Customer Reviews for

Friendship Bread: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    It was such a good read that it didn't take me long to get throu

    It was such a good read that it didn't take me long to get through the whole book. You go through all the emotions of the characters and experience what they are going through.I laughed and cried many times and feel that this would be a great book to share with others. It showed me that no matter that there is a way to find forgiveness,in the strangest places.

    There are also recipes included in the book for making the starter bread and also more that sound so good to me. I can't wait to try the recipes~the only problem is getting past the 10 day wait time...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Sweet & Filling

    I was fortunate enough to have this book sent to me as an Advance Readers Edition. The problem with receiving a book this way is you don't choose the book. I have to be honest I assumed it wouldn't be very good, otherwise why would they send it to me for free? I am happy to say I was wrong.

    This story was so much more than I expected. I expected a light piece of sweetness, instead it had substance. I am a fast and frequently impatient reader and the first few chapters had me a littl...moreI was fortunate enough to have this book sent to me as an Advance Readers Edition. The problem with receiving a book this way is you don't choose the book. I have to be honest I assumed it wouldn't be very good, otherwise why would they send it to me for free? I am happy to say I was wrong.

    This story was so much more than I expected. I expected a light piece of sweetness, instead it had substance. I am a fast and frequently impatient reader and the first few chapters had me a little nervous. I think it took me until the end of the fourth chapter before I realized I was hooked.

    The author keeps introducing new characters throughout the book and I worried that it was turning into a genealogy text but I rolled with it,and with no effort at all she tied them all together. For me this was a story about friendship, and heartbreak, and forgiveness, with a dash of humor and some lessons folded in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Friendship Bread is uplifting, it’s spiritual and it has a

    Friendship Bread is uplifting, it’s spiritual and it has a way of changing the way you view the world and people around you. I will tell you that the first couple of chapters were a little hard to follow. There are many characters and if you’re like me … you’ll have a hard time placing circumstances with the people. But I got the hang of it, and you will too.

    The life stories and characters in the book are touching. My emotions changed with each character. The way the writer, Darien Green, describes the story, had me laughing and/or crying. Friendship Bread is sweet and heartwarming and it’s definitely one you’ll want to keep tissues handy while reading. But it was worth it. Finding commonality among backgrounds and generations and heritages shows just why people need one another to lean on.

    If you love reading about food and also enjoy a heartwarming story, this is definitely the perfect novel to pick up. Admittedly, the premise is a bit silly, but you’ll soon find that it doesn’t matter because the book is so easy to become involved in. It’s a quick read, but one well worth putting your time into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    "Friendship Bread" is a heartwarming, wonderful story

    "Friendship Bread" is a heartwarming, wonderful story of a woman on a journey. It's amazing to see how a small town comes together and I really felt as if I knew all the characters. The story is well written, the characters are still close to my heart. I LOVE to read a story where I can put myself in it. I LOVED that there was a recipe included so I can make my own Friendship Bread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading Friendship Bread by by Darien Gee. The

    I really enjoyed reading Friendship Bread by by Darien Gee. The book starts with the story of Julia and her 5 year old daughter. As the book starts you learn that she has suffered a tragedy which resulted in an estrangement from her sister. Through the course of the book you learn a little more about her story and how it has affected her, her husband, daughter, sister, and parents as well as others in town. When she is surprised with starter for Amish Friendship Bread she is ready to throw it out when her daughter becomes obsessed with it. Amish Friendship Bread requires you to care for the starter for 10 days before splitting it into 4 batches of new starter and one to bake. Through the baking of the bread, and being forced to share the starter, she eventually learns to deal with her grief and begin to move past it. Part of her emergence from grief is the friendship she develops with Hannah and Madeline. Hannah and Madeline also have their own sorrows. Hannah is struggling at the early stages of separation/divorce and a career ending injury. I felt Madeline's story was less defined, but she has had her own tragedy. A widow with an estranged step-son, she owns a struggling tea shop in town. Through Friendship Bread, all three main characters are able to move past their personal tragedies and become comfortable with their new realities. The secondary characters have their own issues - Julia's sister Livvy who struggles financially and with guilt, her friend Evie, a career minded reporter who is struggling with life in a small town instead of a high-powered career, and more. The Friendship Bread ends up helping them as well.

    Despite the past struggles of many of the characters, the story is about them overcoming their struggles. It is definitely an uplifting, inspirational book, but was not heavy handed. As I read the prologue, I was a little concerned that it would be like some "Christian fiction" books that I have read. While I am a practicing Catholic, I find many of the Christian Fiction books to be very heavy handed and drone on about a relationship with God. This book completely proved me wrong. As a matter of fact, I don't think God is even mentioned other than in the prologue.

    The one thing I did not care for in the book was the little snippets between chapters of stories of others in town and how they received their starter. I loved how it showed how interconnected everyone in town was, but felt that they were just new characters who were introduced and then not heard from again. I would have liked to see them play a role again later in the story.

    Overall, I definitely recommend this book. It is definitely a female-centric book, so I would recommend it mostly to women.

