BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Friends Like Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

This was a good book but I felt like it left you hanging. I thought there was more story to tell. Maybe there will be a sequel. I liked it.

posted by cindijan on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Author got bored...

I think Lauren Fox got bored with her own story and couldn't bother with trying to be witty any longer and just walked away. She came up with some line to end it even though there clearly could have been another chapter.

It was cute but unfinished and that's just ob...
I think Lauren Fox got bored with her own story and couldn't bother with trying to be witty any longer and just walked away. She came up with some line to end it even though there clearly could have been another chapter.

It was cute but unfinished and that's just obnoxious.

I hope she comes up with a sequel that explains what happens to them and sends it to us for free to make up being lazy with this one. If she doesn't, I will.

posted by j-nic on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Author got bored...

    I think Lauren Fox got bored with her own story and couldn't bother with trying to be witty any longer and just walked away. She came up with some line to end it even though there clearly could have been another chapter.

    It was cute but unfinished and that's just obnoxious.

    I hope she comes up with a sequel that explains what happens to them and sends it to us for free to make up being lazy with this one. If she doesn't, I will.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    Good Book

    This was a good book but I felt like it left you hanging. I thought there was more story to tell. Maybe there will be a sequel. I liked it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!

    Kept me laughing (and apologizing for doing so outloud) the entire time. Really enjoyed all the hysterical commentary and kept me guessing until the very end. Buy it. Love it. Reread it. Promise.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it

    Really witty writing, funny, kept me wanting more. I couldn't put this book down. I'm buying Lauren Fox's first novel next. I laughed at the little inside jokes from the characters, but it is also a tearjerker. A must-read. Loved it! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    This book is AMAZING!!

    This was my favorite book ever and i cant wait for more like it!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    It passed time

    It was a fast and easy read. Not a bad way to pass time.

    I recommend it if you are looking for something to read on the go and not necessarily looking for something to sit down and really sink your teeth into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Too detailed, disjointed story line

    It is very difficult to read this book because it is too detailed. It's like the author was so interested in all the tiny details she could cram into every sentence that she lost the plot. I don't need to read about bits of lettuce stuck in teeth or how sweaty and pimply everyone is. That is just unpleasant. I got bored halfway through the book and gave up. It's too bad because the beginning was very promising. The book needed a ton of editing that it did not get.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great book

    This book is very well written and witty. It's one of those books that you don't want to end. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Yaaaaawwwwwwnnnnnnnn............

    Not my typical style of book at all. Trying to expand my library & this was this month's choice for our book club. I have to say that i didnt enjoy this one at all honestly. Its never taken me this long to read a book EVER (3 weeks). It was totally boring to me, had a confusing beginning & worse ending. Definitely not comparable to a James Patterson best seller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Omg

    I love this book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    The language is phenomenal, the characters are very well-develop

    The language is phenomenal, the characters are very well-developed, and it's a very insightful novel, though bittersweet. Friends Like Us had three main messages that touched my heart: friendships are precious and fragile, relationships are fleeting, and everyday decisions can impact ones life. Prepare to have your heart ripped out of your chest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Bianca and Sarah

    Bianca--Why do you need us vamps its so early in rp its 9:00 AM in rl here its 8:46 PM. Sarah--Um okay, slaughter queen. Helping others rocks. Bianca--Oh please. You have as much rock and cool in you as a barf bag. Remember that time with the ba- Sarah--Dont! That blood felt so good three hours before the bumpy plane ride. *swallows hard* O negative? If I didnt know that was coming, the floor would be hideous and the taste in my mouth...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    This is a very deeply felt novel, far from the typical love tria

    This is a very deeply felt novel, far from the typical love triangle story where a perfect girl is in love with her evil friend’s perfect boyfriend. Fox achieves a very delicate balance in which each of her characters is well drawn and sympathetic, though none without fault. I especially appreciated that the friendships between the characters were at least as important, if not more so, than the romantic element. I thoroughly enjoyed Friends Like Us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Easy Summer Read

    I am a teacher and don't often find time to read for fun except in the summer. And when I get the time and choose a book I want it to be something that will take me away from my current life. This book does that and it is a very quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Just okay...

    I purchased this book because of all the great reviews and while it wasn't bad, it definitely wasn't great. If I could give this 3 1/2 stars, I would. The characters were well developed and the plot was pretty good but I didn't care for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Kate

    Hey emma.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Avalon

    Hola...

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Madde

    Heyyy guys how u all doing

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Andy to cali

    Wht will be ur name

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Max

    Yeah what pain dude

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3