Customer Reviews for

Friendship on Fire (Love in Bloom: The Bradens #3) Contemporary Romance

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Natasha Jackson for Readers' Favorite Riley Banks h

    Reviewed by Natasha Jackson for Readers' Favorite

    Riley Banks has finally gotten her big break and it comes thanks to her long-time crush and fashion designer extraordinaire Josh Braden. Fresh off the plane in the fashion capital, Riley is equal parts excited and nervous about flexing her design muscle for big city fashionistas and Josh. In Friendship on Fire, Riley and Josh have succumbed to the feelings that have consumed them since childhood, but there are obstacles in the form of a scheming co-worker and the professional relationship between Josh and Riley. I love how Melissa Foster captures the real struggle Riley has between shouting her feelings from the tallest skyscraper in New York and being seen as the cliché girl sleeping with the boss. It is a real issue and she handled it beautifully.

    Friendship on Fire is a great story that follows two secretly in love people, Riley and Josh, who have their own reasons for never acting on their attraction. A chance meeting changes Riley’s personal and professional life forever. This story has just the right amount of drama and second-guessing to make it enjoyable. Sure, Claudia is awful, but she is believably awful instead of a cartoon villain. She is just as one would expect an overly ambitious woman in the fashion industry to be; perfectly beautiful and easy to hate. Melissa Foster creates wonderfully loving and witty scenes between Josh and Riley, as well as Josh and the Braden clan that had a big goofy grin on my face for most of this story. It was nice to see the story of Riley and Josh unfold and to spend a few more hours with the Bradens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Recommended read

    Hometown girl gets her crush in the big city. Nice, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    It took a couple of books for me to warm up to Melissa Foster's

    It took a couple of books for me to warm up to Melissa Foster's Love in Bloom series. This is probably
     because I started with the second book. FRIENDSHIP ON FIRE is the sixth book, and the third one of
     the sub-series, The Bradens. Riley Banks is a young designer who never thought she'd get her big
    break until childhood friend Josh Braden, now a hot New York fashion designer, sees her portfolio and
    invites her to join his firm. There's a long-standing (though unacknowledged) attracted between the two,
     but Riley is determined to set aside her personal interest in Josh and focus on building her career,
    which won't be easy with a conniving mentor who is out to undercut her at every turn. Despite Riley's
    best intentions, she and Josh do begin a relationship, but the course of true love isn't easy when the
    paparazzi dog your every move and then you're accused of stealing another designer's work.

    The book starts out wonderfully. Riley is funny and vulnerable. Her feelings of dislocation and anxiety
    about leaving her small Colorado town for the big city is a strong contrast to Josh's position as a New
    York insider struggling to hold onto his simple roots. Josh yearns for authenticity in his life--especially
     in his personal relationships--but his environment promotes the exact opposite. Yet, he's too dedicated
    to his career to leave behind the bright lights and shallow people. Josh and Riley find each other and
     the result is plenty of steam and excitement...for the first third of the book. It's at this point that the
    internal stuff--angst, second-guessing--begins to weigh down the story. Josh and Riley have so many
     heart-to-hearts that the pacing suffers, and the reader is left waiting for "something" to happen. Luckily,
     plenty does happen. The final third of the book rages ahead with Riley floored by accusations that, if not
     countered, will kill her career before it starts, and Josh frantic to prove her innocence.

    I love that Josh is given some serious weaknesses--and is aware of them. He struggles to accept that
     loving Riley may hurt a business he's worked years to build and he's not always sure it will be worth it.
    Riley is also a vivid, spirited character. Not the sort of person to stay down long--or beg for a man to love
    her. The villain is another great character. Claudia is cold, clever and manipulative. Foster makes her a
    true and unique threat rather than simply a plotting device.

    So, while FRIENDSHIP ON FIRE isn't my favorite book in Melissa Foster's contemporary romance
     series, there's a lot to appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    I received a complimentary copy as a member of beck Valley Book

    I received a complimentary copy as a member of beck Valley Book Tours. All opinions are my own. 

    Ok. I have enjoyed this series so far but I have to admit that Friendship On Fire isn't one of my favorites. I just couldn't get into Josh and Riley. Josh seems a little prissy and methodical in his life and I really didn't like him too much for the duration of the story. At least not compared to the other Braden's. He did have some redeeming qualities and I began to fall in love by the end. But for the majority of the story, I wasn't a Josh Braden fan at all.

    We met Riley in Destined For Love and she seemed somewhat hardcore and really brash. But here, she seemed like she had no self-esteem at all and not very confident.  This was the complete opposite of what we saw from her when she was offering her friend, Jade, advice. I know that Josh is a Braden and there is more to him than his fashion design business, but they just didn't match to me. I wanted to badly to root for them as a couple. But I just can't picture them together in any way.

    The overall plot was good. I love that we had a villain who went after Riley. And I love that she had to dig deep to prove her innocence and find that confidence in herself but it still seemed out of place to me compared to the Riley I'd already met. There were parts of the story that were really good. But the back and forth of trust between Josh and Riley seemed a bit odd considering the immediate feelings they had for each other and that fact that they did know each other some from their childhood.

