Customer Reviews for

Friends and Lovers

Average Rating 5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BOMB!!!

    I loved this book so much, i think i've read it about six times already. He did an awsome job writing this. You fall in love with all the main characters and hope to have friendhips and relationships like that when you get older. The book takes you from heartbreak to laughter to happiness to sadness and back to happiness, i just loved it. Everybody should read this book SERIOUSLY!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    ANOTHER PAGE TURNER!!!

    Eric Jerome Dickey truly wrote another masterpiece with this book. This book made you experience EVERY emotion possible. Once again I could not put the book down! I even read Chapter 12 twice (smile)! This was better then the first book. Looks like I am hooked on EJD now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Best book ever!!!

    Loved it from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    great book !

    great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    ...This book is so good. The author does a great job introducing the characters in this book, you fall in love with them and their individual stories. Definitely a page turner, i was so caught up in ths book im so tempted to tell you about it but you need to see for yourself.....makes you laugh, cry and a whole lot more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Book

    great book and easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    best author

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What do I say?!?!

    I loved every second of this book. I love EJD and everything he writes! This book actually had me laugh and cry aloud. I mean really...I really cried. Very touching story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    love eric

    really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Great Read!!!

    This book was outstanding I didnt stop reading until I was done. Leonard and Debra' s story was really sweet but Shelby and Tyrel was more realistic in my opinion. Tyrel is my favorite character, loved his 'encounters' with Richard hilarious especially chapter 33. The whole book was just great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed read this book. This was the first ever EJD book I've read and I must say that I am ashamed and will definitely read more! This book was so realistic and true. I could relate to Shelby in so many ways. I would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    You have to read this book!

    This is by far Eric Jerome Dickey's best book. It is brilliantly written. The plot was far more believable and realistic than his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    This Book has become my favorite.

    ERIC HAS DONE IT AGAIN BUT EVEN BETTER!!! I thought I give my first line a bold shout because that¿s how I feel about the book. In Los Angeles, Tyrel (a computer executive) and his best friend Leonard (a stand-up comedian) meet two women, Debra (a nurse) and Shelby (a flight attendant). Tyrel with Shelby, and Leonard with Debra immediately hit it off and love flourishes between the two couples. Soon, Leonard and Debra begin to discuss marriage however a misunderstanding breaks up the other pair. While Leonard and Debra happily marry, Tyrel flees to San Francisco and Shelby runs off to San Diego. In spite the fact that they love each other, it appears that Tyrel and Shelby have no future together. I admire these people in all kinds of ways. Tyrel is one hot suave man that you need to know about and when Shelby got into his life it was like a rollar coster ride that you couldn't get enough of. But in between the life¿s of Tyrel and Shelby there this one character by the name Raymond which you would grow to find so pathic and get under your skin at times. I have truly admired the relationship between Leonardo and Debra. Their a type of couple that you wish you were in. At the end or shall I say towards the end there has been an unbelievable twist which you wouldn't even imagine or at least expected. FRIENDS AND LOVERS is a great relationship drama that highlights couples scene in Southern California. Eric Jerome Dickey shows, in his second novel, that he is a writer on the way to the top of the profession, with a book that not only transcends genre but defines it. This book is truly a go getter, for those who don't have it please grab a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    cherish what u have at the moment

    good book... not the best ejd book i've read, but still a page turner... i gathered two things from this book, cherish what u have if it means something to u in that current moment... u never know when their time will come... and never use anyone for personal gain, it always comes back to bite u in the butt...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    Beautifully Written

    OMG this was a good book. I love EJD and this book showed me why. It was sad but it was good. I'm very happy with the ending of the story!!! Some parts seemed a little dragged out but overall it was fabulous!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    EXCELLENT

    This is book is GREAT, trust me once you pick it up you want be able to put it down untill your done. EJD has a way of making you feel very connected to his characters. He definitely has a way with his words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    It took me about three or four times to read the book b/c i would read the first two pages and put ir down but once i started to read more it turned out to be a outstanding book so to everyone read it it's worth every page!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    3rd book I read from him

    I love the way he makes his characters come to life and spring from the pages. The relationships b/w the friends were amazing. The love that bloomed b/w them was something beautiful. I would love to see this play. I laughed and cried. this is a good book. I am now reading 'The Other Woman'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    honey yes

    this book is the real deal it tells all the things about life (well alomst) but is made for us real black floks .i like it because it stays real!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    This Should Be a Movie

    Friends and Lovers is my favorite book by Eric Jerome Dickey so far. I could NOT put it down! I was hooked from the very beginning. I HIGHLY recommend this book. Trust me, you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6