BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Frogs and French Kisses (Magic in Manhattan Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

VERY GOOD BOOK

The book Frogs & French Kisses, by Sarah Mylnowski is a terrific book. It¿s about a girl whose mother and sister is witches. She struggles with being a social outcast, loses the love of her life. In that series of unfortunate events, her younger sister is learning how ...
The book Frogs & French Kisses, by Sarah Mylnowski is a terrific book. It¿s about a girl whose mother and sister is witches. She struggles with being a social outcast, loses the love of her life. In that series of unfortunate events, her younger sister is learning how to manage her witchy powers. One might like how the author keeps the reader so entertained, not wanting to put the book down. It ranges from the two sisters flying on a broomstick together to transporting together. While the girls Rachel and Miri are mastering their problems, their once anti-magic using mother has become a 24 hour dating machine. She starts off by one date every other week and advances to having a date every other hour. Not only that, but she uses magic for everything and anything that she needs. The girls manage to build a closer bond but more problems progress when the environmental sister Miri tries to save the world and when their dating maniac mother is never home. Rachel ends up dating the love of her life¿s brother all because of a love spell that went wrong. So many problems occur when Miri uses here magic. Some for good, some for Rachel¿s needs. All Rachel wants is to be a social butterfly instead of a social nerd. She spends lunches alone in the bathroom and the library when her best'and only' friend, Tammy, gets mano. This is a very interesting book that a lot of people seem to enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Funny and hard to put down!!!

I thought this was a really entertaining book, and even though I'm an older teenager, I really thought it could go to tween and teens alike. Poor Rachel is having to endure not being part of the witch group in her home. Her mother and do-gooder younger sister Miri are...
I thought this was a really entertaining book, and even though I'm an older teenager, I really thought it could go to tween and teens alike. Poor Rachel is having to endure not being part of the witch group in her home. Her mother and do-gooder younger sister Miri are both witches. Miri is using her magic for good(saving the rainforest, rescuing animals, etc...) and her mother is using it to change for dating(longer hair, color, breasts, etc..) and Rachel just wants to survive being fourteen and losing her boyfriend and ex-best friend. But when Rachel asks Miri for a love spell, things go out of hand quickly. Pretty soon she is not only dating a cute senior, getting asked to Prom, and helping on the committee. But with magic, things might change, but there are consequences to every action, something the girls all find out in a big way. This is funny at times, and touching and really great for any level of reader. I would recommend the entire series just because the characters are so lovable.

posted by DanceBree17 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    The book Frogs & French Kisses, by Sarah Mylnowski is a terrific book. It¿s about a girl whose mother and sister is witches. She struggles with being a social outcast, loses the love of her life. In that series of unfortunate events, her younger sister is learning how to manage her witchy powers. One might like how the author keeps the reader so entertained, not wanting to put the book down. It ranges from the two sisters flying on a broomstick together to transporting together. While the girls Rachel and Miri are mastering their problems, their once anti-magic using mother has become a 24 hour dating machine. She starts off by one date every other week and advances to having a date every other hour. Not only that, but she uses magic for everything and anything that she needs. The girls manage to build a closer bond but more problems progress when the environmental sister Miri tries to save the world and when their dating maniac mother is never home. Rachel ends up dating the love of her life¿s brother all because of a love spell that went wrong. So many problems occur when Miri uses here magic. Some for good, some for Rachel¿s needs. All Rachel wants is to be a social butterfly instead of a social nerd. She spends lunches alone in the bathroom and the library when her best'and only' friend, Tammy, gets mano. This is a very interesting book that a lot of people seem to enjoy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Frogs an french kissing

    I love arah mylnowski. All of her book are the bomb digitti! Seriously off the chain! READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Hi!!!!!

    Thiss book was a fun read but it was hard to put down the book. I was wondering which book comes after this one???????

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    ????

    I have read Bras and Broomsticks and Spells and Sleeping Bags. Should I buy this book? Is it worth it?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    best book ever

    just as funny as bras and broom sticks AMAZING

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Awesome for tweens and teens!

    I'm a tween and I love this book! I'm reading all the magic in Manhatten series and you should too!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Cute

    Very funny, great quick read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME BOOK! <3

    I loved how this book was very detail. It was sooo cool and I just couldn't put the book down. I read this whole book in like 2 days. Usually it takes forever for me to read a book but when I like it so much, I read fast. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Frogs and french kisses

    It was the awesomes(yes it is a word) book ever!!!!!!!!!!!! If you like this book go to spells and sleeping bags. The big idea is Miri and mom useing magic WAY TO MUCH! Can Rachel save them? Or it would be to late? Find out in Frogs and French Kisses

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    The Greatest!

