Customer Reviews for

Frindle

Average Rating 4.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(416)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

If you haven't read it, you've made a big mistake! Read it now!

I am 9 and in third grade. I think the word frindle was very funny. Good use of pictures throughout the story. The characters were awesome! The writing was brilliant! The book was good in that it made you want to go back and finish it!

posted by OfficerJake on October 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

You Cant Not Read It, Its Awesome

The Best Muga Muga

I am an 11 year old girl girl and i am in the fifth grade. If you love to read just like i do yuo will love reading a lot more if you read the book Frindle by Andrew Clements. Is Nick allen really a troublemaker? Well I'm not going to tell you. ...
The Best Muga Muga

I am an 11 year old girl girl and i am in the fifth grade. If you love to read just like i do yuo will love reading a lot more if you read the book Frindle by Andrew Clements. Is Nick allen really a troublemaker? Well I'm not going to tell you. What does the word frindle mean? I'm not going to tell you that either. Just like the book Frindle, I made up a word. Now you know what Muga Muga means. You will have to figure out what frindle means by reading th ebook Frindle. I had to read this book in my language arts class. It was one of the best books that i ever read.

posted by 7340726 on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you haven't read it, you've made a big mistake! Read it now!

    I am 9 and in third grade. I think the word frindle was very funny. Good use of pictures throughout the story. The characters were awesome! The writing was brilliant! The book was good in that it made you want to go back and finish it!

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Terrific Book

    I read a couple of chapters a night to my son before he went to bed and we both really enjoyed it. I had my mother, a retired teacher read it and she enjoyed it enough to share it with a friend who is also a retired teacher. I have continued to purchase more Andrew Clements books for my son. This book truly proves that kids CAN make a difference.

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I'm a 24 year old college student who was assigned this book for one of my ELED courses and I absolutely loved it. I will definately recommend this book to my students and my own children in the future.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    A Classroom Review

    Our classroom recently read the book Frindle by Andrew Clements. Our teacher chose to read us this book because she thought it was very funny and that many of us would like it. After reading the book, we really enjoyed it. We enjoyed it because it showed us that we can make a word up and it can mean something else. It also helped us learn about other words that people make and put in the dictionary. It also showed us how studnets can get in trouble if they don't obey their teacher. We learned that Nick has a talent for creating new words and being influential. Overall, we enjoyed this book and would recommend it to other kids to read.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    This book is one of my top ten favorite books.....

    I read this book in school and i have to say, i was surprised of how detailed and funny this book actually is. Its a great read for anyone, highly recommended

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Billy

    This book is asome i would read it every day

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    The best book ever

    My 5th grade teacher read this to my class and I. We all injoyed it. My classes favorite book that year.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    ¿THE BEST BOOK¿

    A book a middle schooler should read with entertament. A fun story even an adult should read it.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    This book is the best!

    Pens! Pens! Frindles?
    Nick Allen has always been creative. He made his classroom into Hawaii in February. But this time he creates something that affects the whole country: a new word (Frindle meaning pen). There is one problem, Nick's own English teacher. Watch Nick take twist and turns to keep using his word. But he just might lose it. read and find out.
    I like this book because you have a special feeling that you can make a word too. Also once you start you'll be surging for more. You will have a strange but great feeling while reading Frindle.
    I liked that Nick was trying to make a new word. I also liked how the author made it feel so real, but in reality not true.
    I recommend this book to people who like to read books that actually feel real. If you like words or school or want to read an extraordinary book read Frindle. This one book. is truly amazing.
    If you like Frindle you can read these other books by Andrew Clements: Room One, Lunch Money, No Talking, The Landry News, and The Janitor's Boy.~ by Hanil 9

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    You Cant Not Read It, Its Awesome

    The Best Muga Muga

    I am an 11 year old girl girl and i am in the fifth grade. If you love to read just like i do yuo will love reading a lot more if you read the book Frindle by Andrew Clements. Is Nick allen really a troublemaker? Well I'm not going to tell you. What does the word frindle mean? I'm not going to tell you that either. Just like the book Frindle, I made up a word. Now you know what Muga Muga means. You will have to figure out what frindle means by reading th ebook Frindle. I had to read this book in my language arts class. It was one of the best books that i ever read.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    This book is AWESOME!!!!!

    I recommend this book to kids 7 and up. I read this book in three days because I couldn't put the book down! This book is great for everyone.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Click for review

    Hhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiibbbbbbbbbbblllllllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not even kidding. Don't waste your money don't buy it.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Abbey Normal

    I remember the influences this book first gave me. Technically, it influenced my whole class, but you get the point. After my library teacher read this book to us (who is now a homeroom teacher [that doesn't really matter, but I thought I'd just throw that in there] ), we couldn't get over the word "frindle." We said "frindle" instead of "pen" for two weeks, but it didn't catch on because we were fourth graders so we couldn't use pens. This book was pretty fun to read though...

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Frindle

    So FUNNY! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!

    This book is completely worth the money, and it truly is an AWESOME book i read it and it was A REALLY GOODBOOK

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    :-)

    Absoulutly loved it .( even thouh i read it in 2nd grade and i am in 5th)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Asome

    I LLLLLLLLLLLIOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEE this book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Best book ever

    Im reading this book in school it is the best how they call a pen a frindle

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Sample reading

    I was reading the sample but it was only about 4 pages of actual reading. I have read this book before so I wanted to read it again but I couldn't.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    it was a fantastic book

    I read this book and I would recommend it to my friends or anyone. And the reason why is because it shows how far your imagination can take you. I really liked how Nick would not give up even when Mrs. Granger was making it so difficult. Nick was very brave by not giving up on his believes. I think that other people that experience something like this they will give up. Well this is an example of why you should not give up on your dreams because they can come true if you work hard to make that dream come true.
    When my teacher assigned me to read this book and when I started to read it I could not stop because it was very interesting. This book teaches that if you believe in something or have a dream and you what to make it come true if you work hard it will come true. I liked the author's writing style and I would defenetly like to read other books by him.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 632 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32