Customer Reviews for

Frog and Toad Are Friends (I Can Read Picture Book Series)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A New Look to a Classic Children's Book

Toad and Frog are classic children's story characters. They have been favorites for many years. If you are not familiar, they are a must for your children and grandchildren. They are delightful and teach about caring for each other. This particular edition, I enjoye...
Toad and Frog are classic children's story characters. They have been favorites for many years. If you are not familiar, they are a must for your children and grandchildren. They are delightful and teach about caring for each other. This particular edition, I enjoyed because of the picture book size. There is plenty of white space on each page for beginning readers and enough print to give them a challenge and a sense of accomplishment. A great format for this classic.

posted by book-keeper on November 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

frog said to toad u dai

frog said to toad u dai

posted by gahren on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Frog and Toad Are Friends

    Caldecott: Frog and Toad are Friends, is a good book for children. It shows how in friendship both people have to try to make it work. That you help one another when the other needs it or if they¿re sad you try to cheer them up. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was entertaining and had a good meaning behind it. Arnold Lobel grew up in Schenectady, New York, where he lived with his grandparents. When he graduated from art school, he married Anita Kempler, and they moved to New York. He and his wife had two children, Adam and Adrianne. When he first started drawing pictures for children's books, Arnold Lobel got many of his ideas from the cartoons his children liked to watch. Arnold Lobel used to tell stories and illustrate them to entertain his classmates when he was a young boy. He said that taking books out of the library was one of the things he loved to do most when he was a child. The book, Frog and Toad Are Friends, is about two friends. One friend is a frog and the other is a Toad. They compliment each other and help one another. When one is sad the other one cheers him up. When one has lost something the other one helps him find it. If one helps out, then the other one rewards him somehow. If one is sick, the other one helps take care of him and keeps him company. This book talks about Frog and Toad¿s adventures together as friends and how they overcome things. ¿It was here all the time. What a lot of trouble I have made for Frog¿. This is the part in the story when Toad finds his button that him and Frog had spent the day looking for. ¿Toad took all of the buttons out of his pocket. He took his sewing box down from the shelf. Toad sewed the buttons all over his jacket. The next day Toad gave his jacket to Frog¿. This is the part in the story where Toad shows his appreciation of Frog for helping him search for his button. Toad put all the buttons they had found that day on his jacket and gave it to Frog as a gift. Frog was thrilled with the present. Lobel, Arnold. Frog and Toad Are Friends. New York: Harper & Raw, 1970.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Delightful and funny

    Two of our family¿s favorite characters of all time are Frog and Toad. Author Arnold Lobel certainly captures the foibles, eccentricities and idiosyncrasies of human character in his portrayal these two lovable amphibians. This book has four stories. One is entitled ¿Spring¿ in which Frog uses his wits to convince Toad it¿s time to wake up. The second is ¿The Story¿ in which Frog ends up telling Toad a story after Toad undoes himself trying to think of a story to tell his ailing friend. The third story is ¿The Lost Button¿ in which Toad, Frog, and friends search for Toad¿s lost button. The fourth story is¿ The Letter¿ in which Toad is bemoaning the fact that he never gets any mail. This book and its companion books about Frog and Toad are on their third generation in our family. The accompanying audio tapes for these books with Arnold Lobel as the storyteller are priceless. Lobel¿s dry, monotonic delivery is exactly what is needed to depict the characters, the scene and the humor in these totally delightful tales. Carolyn Rowe Hill

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    The best childrens stories available

    I remember reading these stories over and over when I was younger and would recommened them to any parent to get their young ones reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    sweet meories

    cant belive ive found them. frog and toad have never left me.the hart warming storys and its wonderfull pictures with great colour.im so glad ive found them to pass them on to my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    Still a Classic

    The Frog and Toad series was my favorite when I was growing up in the 70's! My mom and I read the books together until the binding wore out! Now I am able to share the stories of Frog and Toad with my 6 year old step-son!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2003

    Childhood Memories

    My grandmother had this book when I was growing up and I remember reading it everytime I went to visit her. This is a must have book for kids (of any age).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2001

    wonderful and heart warming

    This book is so comforting and positive I sometimes read it after my daughter has already gone to bed!! I am no actress but the story begs to have toad's voice read in a croaky voice and frogs in a more light, enthusiastic voice. A very gifted author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2