    This book kept me on the edge of my chair the whole time. I was never board!This book has a lot of exiting moments. i am 12 and this is a perfect age for this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    MOST DRAMATIC BOOK IN THE SERIES. Rachel doesn't have powers, but her mom and her little sister Miri do, and suddenly all the magic spins out of control. After making a fool of herself and breaking London Zeal's leg at a dancing fashion show, everyone at school hates Rachel except for her best friend Tammy. So Rachel convinces Miri to put a love spell on her crush Raf. However, the love spell accidently gets put on Raf's brother Will instead. In the meantime, Rachel's mother starts dating again and uses magic nonstop to make men fall for her. She evantually gets a boyfriend named Lex. And Miri is on a mission to save the world, but everything goes wrong. She transports cows from a slaughterhouse to the school gym of Rachel's high school in an attempt to save their lives, only to nearly cancel the senior prom. Without knowing what she's doing, she steals oranges and TVs from stores to give to the homeless. She evens tries to send a bunch of zoo animals to their birthplaces, in the meantime making them end up all over the country and causing a power outage while trying to save a goat's life. At the end, Rachel discovers that she has powers of her own when she makes rain stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Hey Guys!

    This book is both Amazing and Confusing. Rachel is trying to find her way to prom with out reaking another person's heart. Will her relationship work out? Hopefully. Will everyone forget about the insident about the fashion show? Hopefully. Will london want to get revenge on Rachel for breaking her leg? Hopefully not!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    ???????????????????????? ???????????????????????

    Love what everyone posted. So i got the book and i .........loved it,you all bellow me thenk you for convensing me to get this book i relly loved it and everybody should get this bok

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and hard to put down!!!

    I thought this was a really entertaining book, and even though I'm an older teenager, I really thought it could go to tween and teens alike. Poor Rachel is having to endure not being part of the witch group in her home. Her mother and do-gooder younger sister Miri are both witches. Miri is using her magic for good(saving the rainforest, rescuing animals, etc...) and her mother is using it to change for dating(longer hair, color, breasts, etc..) and Rachel just wants to survive being fourteen and losing her boyfriend and ex-best friend. But when Rachel asks Miri for a love spell, things go out of hand quickly. Pretty soon she is not only dating a cute senior, getting asked to Prom, and helping on the committee. But with magic, things might change, but there are consequences to every action, something the girls all find out in a big way. This is funny at times, and touching and really great for any level of reader. I would recommend the entire series just because the characters are so lovable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Yowzers

    Amazing. Im speachless. Great quick read. !<3ed it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    : )awesome( :

    This book is hillarious and cute. I adore this series its not an amazing litereary story but a cute quick read.
    CRW

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Good book

    Fourteen-year old Rachel couldn't be any more messed up. Her mom and sis are witches, she's lost the love of her life, is a social pariah, and has no chance at renewing her relationship with her ex- best friend. So when she goes to her little sister, Miri, she is sure Miri will work up some kind of love potion for her- right? Everything goes wrong when her crush's older brother, major hunk and Mr. School, Will, develops romantic feelings for her instead- while her real crush is yakking it up with her mortal enemy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    To: ???? From: Happy :)

    Honestly....NO! This book is definately NOT worth your time and money! Have a great day, talk soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Gsgshshshxhxh

    Gggsjdhchch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Frogs and French Kisses is Fantastic!

    Rachel trying really hard to accept the fact that her younger sister, Miri, has magic powers and she doesn't. Rachel begs Miri for a love spell that goes horribly horribly wrong. Rachel's mom, formaly a non-practicing witch, is now a magic-a-holic who is using magic for everything from getting herself tea to getting her self dates. Miri is spending all of her time trying to save the world and none of her time studying and its up to rachel to make things right in the Weinstein house.

    Even beter then the firsst. i thought it was impossible to get better then the first book n the magic in manhattan series by sarah mlnowski, bras and broomsticks, but i was wrong! this book is soooo good and i absolutly adored the ending! if you like this book i recommend the rest of the series (i'm not putting them on the i also recommend spot because there are three other ones and it would take up to much space) i actually read this a while ago and it is one of my favorite series the other books in the series are: Bras and broomsticks, Spells and sleeping bags, and Parties and Potions. there isn't enough room on the i also recommend spot but if you enjoyed this i also recommend: marked by p.c. and kristen cast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5