    Note: I was provided a complimentary copy of the book to review. I typically read on an eReader or on my iPhone, and reading an actual book cemented my preference for the e-reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    If you're looking for a great read, add Amish Friendship Bread t

    If you're looking for a great read, add Amish Friendship Bread to your summer list. From the title of the book, it reminded me of my days years ago when I was given the chain of making bread. Odd, at first but it brought a connection with women that I didnt' know baking bread could do. That's exactly how the story is.
    This is a wonderfully written story of 3 women, each dealing with their own personal dramas but somehow connect to each other by this bread. While reading the story, I empathized with everyone of them. Its the chance meeting at Madeline's tea salon in this small town Avalon, that the become friends but also an anchor for each other. They pull each other up from their dismay & bond in a way that is unique and quite refreshing.
    I really enjoyed reading this book. I look forward to sharing it with my co-workers who have already asked to borrow it. I guess the book will be my own "Friendship Bread"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    This is the kind of book that you CAN put down, but you find you

    This is the kind of book that you CAN put down, but you find yourself looking for it again after you do. It has a pretty dark underlying emotion to it, but still is a quick read and quite enjoyable. I found myself very inspired to make my own friendship bread, and could practically smell it baking during some of the passages. I didn't LOVE the book, but I did like it a lot, and passed it on to a friend to read. That's the point, isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    I was ready for a good book and was not disappointed! The Friend

    I was ready for a good book and was not disappointed! The Friendship Bread is such a heart warming story about loss, pain, and most importantly friendship. I now want to live in the small town of Avalon and find myself two best friends that I can grow and share with. I had a smile on my face as I enjoyed reading about the characters and how baking turned them around. Now I think I'm going to go begin a starter and see who I can cheer up. Can't wait to taste the yummy bread!

    *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this product mentioned above for free in the hope that I would write a review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    A very "Sweet" read

    I enjoyed this book so much, I had to buy a copy for my Mom! Not only did I enjoy the story itself, but the addition of the recipes and tips made it especially great.

    I would recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a good real-life story, especially if they also enjoy baking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Scourge to fawnstar

    Come meet me at dracula

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a powerful novel.

    I don't read a lot of women's fiction because it's emotional. It tears at your heart - especially when you see marriages falling apart, parents who can't recover from the loss of their child, people who can't move past their regrets - and I detest crying. But not only did I read this book - and cry - but I fell in love with the characters. I enjoyed their accomplishments. I cried for their losses. I laughed at their mistakes. Now, weeks after finishing the book... I miss the friends I made while reading.

    I know there is much speculation about where Amish Friendship Bread got it's name but to me it's never been in question. It's not an Amish recipe - It's about Amish Friendship. Living in Amish Country I've always watched and admired how the Amish come together to share their delights, their messes, their work. They are first and foremost friends - family. It's an amazing thing to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    highly recommended to pass on to family and friends.

    I loved the story, a bit sad but I loved the way Darien told the story of how a town came together because of a loaf of friendship bread. I read the book, bought two additional copies and gave them to my daughter in laws along with the Amish starter. So far we made two recipes from the fbrecipe site and have passed it on to other friends. It is just a fun way to share a story and a great dessert. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Friendship served up warm!

    I love making Amish Friendship Bread so I was intrigued when I saw this book. A whole book about Amish Friendship Bread? What kind of story could be stirred up with Amish Friendship Bread? Darien Gee does a wonderful job creating this wonderfully warm story about friends and the lives they touch. I was sucked in from the beginning and couldn't put it down. I loved how real the characters were and how much I cared about them and just when you thought you knew where the story was going-it turned. I will be reading this book again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Very enjoyable - you must check it out!

    I enjoyed this book so very much. It is the kind you don't ever want to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    recommended

    I enjoyed the book. It was a nice fast read and very entertaining. Now I want to make the starter recipe and try all the new recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Sucked me in

    Early on in Friendship Bread I wasn't really sure about it. For one thing, there are a great many characters. In addition to Julia, Mark, Madeline, and Hannah, Julia's sister Livvie and her friend, a reporter named Edie are also main characters. Besides all of these people who have significant story, there are alternating chapters with other members of the community once the bread begins to circulate. In addition, it is a little more uplifting than I typically like. I know that sounds ridiculous, but it was obviously uplifting from the beginning, more so than I typically read.

    Except then, Friendship Bread completely sucked me in. 100%. The past tragedies of the citizens of Avalon tugged at my heart-strings, and then when things got really uplifting, it was enough to bring tears to my eyes. Darien Gee created something pretty fantastic here to move me so much with something that initially seemed somewhat lighter than I typically prefer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Recommend - good read!

    This book was a very good read for me and I really enjoyed the fact that the author included so many yummy recipes in her book. I have heard of Amish Friendship Bread before but have never tried it. Now after reading this book it has inspired me to try it and give out some starters myself. Who knows, maybe the city I live in my become like Avalon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Makes me want to start baking!

    Borrowed this from the library and LOVED it. Good thing the starter recipe was included because I need to get started baking!! Darien Gee did an awesome job of introducing us to many characters who already feel like friends and makes Avalon sound like a town I would be willing to move into!
    Nice tie in with the prologue and epilogue. About half way through the book, I was wondering how it had anything to do with the story. Love how you had the bread come full circle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Enjoyable read; Book group selection for light reading

    This is a book that illustrates the healing power of female friendship. I was drawn to the stories of the women in the book who learned to lean on each other in times of sadness, celebrate in times of joy, and band together in times of crisis. I was especially drawn to the character who was shunned by her sister and who learned to stand on her own as a result. At times the story was predictable, but then I'm not sure I would have wanted it any other way. I was really cheering for these women as they rallied from personal hurtful life experiences, and I wouldn't have wanted anything awful to happen to any of them. I am hoping there will be a sequel so I can check back in with my new friends! By the way, back in the 1980's I regularly made Friendship Bread, but I didn't know about the variations on the recipe until now. Maybe I would have continued to bake it had I known? But then again, maybe not. It was awfully hard to resist the temptation to overeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Friendship Bread is a book to share!

    Just like friendship bread itself, this book is a perfect gift for a special friend. Darien Green has a beautiful writing style that is sure to reel you in. If you're looking for the perfect book to read this summer, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2