Customer Reviews for

Frigid

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and eve

I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and everything that I could want out of a New Adult contemporary. It had a fabulous story, the characters were amazing, and I was totally drawn in!! I am always a sucker for friends to lovers stories and this one ...
I absolutely loved this book. It was sweet, sexy, funny, and everything that I could want out of a New Adult contemporary. It had a fabulous story, the characters were amazing, and I was totally drawn in!! I am always a sucker for friends to lovers stories and this one hit the mark!! Told through alternating POV's I think that this was done spectacularly and I found it hard to put down.

Sydney is a character that though very different from me, I found she was very easy to connect to. I was able to get right into her head and feel her emotions with her. I loved watching her come out of her shell. In the beginning she is so afraid to just let go and do something spontaneous, then when she tries it doesn't always go the way she thinks it will. I really loved her character. She is so intent on keeping her friendship with Kyler that she is afraid to do anything to ruin it. I can totally understand that. They bicker, but are awesome friends... best friends.

Kyler was a bit harder for me to like. Okay, so he was swoon worthy pretty much right off, but he was still a jerk. He is a total man whore and has girls crawling out of the woodwork to get a piece of that, but yet if Sydney even so much as talks to another guy, he gets all pissy and the guy is obviously a tool in his mind. Yes, it's sweet that he is jealous, but it's like he thinks he can do every girl on the planet, but Sydney can't even look at a guy. Yet, he won't tell her how he feels about her for certain reasons, but still. Once I started to get to know him a little better I definitely started to love him. I thought that he was sweet and charming, but still an arrogant ass at times. He could not have been any more perfect for Sydney though. He is loyal to their friendship and fiercely protective of her. He is a great best friend, and no one could be better for her.

Oh the sexiness!! Holy Hell are there some scenes that could almost make the book go up in flames. JLA sure knows how to make those pages steamy! Okay, so besides the steam, the romance is really great too. There are plenty of "awww" inducing moments, some moments that had me laughing, and then the ones where I though a cold shower could do me some good. I love that the romance stemmed from a friendship and it's believable that they would be in love with each other. There is no insta-love or fast romance. This has been building for practically their entire lives. You could feel the connection and the chemistry between them. You know how they met. You know how they have grown up close to each other. You get their history, so you believe the romance.

So, the story! What better was to finally get their feelings out there then being snowed in by a massive blizzard? Well, it's not really that easy. There were plenty of issues that got in their way. Some funny, some scary, some just plain old frustrating. The worst part is, they aren't just snowed in, but someone is apparently out to get them too. So besides it being freezing and having to use a backup generator for a little bit of power, now they have to fear that someone is going to harm them. Well, Kyler is just mostly scared for Syd. It makes for a great addition to the story and how it all comes out in the end had me with my heart beating out of my chest.

This was beyond amazing. I went through so many emotions back and forth through this book that I was mentally exhausted, but so satisfied when I was done!! I was expecting an awesome book, but what I got was off the charts incredible!! My love for JLA's books grows with each one I read. I already want to go back and read this one again and again. This is a friends to lovers story at it's best!! I would give it a million stars if I could!


*An advanced copy of this book was sent by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation.

posted by Amabe421 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

No more

Please, please....I'm begging authors everywhere. No more man-whores. It's such a huge turn-off and completely ruined the story for me. Yes, it can be done. It IS possible to write a hero that isn't a man-slut!!

posted by 9394860 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    3.5 Stars Genre: New Adult Pages: 240 Publisher: Spencer Hill

    3.5 Stars

    Genre: New Adult

    Pages: 240

    Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary

    Summary: For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.
    Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.
    But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

    So I always gush about JLA. I just love her writing style, and I’ve never read anything of hers that I didn’t like. Frigid is no exception. As I’ve said before, I prefer her YA books to her NA/Adult books, simply because I am not a huge fan of explicit romance novels. I think it’s pretty safe to say, however, that if JLA writes it, I will read it.

    I adore JLA’s writing partly because she never leaves you guessing what people are thinking, or how they feel about something or someone. She’s very clear in her descriptions, and I never feel like there’s a lack of information, nor a surplus. As far as the character voices go, there is always a defining speech style for each character.

