Customer Reviews for

Friendship Cake (Hope Springs Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wanna chat?

Search "cake" then find hailee luvs ya! In the results we can b nook friends

posted by 17366519 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wanting More

I love books about deep relationships between people, particularly women. I generally search them out, and even when I am not totally enthralled with the book, it generally serves its purpose in showing the importance of the relationships to each party. I didn't get t...
I love books about deep relationships between people, particularly women. I generally search them out, and even when I am not totally enthralled with the book, it generally serves its purpose in showing the importance of the relationships to each party. I didn't get that feeling with this book. In fact, I felt these characters were more acquaintances and I could easily see them just passing in the night. I may have set up the disappointment for myself because the book I had just finished when I picked this one up had been so good, I couldnt get enough reviews up on the various review sites, but overall, I found this book not much deeper than a romance novel. Below is the book I had finished before I started this one and if you read it, I think you will quickly see how a book about friendship should be written.

posted by javagrma on August 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Good easy read.

    one of the best books l have read. Enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Friendship Cake Offers Perfect Reading Recipe

    Lynne Hinton gifts us with an endearing story of how bonds formed between a small, very diverse group of women in church community both surprised and strengthened them. Her characters prove that faith, hope and friendship- and good cookin'!- can help us survive some of life's worse storms. Loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Leaders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Hi

    Will someone chat with me?iam amber anderson

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    Excellent Reading, Great Recipes

    Not only is this book an easy, touching and enjoyable read, the recipes are for truly terrific comfort food. I cooked both the Chicken Pie and Friendship Cake yesterday to rave reviews. I will be giving the book and the cake to many women friends this holiday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    A GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!

    I read this book within a few hours, I could not put it down. It tells of feelings and emotions that are in all of us. I am anxious to read Lynne Hinton's next book. Friendship Cake is a book that will stay with you long after being read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    Truly a book about God's gifts

    I looked at the women in this book and each of them brought to my mind a special friendship I share with someone close to me. I only hope my dedication to my own friends and to God is as admirable and amazing as what Bea, Louise, Roxy, Margaret, Jessie and Charlotte share. I sent copies to each of the women I thought of as I read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    What a pleasant read!

    I wish I could give this book more than 5-stars, because it is the first one I have read this summer that I truly enjoyed, cover to cover. It was a delightful character study of five women and their relationships. I truly enjoyed this book and have been recommending it to all of my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    Fabulous

    I loved this book so much I read it cover to cover the same day I received it. The characters were interesting and the plot revolving around the creation of a church cookbook is one anyone who loves these cookbooks (as I do) will enjoy. We all probably have at least one of these cookbooks in our kitchen and never gave much thought to the lives of the women who work hard to put it together. As for the publisher notes about the conflicts being resolved too easily by only love, what else is there to soothe our hurts? Fabulous book you won't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Delightful!

    This was one of the most charming novels I've read in years. Hinton manages to write a warm, touching novel without falling into melodrama or cloying conclusions. Her use of recipes is not at all gimmicky; they accurately reflect their owners' true natures, and further serve to bind the unifying 'cookbook' plot together. I grew to love these characters and their lives; so much so that I long for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Great reading.

    <P>In the style of Patricia Gaffney's Saving Graces, Friendship Cake is a real-life novel whose focus is women, the lives they live and the problems they face. <P>Friendship Cake takes 5 disparate church women and throws them together in the course of putting together a church cookbook. But, it's more than recipes that get tested. Friendship, love and trust are put to the test over and over as the ladies learn to accept the others --- and themselves --- for who they are. <P>I didn't know what to expect from this novel, which is written by a pastor in North Carolina and I have to say that I do hope Pastor Hinton has more stories like this tucked away, just waiting to be written. Quite a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1