    Now, I'm not saying that you won't like this part of the series. It just wasn't my, personal, cup of tea. I think if I'd read this as a stand alone book, I may have liked it more. Either way, if you've been following along with the series or if you're new to the stories of the Bradens, I do still recommend picking up a copy and checking it out for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Riley's dream is coming true. She is in Manhattan working in fas

    Riley's dream is coming true. She is in Manhattan working in fashion and working for her childhood crush Josh Braden. He gives her her big break and now she worries if they get together how others will view her. Josh is used to beautiful woman being around him but there is something special about Riley. She is the girl he knows could be the one. While things heat up between them a coworker accuses Riley of stealing designs. Josh has to decide if he can trust her and Riley has to see if she can deal with a scandal rocking the fashion world.




    Riley is a very talented woman who at times worries she is to small town for the fashion world. She has always had a crush on Josh and now knows she feels more. She doesn't want to be known for sleeping her way to the top. She has a lot of pride. Josh is a quite guy about his love life but he doesn't want to hide Riley. When he makes his mind up about something he goes right for it. He does at times lets his trust slip. He is also a guy who hates to disappoint anyone.




    As you may know by now this is one of my favorite series. I love The Snow sisters and the Braden men. I will admit Josh isn't my favorite brother but he is still a sweetheart. Where the other brothers are rugged he is more of a refined man. I love him and Riley together as they have tons of chemistry between them. One thing different in this book to me id we have an evil villain to hate. How I hate her. I wanted Riley to punch her in the face. There is a scandal they have to face and the ending wraps everything up very nicely. Believe me if you love a series you can get addicted to and you constantly want more of be sure to read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    First, let me just say that the content warning is DEFINITELY wa

    First, let me just say that the content warning is DEFINITELY warranted. Josh & Riley’s relationship is
    HOTTTT & steamy! I enjoyed that, and the fact that it was appropriately entwined into their romance.
    I was pleased to see their love story pick up where it left off from Book 2 (I think I’m right), but as the
    author is so adapt at doing, it’s okay for any reader whose just jumping into the series to never have met
    any of the characters before.
    You’ll not be lost or wondering if you missed something in their backgrounds. Melissa Foster is great at
    giving the main characters in the story a full background, and even pulling new characters into her story
    lines, while allowing old ones to marry into new plots.
    Riley and Josh are not expecting to have any kind of relationship, both sure that the torch they’ve been
    carrying for one another most of their lives is a secret. Turns out the only ones they’ve been hiding it
    from is themselves. However, Cruella DeVille - or her twin - has a torch of her own for Josh, and since
    she works for him and reallllllly closely with him, she just knows she has the upper hand on Riley.
    If she can’t convince Josh that a merger between the two of them makes business and extracurricular
    sense, then she’s got some other designs up her sleeve. Does Riley have what it takes to stand toe to toe
     with a woman of that turpitude when it comes to Josh? Does she want him enough?
    Melissa Foster does not disappoint this fan. Her writing is masterful and magical again, which means you
    don’t pay one bit of attention to the writing because you are all caught up in the story. You know the
    author has done an excellent job when you’re advising the character while reading. This is one of those
    kind of reads. Hurry up and get to reading so you can see what the Braden men are up to -- it’s hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Another Melissa Foster book. Another Love in Bloom book. Another

    Another Melissa Foster book. Another Love in Bloom book. Another Braden brother.

    What do you expect me to say!?

    I love Melissa. I love the Love in Bloom series. I more than love the Braden brothers.

    I was super excited to see that Friendship on Fire was about Josh and Riley. We kind of left off from them in the last book and I was longing to see what would happen (I secretly thought Josh was gay because they even said he never talks about women or dates, but I am so glad I was wrong!)

    There was no waiting for the heat in this one which was great, but I have to be honest – I am getting a little tired of these gals second guessing these gorgeous men. I mean, I get that they are not realistic in my world, but honey, when you have a fine specimen of a man as any of these Braden boys who are graveling at your feet – you take it and run with it!

    In the last book, Riley was giving Jade relationship advice regarding Rex and now Jade is giving back the same advice. It makes you want to reach through the book and grab Riley by the shoulders to wake her up! But the prediciment she is in and the scandal they are trying to prevent is understandable.

    The only thing I can tell you is that this is another fabulous Melissa Foster book that I highly recommend. Like the others, you can read this as a stand alone, but I promise you, it’s much more enjoyable to read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Friendship on Fire by Melissa Foster is romance at its best from

    Friendship on Fire by Melissa Foster is romance at its best from the very beginning.  The fashion is a tough business and Josh can on Claudia the wickedest woman around to keep it running smoothly while his thoughts were all around Riley, the woman from his past but this time, he wants to know her better.




    I really enjoyed the story’s flow especially devouring the very romantic parts displayed by Josh – they were not always so predictable.  Riley Banks, their new design assistant was all he could think of. And, Josh admits it to Peter – that – they are not an item but a crush from the past. Wow! Okay, let’s read the rest.  Let’s admit it here, when was the last time a man sent me red-tipped yellow roses? Never and in between. Yep, I’m a real sucker for this kind of romance. 




    Because Riley didn’t want to be known as the girl who makes it to the top by sleeping around, Josh suggested that they would sneak around.
    “He needed her.”  There is more of course but I won’t tell.




    Jealousy does play a role in the design world as it is but then there are other scenes that just wrap up this romantic story with a beautiful big bow of complexities. After all, romance can’t be that smooth. 




    I do recommend Friendship on Fire by Melissa Foster. There is a style that will get you hooked. It’s unmistakeably awesome.   Adriana LG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1