Customer Reviews for

From A Name To A Number

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Thank You for writing a your autobiography.

    I feel extremly fortunate to have had the opportunity to read From A Name To A Number & also to meet Alter Weiner. What an honor it was to listen to this humble man tell of his experience he had gone through as a child. To actually read this book then but a face to this man from his book is something I will never forget!!
    I finshed reading the book & a week later was told that Mr. Weiner would be coming to my sons school,I was able to attend his visit there & asked for my son to join. It scares me to think that we have not encourged our children to learn more about the Holocaust it is a extremly inportant factor in our history. All children should be taught more about this period in history reminded about what we all have & the things that we all take for granted everyday.I can say I will never forget Mr.Weiner or the message he has sent to me in my heart I still find it very disturbing how inhumane this was to so many innocent people to end the lives of millions for no reason. WHY?????? I highly recommend this book to be read by everyone, if you ever have a chance to see Mr. Weiner please do he is our history our memory our miracle!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    You MUST read this book!

    WARNING!!! Once you start reading this book, you will not be able to put it down. Thank you Alter for sharing your very personal account of this difficult period in world history. May no one forget these atrocities.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    extraordinary in every sense

    this is a wonderful biography about Mr. Wiener, his story has changed the lives of many and will continue to do so, this book is one that should be read by all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    History come to life

    'From a Name to a Number' is an intimate memoir that holds the reader's attention--from disturbing preface to analytical epilogue. We first meet the author's loving family during his sheltered childhood in prewar Poland. The horrors of the Holocaust destroy the family and fill Mr. Wiener's young life with constant fear, pain and deprivation for the next six years. The joy of liberation is tempered by the realization of lost family and by the difficulty of adjustment to normal life. Some 100 pages are devoted to Alter Wiener's ongoing mission in life--telling diverse audiences about his tragic experiences and warning them about the dangers of hatred and prejudice. He makes us aware of the unique privilege granted to both parties in this arrangement: History comes to life for the audience that can hear it being told by an actual (involuntary) participant--and the speaker/author is able to achieve an amazingly intimate emotional bond with his audience. May he continue his important task for many more years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Grrrrrrrreat Book!

    I read 'From a Name to a Number' for a school book report and was not enthused about. However once i got into reading it, it was one of the best books i have ever read. Not only did it open my eyes to what the holocaust was really like it also was really fun and interesting to read. I recommend this book to anyone. 5 out of 5 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    From a Name to a Number - 64735: Alter Wiener, a Holocaust Survivor's Autobiography

    It would be innaccurate to say that 'From A Name to A Number' was a pleasant or enjoyable book to read. Yet is it the distinguishing quality of remaining with the reader long after the book has been finished that makes this one such a success. It is difficult in many ways: difficult to read, difficut to fathom, and difficult to put down once it has been picked up. This one of those stories that, while not easy to hear, must be even harder to tell- and I applaud Mr. Wiener's courage and honesty. As a grandson of Holocaust survivors, I know that it is crucial for the few witnesses who remain to tell the stories and so I thank him for sharing his story, and I encourage everyone to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    From a Name to a Number - 64735: Alter Wiener, a Holocaust Survivor's Autobiography

    'From A Name to A Number' was one of the most eye opening Holocaust stories I have read. Since my grandparents were Holocaust survivors and I was educated in a private Jewish school, I have not gone without hearing many horrifying situations of Holocaust victims. But each one still shocks me, and Mr. Wiener's particular stories had me in tears. The reason I loved his book so much, I think, is that Mr. Wiener tells of his life after the Holocaust, which is an important part of his life that survivors do not often share. This book retells the Holocaust on a more personal and revealing level, and, although it is difficult to digest, I challenge everyone to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Everyone Should Read This Book.

