Customer Reviews for

Frigid

Average Rating 4.5
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and eve

I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and everything that I could want out of a New Adult contemporary. It had a fabulous story, the characters were amazing, and I was totally drawn in!! I am always a sucker for friends to lovers stories and this one ...
I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and everything that I could want out of a New Adult contemporary. It had a fabulous story, the characters were amazing, and I was totally drawn in!! I am always a sucker for friends to lovers stories and this one hit the mark!! Told through alternating POV's I think that this was done spectacularly and I found it hard to put down.

Sydney is a character that though very different from me, I found she was very easy to connect to. I was able to get right into her head and feel her emotions with her. I loved watching her come out of her shell. In the beginning she is so afraid to just let go and do something spontaneous, then when she tries it doesn't always go the way she thinks it will. I really loved her character. She is so intent on keeping her friendship with Kyler that she is afraid to do anything to ruin it. I can totally understand that. They bicker, but are awesome friends... best friends.

Kyler was a bit harder for me to like. Okay, so he was swoon worthy pretty much right off, but he was still a jerk. He is a total man whore and has girls crawling out of the woodwork to get a piece of that, but yet if Sydney even so much as talks to another guy, he gets all pissy and the guy is obviously a tool in his mind. Yes, it's sweet that he is jealous, but it's like he thinks he can do every girl on the planet, but Sydney can't even look at a guy. Yet, he won't tell her how he feels about her for certain reasons, but still. Once I started to get to know him a little better I definitely started to love him. I thought that he was sweet and charming, but still an arrogant ass at times. He could not have been any more perfect for Sydney though. He is loyal to their friendship and fiercely protective of her. He is a great best friend, and no one could be better for her.

Oh the sexiness!! Holy Hell are there some scenes that could almost make the book go up in flames. JLA sure knows how to make those pages steamy! Okay, so besides the steam, the romance is really great too. There are plenty of "awww" inducing moments, some moments that had me laughing, and then the ones where I though a cold shower could do me some good. I love that the romance stemmed from a friendship and it's believable that they would be in love with each other. There is no insta-love or fast romance. This has been building for practically their entire lives. You could feel the connection and the chemistry between them. You know how they met. You know how they have grown up close to each other. You get their history, so you believe the romance.

So, the story! What better was to finally get their feelings out there then being snowed in by a massive blizzard? Well, it's not really that easy. There were plenty of issues that got in their way. Some funny, some scary, some just plain old frustrating. The worst part is, they aren't just snowed in, but someone is apparently out to get them too. So besides it being freezing and having to use a backup generator for a little bit of power, now they have to fear that someone is going to harm them. Well, Kyler is just mostly scared for Syd. It makes for a great addition to the story and how it all comes out in the end had me with my heart beating out of my chest.

This was beyond amazing. I went through so many emotions back and forth through this book that I was mentally exhausted, but so satisfied when I was done!! I was expecting an awesome book, but what I got was off the charts incredible!! My love for JLA's books grows with each one I read. I already want to go back and read this one again and again. This is a friends to lovers story at it's best!! I would give it a million stars if I could!


*An advanced copy of this book was sent by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

posted by Amabe421 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

No more

Please, please....I'm begging authors everywhere. No more man-whores. It's such a huge turn-off and completely ruined the story for me. Yes, it can be done. It IS possible to write a hero that isn't a man-slut!!

posted by 9394860 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Frigid by J.

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Frigid by J. Lynn
    Book One of the Frigid series
    Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
    Publication Date: July 15, 2013
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: ARC sent by the author




    ***Warning: this book contains mature content, and is for the eyes of mature readers***




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love. 




    Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have. 




    But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.




    What I Liked:




    I read this book a long time ago, you all. Like, back in July. I schedule my reviews, so this one just kept getting pushed farther and farther back, because of all the eARCs and ARCs that I had to read to meet release dates. Or rather, read them before the release dates. So, um, oops?




    I didn't love this book, unfortunately. I mean, I liked it. But I didn't love it. I suppose it was worth the read, but I probably won't read it again. I liked Kyler and Syd's story, but it felt very New-Adult-contemporary-romance-y, and you all know how I feel about those. I read Wait For You (but this author, J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout), back in February, and kind of hated it. Typical New Adult contemporary romance novel, in my opinion.




    In terms of the romance and characters, this novel is a cliche New Adult contemporary romance novel. But the story is different, because it takes place in a freezing cold cabin, instead of a college or university or something like that. I liked the setting, because it definitely made the chemistry between these two characters sizzle.




    One thing that JLA does really well is the chemistry. While I totally think the romance in this novel is cliche and repetitive, the chemistry is hot. JLA always has the pages sizzling, in all of her books. So, I liked the chemistry between the characters.




    That's pretty much it.




    What I Did Not Like:




    Eh, I'm so sick of writing this review. New Adult contemporary romances kill me. I dislike the majority of the ones I read (although there are some exceptions!). I dislike the romance, because usually it's very insta-love-y and cliche. Syd and Kyler are kind of no different. They've been best friends for like, ever, and of course they're in love with each other, but neither of them want confront their feelings.




