kept j...
I did not enjoy this book at all. The narrator was completely unlikable and pompous. The author or narrator seemed to relish in only giving you partial facts as if holding back information would make the story more interesting . It did not work. The time frame kept jumping around. Something there were even flashbacks within flashbacks. I had to keep jumping back to figure out when he was in his story. I was hoping the end would make it worth the read, but the end was just poor. It really just ended, no character development, no one got what they deserved. Waste of time.

posted by bookworm919 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    REALLY ENJOYED IT

    Very good story, kept me interested all the way through :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    LOVED IT . . . will read again

    I really enjoyed "The Family" . . . as could have so easily been my family.
    It's a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Excellent

    I don't umderstand anyone saying this book is boring. I couldnt put it down. As for jumping around, yes, some but that is in keeping with the story. The plots i often read reviews and have learned to take them with a huge grain of salt. This was an excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Silverstrike (Silver here)

    Silverstrike padded in casually. She suddenly hissed and lunged at Shadestar, clawing at his ears and biting at the back of his neck. ~•~•~•~•~•~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    HUNTER TO SHADESTAR

    YOU ASS! YOU IMPOSTERED ME AND TRIED MAKING MY CATS LEAVE ME AND COME HERE! I'M GOING TO DESTROY YOU!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Shadestar

    Hi welcome to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    A must read!!!

    Great book enjoyed the flow of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A waste of time

    The title fooled me. I also did not know a "Lauren' as a male name.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great read!

    This is my first time reading this author and I couldn't put it down! Great story a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I liked it very much.

    Good book about a flawed person as are we all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    So-so

    I started out really liking this book. The characters were presented well and I became engrossed in the author's writing style. As the book went on I felt the main character's controlling behavior in regards to his adult son was unrealistic. Perhaps these are exclusively wealthy-people problems? Also, if you like a book where everything gets "resolved" at the end, don't start this one. There was no real "ending", neither good nor bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Jadasolovely18

    This book is so good and so amazing and this author has great talent:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Hummmm

    So im looking at this book and the reviews wondering if i should pay money for it.well slot of them say it was a waste of money??...? Danm i hate that:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is not a five rated book. The writing style was ok. I guess it was the way the sequence of events was presented in the book. Their was some drama but I felt it.was downplayed. Their was too much conversation going on in between. The main characters of Pete and April, their marriage seemed bland, lacking emotion, they seemed more like room mates rather than husband and wife. I like a bit more bang in my stories than the one this had to offer. All in all this writer seemed to try to offer a good read and I have to give credit where it is due. I recommend buying this book, do not pass it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Great story, page turner. I did not have trouble keeping track

    Great story, page turner. I did not have trouble keeping track of the storyline with the flashbacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great read

    Finished this book in a day, great ending. Impressive writing great story. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No go

    Not what i expected at all. The story was drawn out. The enfing left you hanging. Sorry not a fan of this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    I liked this book immediately

    It was well written with great contemporary issues, and thoroughly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Friend

    It's hard what to make of this story, on its surface a sad and compelling tale. Yet the author seems so smug with her writing, holding back facts from the reader until the very end. Facts which would help the reader understand what is going on. I guess we weren't as entitled to know as much as the author felt it would enhance her writing not to tell us. But I like to be treated as an equal when I devote several hours to a novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Damn....that was a great book!!!

    I gave this book 5 stars. It was so hard to put it down. You get pulled into the story and you just wanna know how it ends for this man and his family and his life. This book was great. Bravo to this author!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5