    I find this book very interesting because of it's uniqueness in telling of the holocaust. What I like about this book is how Mr. Wiener describes the difficulties and struggles of survivor's entering back into society. It is a part of the story that has always been missing for me. I have always thought at the end of the books or movies 'that's it? But what happened to the survivors? How did they go on?' This book helps me remember that one should always hold hope. It seems he always found a reason to hold on no matter how difficult his life became. He is truly an extraordinary man. Thank you Mr. Wiener for giving the world a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    LOOKING FORWARD TO READ IT

    Mr. Weiner visted my school yesterday, tellimg us about his inspiring story. What a man. He lived a hard life :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Extraordinary Story!

    I highly recommend this book. Mr. Wiener's story is simply extraordinary. I especailly liked how the book also included information on Mr. Wiener's life after his liberation. You will be hooked from the first chapter on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was amazing! Mr. Weiner's example should be published

    This book was amazing! Mr. Weiner's example should be published in the news everday as a reminder to appreciate life!.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Excellent reality read!!

    My wife and I had the opportunity to meet and listen to Mr. Weiner
    speak at our children's school. After hearing this kind and humble man
    speak and then reading his book, I must say we have found a totally
    new appreciation for the very simple things we have in our lives that tend to get over looked!!

    Mr. Weiner's book tells a chilling story of the horrors he endured
    during a horrific time in history.

    Thank you for sharing your story with us and our kids, we need this
    reality check and thank you for your kind heart!!

    Tim D.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Tough book to read, and well worth it!

    This is not a book to be taken lightly. I have the privilege of being personally acquainted with the author, and I can assure you he takes great pains to be absolutely certain that everything he writes - and everything he says in his presentations - is absolute truth. Painful though it may be, it's all true. Let me offer the reader Alter's Facebook page facebook(dot)com/alterwiener and also his website alterwiener(dot)com. If you want an idea of the content, just go to his website and download the Preface of the book for free (PDF). Then decide whether to read the book or not. I hope you decide in favor. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    What am amazing story by an amazing man.

    I would first like to say that before even reading the book, i was so privliged as to be able to hear Mr. Wiener as an inspirational speaker at my school. His story is one that very few people in this world can realate to, and the ones who can know his story all to closely. His book is the best book i have probably ever read, because i know his words are true. Its not easy for someone to who has lived through such hell, that we now call the holocaust, to speak and tell their story. Everytime he tells his story, it is relived in him, so imagine reliving hell everytime. He is selfless in the fact that he has now lived through the holocaust and continues to live his life trying to tell others of his horendous stories. This book will be one the greatest books you could buy to hear such a story. I purchased this book just a few weeks after it came out in stores, and read the whole thing, frount to back in about 3 days. I know that if you read this book, you will be able to understand how privliged i feel to have been able to meet such a man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Great

    I heard him speak and i cried. A great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Upstairs nursery

    For ages zero to three year olds. Three cribs and one twin sized bed. ~idol heatherflow~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Not the typical Holocaust survival story, this one IS truly about surviving..

    Mr.Wiener, first of all,allow me to deeply apologize for your suffering at the hands of our "fellow" man. It is shameful, heart breaking, and utterly shocking the attrocities that the countless Jews (and many others) were forced to endure. I have read many memoirs of the Holocaust,from different perspectives, bit your life story struck me as poignant, honest and I admire your strength and devotion. Reading other stories, in which the brutalities were spelled out in depth, I was able to paint a picture in my mind's eye, although, nothing I could imagine would probably come close to the reality. Your memoir took me past that, into a world I often wondered. How were these people able to pick up the remnants of their life? What lingering effects were still present 20, 40, 60 years later? Would I be able to recognize the haunted look so often described? In most cases,no. What I imagine I would see in your eyes,Dear Sir, would be unending kindness, a youthful teinkle, and ultimate, inherrant goodness. I can only hope to gain your wisdom, your forgiving approach to humankind, and enduring courage. To the reader, open these pages with the expectation of being saddened, angry, relieved, then rejuvenated. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2