BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

From Acid To The Body Of Christ

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It made me break my lava lamp I laughed so much.

    Okay, I'm just gonna say that never EVER have I read such a book. Having said that, it did remind me ALOT of Hunter S. Thompson and Vonnegut, but with a more neurotic and psychedelic flow. The writing borders on brilliant, possibly to deep for the average reader but also raunchy and immature at times. The pop-culture and music references resound with a heavy metal feedback that paints the scenes with magnificent colors. Fans of Pink Floyd, Sabbath, Tool, and such will not be disappointed nor the masses who enjoy psychology or philosophy. This work cannot be categorized or labeled, for no tags would do it justice. This is nothing less than a masterpiece that should be praised as such. I shall read again and again and expect to find it just as enjoyable and intellectually stimulating. Thank you for your art Mr. Danzig! That cannot be your real name huh?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Alice in Wonderland meets Ignatius J. Reilly

    Nothing can prepare the reader for this ride thru the gutters of New Orleans on a souped up magic carpet trippin' on purple microdot with Pink Floyd blaring from mind-blower speakers! After I finished this book, the only feeling comparable was when I exited the theater after seeing Indiana Jones for the first time! Never knew what to expect next. Read this book and be forever changed. Amazing!~

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    The best book I've read since Confederacy of Dunces!!!

    It's hilarious, disturbing, dark, quirky, intellectual, brilliant, and undoubtably destined to be a cult classic. Never read a book with such imagery and depictions of an underground counter-culture type neurotic character. If you know of anyone who has panic attacks or agoraphobia, you must refer to this book. Pop culture and music references abound, this is dare I say, BRILLIANT! The author could fill in for Hunter S. on any given day as a Rolling Stone contributor. I am blown away!
    Writw more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Mind Blowing!

    I am not sure where to start when it comes to this review. It is a book unlike any other and yet it touches so many subjects that I can't imagine people not liking it. This book is deep, relatable and yet there were so many parts had me cracking up. There were great rock references that were always on point and had me looking them up if I didn't know the songs and bands off-hand.

    I am trying to be careful not to give away anything, but I can say that throughout this memoir he is able to conquer a fear of his that left was debilitating. I know how that is like even though mine is different than his I know how it is like to have something take over you and you do whatever you can to stay within your comfort zone to avoid it. The way the story was written was much like a good friend having a conversation with you.

    A big part of the book is also about the journey about how he was able to find Christ and even that wasn't the same way people are used to hearing. The genuine nature of this story makes me wish other stories, let alone memoirs were this honest and at least a quarter as fulfilling.

    Excellent job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    A stunning depiction of a panic stricken genius and his Beavis and Butthead experiences!

    Anyone who has or knows of someone who has panic attacks, should read this book. Maybe the best and most fascinating story on the topic of that disorder. I cannot say enough great things about the book. Totally outside the box of normal. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Very good read

    This book is a must read for anyone from the Mississippi Gulf Coast. It is very interesting and entertaining. As for critics like cook26, stop hating just cause you are one of the insurgents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Poppet Review

    Once I started reading this book I couldn't stop. I found it hilariously funny throughout. Daxx manages to draw scenes quickly, sucking the reader in with a fluidity a bit like a vacuum cleaner. Once he's hooked you, you can't let it go. I devoured this book. At times crying I was laughing so much.

    It is gritty, candid, fabulously honest, with a great eye for making you feel the pain Daxx is living through. His out of mind experiences, his divine experiences, and the utter humiliation of three thumbs down rating his performance in the bedroom with his perfect ten, are real. You wrote so that the reader experiences it with you. The doctor's examination and the seasickness were also really painful to read but told so well I was laughing at your humiliation (sorry).

    Daxx I wish this wasn't a memoir, because I'd love to read the sequel!

    LOVED IT! And highly recommend this for anyone who's ever had it tough, and would like a good laugh with an overall feel good factor.

    Also Daxx, I'd like to commend you on showing that those chosen for redemption have often been really good at sinning. REALLY GOOD! So many late teenagers and adults will relate wholeheartedly to your experiences, but you tell them with such flare and deprecating humor, that does not stop entertaining.

    Poppet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    My new favorite dark and weird read.

    9O% OF THE POPULATION WILL NOT COMPREHEND OR APPRECIATE THE DEPTH OF THIS BOOK, WHICH MAKES IT EVEN THAT MORE ATTRACTIVE TO ME. FROM THE SABBATH INFLUENCED COVER ARTWORK TO THE DARK POETRY THAT LEADS INTO A FEW OF THE CHAPTERS, EVERYTHING IS SPECTACULAR AND UNIQUE. NOTHING I HAVE EVER READ EQUALS THE SOLACE I FELT AFTER READING THIS BOOK. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO THOSE "OUTSIDE THE BOX" PEOPLE SUCH AS MYSELF. AND YES DAXX, THERE ARE OTHERS OUT THERE "TOUCHED" LIKE YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book ROCKS!

    I purchased at our local Barnes and Noble after a friend told me about this book. I read it in 2 days and could not stop. I would say it's my fav book ever! Nothing has ever held my attention or peaked my interest the way it did. As a fan of Psychology and dark poetry I must say this is right up my alley! The absolute funniest chapter was the trip to the ocean. I will read this book at least twice a month for the rest of my stupid life! I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1