    Blah blah blah.




    I also dislike that the plot is very boring. It's all about the romance, and then the climax kind of just flies in your face. That's kind of the reason why the story is boring - it's all about a boring romance. Occasionally, JLA throws in a hot, chemistry-filled scene, but for the most part, the romance is boring. And the plot is boring. 




    And the climax is stupid. And the part after the climax is stupid. Everyone feels sorry for themselves. Everyone is wallowing in self-pity. Boohoo for me, I broke Syd's heart. Boohoo for me, I love Kyler but he's a douche. BOOHOO FOR EVERYONE!




    And of course, the ending is happy snappy. 




    Would I Recommend It:




    I mean, ALL the JLA fans will want to read this one, right? Or, they already have. So, while I personally wouldn't tell you to go running to buy this one, most fans of JLA probably would. I don't think this is one of her best novels. I'd recommend other books by her! Like, the Lux series. Or the Dark Elements series. Or any of her adult books. But her New Adult books? Meh.




    Rating:




    3 stars. Meh. It was good, but not great. I *might* read the next novels in this series. Might.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Pretty good

    The characters were kind of shallow and hard to connect to, but its a decent fluff read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Awesome

    The book was so intresting a page tuner for me really recomanded to people who love read a 'complicate love story'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    J. Lynn writes an adorable and desirable book with just the righ

    J. Lynn writes an adorable and desirable book with just the right amount of hot and cold!




    Frigid is about two friends that have had feelings for each other for years but don't give in to the attraction because it could "ruin their friendship".
    Sydney seemed very fragile and would cry very easily. I am not a crier and just wanted to roll my eyes when she cried so much, but at the same time I loved how emotional she was. She wasn't worried about what people would think about her if they saw her cry.
    Kyler was exactly as the synopsis described him - a man whore. But he would obviously change for her. I'm asking out of curiosity, do guys actually change their ways for girls? I've never met one who did. But I'm hoping there are guys like that out in the world.
    The two main characters went together perfectly because everything Sydney lacked, Kyler excelled in. They just complimented each other.
    I think with the stalker part of the book, it was just the cherry on top. It made the book that much more appealing and I loved that. Although for me the stalker was easy to identify, I enjoyed the fighting scene.
    I disliked how easily Sydney could just forgive Kyler but also how easily she thought he would do something to her.
    Kyler obviously had his faults as well, but he was kind of hot so that makes up for that.
    I recommend this to New Adult fans. It has the right amount of romance and suspense.
    Rating: 7.9/10
    Parental Rating: 16+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Just ok

    The characters were good together, but there was a lot of unrealistic conflict in the book. Somehow it was not completely distracting. I'm ok with unrealistic in some ways, but when people make stupid decisions and assumptions for the sake of creating conflict in the story, it annoys me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Good Story

    I liked the story line and the setting. Being a native Marylander, I also loved that they go to school at the University of Maryland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Amazing read

    Loved this book very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    So - so

    So-so. This book was okay. It seemed to be missing something though. I prefer more dialogue, less narative. The characters didn't have enough depth. The plot wasn't taken seriously. I was disappointed. The story idea could have been very steamy.
    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Cute

    Enjoyed this book! Kinda predictable but overall a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    There was much about this book I enjoyed, but Sydney's insecurit

    There was much about this book I enjoyed, but Sydney's insecurities really got annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Is there anything bad in this book?

    What age group should read this? Is there any sexual activity? Im asking cause im twelve and my dad will freak if he finds out the book is inappropriate. Please help! Reply to sarah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    I had completely forgotten I had ordered this book, so when it s

    I had completely forgotten I had ordered this book, so when it showed up on my e-reader, it was a happy surprise!

    We start off with Sydney watching Kyle flirt and make out with a woman at a bar, and how Sydney hurts but has been doing this ever since she knew she loved him, which has been since they were teenagers. Then it goes to Kyler’s POV, which shows us that he’s not really enjoying himself as much Sydney believes he is.

    Being able to be in both the hero’s and the heroine’s point of view was nice, because we can see why both have not made a move towards the other. Unfortunately, I didn’t really like Kyler’s POV until more towards the end, when we could see his side of the story.

    Sydney is shy and nerdy, and it was easy to relate to her at times because she reacted (for the most part) the way I would. I do say for the most part because there were a few times where I really felt like she was overreacting and not letting Kyler explain himself.

    Kyler, on the other hand, I wasn’t all too fond of. It wasn’t the characters but how the author wrote him. I didn’t really like the way the author wrote his thoughts and it seemed like he was a little too full of himself.

    This story was a typical “shy girl is in love with playboy, boy thinks she deserves better” type story with a twist I could see coming from a mile away. I would write more about the twist, but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. I will say, however, that it felt like the twist/danger was just kind of put there to make the story juicier, but it didn’t really fit right.

    I recommend this story if you have nothing to do and want to have a nice read to pass time :)

    P.S. Reading through my review, I realize it sounds kind of bad, but I do want to say that I *did* enjoy the story, it was just a little predictable for my taste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1