    Sydney and Kyler’s relationship was absolutely adorable from the beginning. They start out as best friends (although Sydney is nursing a major crush and has been for years), and it seemed strange to me that they hadn’t tried dating before. They get along so well, and they are physically very comfortable with each other. Of course, as the story unfolds, you come to understand why they haven’t dated before.

    This is technically considered a New Adult novel, so there is quite a bit of sex and language, although not as bad as an Adult Romance. The descriptions are not as graphic, although they are graphic enough. So if that’s not your cup of tea, I don’t recommend Frigid. As I have said before, I don’t usually like to read graphic Romance novels, but I make exceptions for a few authors like JLA that I love.

    I thought JLA handled the conflict really. I wasn’t expecting what happened, but it fit absolutely perfectly with her characterization, especially with Kyler. After a while I wanted to take both Syd and Kyler and shake them, and be like, WAKE UP YOU TWO. YOU’RE PERFECT FOR EACH OTHER.

    If you like sappy (well-written, adorable sap) with some suspense and a good story of forgiveness thrown in, you’ll love Frigid. I inhaled it, as I do with all of JLA’s book.

    Shameless promotion time: GO PRE-ORDER “Origin” (Lux #5). Because there’s no way that book isn’t go to be AMAZING. I am more excited about that book coming out than I have been for a book in a long time. I adore the Lux series (I think it’s my favorite of her books) and cannot wait for Origin.

    But seriously.

    Similar Books: Wait For You by J. Lynn, Losing It by Cora Carmack

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    4.5 stars!

    Loved this book. Steamy sex scenes,witty prose, likable characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    I received my ARC copy of Frigid on Day 2 at BEA. With all the b

    I received my ARC copy of Frigid on Day 2 at BEA. With all the books I gathered on the first two days, this one was the one I chose to start reading first. I read a few pages that night (before I passed out from exhaustion), and then another 50 pages or so on Day 3 as I waited in lines. It was definitely one of my most anticipated BEA books.

    The great thing about Frigid is that it turned out to be an a-typical new adult book, wrapped in a typical new adult package. On the surface, it's something we've all seen before. Boy and girl have been friends since they were kids, and secretly in love with each other for the most recent few years. Boy deals by screwing lots of faceless girls. Girl deals by shutting herself off from all other guys. Until the fateful day that they are trapped together in a ski lodge. Alone. And all the secrets come out.

    Sounds like a new adult book, right? The only thing missing is some horribly tragic event in either the boy's or the girl's (or both) lives. Well, you'll have to keep looking, because it's not there. And, my GOODNESS, is that like a breath of fresh air. There's nothing dark or seedy in either Kyler's or Sydney's past. They simply like each other because... well, because they do. Because they were BFFs first and through hanging out and going to school together, they saw things in each other that they related to and decided they liked more than friends would. It just so happens that they're both big chickens and couldn't tell the other how they felt.

    So, Frigid has no horrible event that might cause the reader to bawl through half of it. But, what it does have is a cool mystery. Crazy, right? As time goes on, it seems as if someone(s) is trying to hurt Kyler or Sydney or both of them. If being shut up together in a ski lodge during a blizzard wasn't enough to bring two people with some crazy sexual tension between them together, then being shut up together during a blizzard with someone trying to hurt them definitely would.

    I really loved both Kyler and Sydney. They weren't overly sappy. There wasn't some crazy insta-love. They were both strong and weak in different ways. The story developed at a nice pace, and, despite it being a relatively short book, it didn't really seem like it. I really loved this one.

    This was a really great one by J. Lynn. It was a really great book, period. If you've been in a new adult slump lately and want something a little different, give Frigid a try.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Super cute! Not crazy overly dramatic, the characters were sweet

    Super cute! Not crazy overly dramatic, the characters were sweet and funny and there was some serious Hotness going on in there!  I liked Syd, even though she teared up at the drop of a hat, but I found her very realistic and likable. Kyler was hotness of course and sweet . I hope we get a book about Tanner and Andrea!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Actually pretty great

    Great read. Light and satisfing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Hot steamy read!

    I really enjoyed this book! Kyler is hot hot hot!!! I read it in one day and was not disappointed. Yes the book is predictable, yes even the mystery was predictable, however, it was a fast steamy read and I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Love J.Lynn books!!!

    Great book - love all her stories! You need to read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent story

    I have read this more than once. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Enjoyed the story, but does every guy have to be a complete man-

    Enjoyed the story, but does every guy have to be a complete man-whore and all the women little virgins or never had decent sex? A little more creativity please. Fun book, but this story line is done over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this book. I thought that it was a great quick read for winter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    Loved the story and the characters. Nearly everyone has had a fr

    Loved the story and the characters. Nearly everyone has had a friend of the opposite sex who for some reason turns into the "one". You never think that friendship will turn romantic and do you really want that. Yes, for Kyler and Sydney in this book. The only reason I did not give it a 5 stars because of the one scene, near the end, where I felt the author either should have made it less scary or dealt with the aftermath more realistically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Friends to Lovers story

    There is a great friendship between a manwhore and his good girl friend. They get snowed in and cabin fever was never so hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Angsty enjoyable and a little sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    fun easy read

    This was a fun easy read. The plot was believable .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    3.5 stars! I¿m so happy I didn¿t read the synopsis of this righ

    3.5 stars!

    I’m so happy I didn’t read the synopsis of this right before I started reading it. It was great to really not know what the story was about until I got into it. Especially the little added mystery fun, which really kind of caught me off guard… in such a good way.




    Kyler and Sydney have been the best of friends ever since “he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie.” Yet they are both absolutely crazy about each other… and completely in denial about it. I’m always a huge fan of friends-turn-lovers stories, so this one was right up my alley.




    Though most of this story takes place over a span of only a few days, it was fast-paced and attention-grabbing. I’m huge a fan of the little added mystery aspect. A stalker begins messing with the couple, and the intensity grew severely during those chapters. My heart was pumping pretty quick there for a bit.




    The secondary characters, friends of this pair, were awesome and really got some air time in the last 20% of the story. Andrea was such a great friend to Sydney. And though she did some things Sydney didn’t necessarily care for, she always had the best of intentions. Kyler’s buddy Tanner, who also happened to be dating Andrea, was hilarious and really had me giggling a bit. Such a tool, excessively blunt and always telling it like it is… such a great buddy to Kyler. That’s really what he needed at the time.




    I wish I had waited to read this story until the winter weather was upon us. I could totally relate to the freezing cold temps in the middle of a snow storm. Though the obstacles that come along with snow fall make it difficult, it’s also beautiful and something I have fond memories of as a child. Being out in the snow, freezing, then coming in and snuggling by the fire with a mug of hot chocolate with tiny marshmallows… Ah, memories…




    Sorry, I digress.




    I really enjoyed the first part of the book, setting the tone for the story. And the middle with the intensity was awesome. Then the too-sweet ending kind of sapped it up a bit too much for me. Sometimes endings that are “too good to be true” just really rub me the wrong way. Though some may consider it simply a sweet, romantic ending, to me it kind of took away from the rest of the book and turned me off a bit. I know, I know… I tend to be way too hard on romances sometimes. For some strange reason I just can’t take the sappy stuff these days! :P




    I’d be remiss if I didn’t say that this is another wonderful book from JLA. No surprise there. JLA is an amazing author that I rarely hear less than stellar things about. As the chilly weather quickly approaches, grab yourself a copy of Frigid, snuggle up by the fire with a mug of hot chocolate, and enjoy this fun, romantic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Pleasantly surprised

    I adored this book. I am not a fan of instant-love so this book was perfect for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Cute story and quick read

    This was a very cute story with good characters. It was well written and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Sweet and Somewhat Saucy

    Sweet story about two childhood friends exploring the possibility of moving beyond friendship. I enjoyed seeing the relationship evolve and found the characters funny and relatable. It did take a while for the plot to get intense, and it wasn't the steamiest book I've ever read, but it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Fun Easy read

    This was a quick fun easy read!! Great for the Beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Good one

    Not my fave of hers, but it was fun to read. You get a little bit of everything even a pinch of suspense. I think it got released at the wrong time though....should have came out closer to Christmas:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3