Customer Reviews for

From Ashes

Average Rating 4.5
( 443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Emotional and Amazing!

Ms. McAdams has done it again! I laughed, got teary eyed and pissed off! One character, I just wanted to give him a good cussing, and one I wanted to ask if she knew what she had right in front of her eyes. Some are saying the additional love interest towards the end wa...
Ms. McAdams has done it again! I laughed, got teary eyed and pissed off! One character, I just wanted to give him a good cussing, and one I wanted to ask if she knew what she had right in front of her eyes. Some are saying the additional love interest towards the end was too much, but I think it was needed so Cass could get over her past and move on. Great job! And if you haven't read Taking Chances, I highly recommend it as well!

posted by 8298088 on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

It would be dishonest for me to say that I did not like parts o

It would be dishonest for me to say that I did not like parts of this book. I have no problem with the first half. I thought the love story was sweet and really rooted for Gage and Cassidy. I got to the halfway mark and realized that this book is very similar to the en...
It would be dishonest for me to say that I did not like parts of this book. I have no problem with the first half. I thought the love story was sweet and really rooted for Gage and Cassidy. I got to the halfway mark and realized that this book is very similar to the energizer bunny. It just keeps going and going and going.

This book is melodramatic. I don’t mean, because Cassidy was abused as a child or because the main characters are absolutely horrible at communication. This book is melodramatic, because of the dialogue, because the characters are ridiculously unrealistic and because too much happens. Honestly, more happens to these characters in a yearlong period than in the lifespan of a normal person. Halfway into the book the author introduces a new character that comes with his own set of drama. Then 75% in a new love interest is thrown in to shake things up. Why? I honestly don’t understand why these characters were introduced. How is the reader supposed to be invested or even care about these new characters? They came 75% in, obviously they’re not important, now you’re just making us suffer through your ridiculous story. I say suffer, because very few people will quit a book after reading 75% of it.

Then there are the characters. I understand why authors make their heroine’s damaged and tragic. Some of my favorite characters in literature are damaged. No, I do not mind a damaged heroine; I do mind a stupid heroine. Cassidy is stupid. I get that she’s had a traumatic past and has issues with trust, getting to know people and taking care of herself. That is all clear, still I found her to be incredibly stupid. The first half of this book consists of misdirection and miscommunication. There were moments where Cassidy’s inability to read a situation astounded me. I could not believe how difficult it was for her to see that she was being manipulated and lied to. Having common sense really can save you grief in life and Cassidy has none of it.

Then there is Tyler. Ty is an affront to best friends everywhere. At this moment there is a BFF giving their friend half of their dinner, because they know their friend doesn’t have any. There is a BFF asking their parents if their abused friend can stay the night so that their friend can have a night of peace. It goes on and on. The fact that Ty could go from that BFF to the bastard he became is beyond my comprehension. It is fine that he loves Cassidy. It is fine that he wants to continue to be the number one man in her life. Everything else about this character is awful and I have to admit unrealistic. He emotionally blackmails, manipulates and abuses not only the girl he has spent his life tending, but also the cousin who takes him in. Worst of all, this side of him comes out of nowhere.

Cassidy before the epilogue is 19 years old. She is finally free of her abusive family and it never occurs to her to make a plan? She doesn’t save up money to go to school, start a business, or anything. I’m not even sure that she graduated from high school. There is not even a mention on whether or not Cassidy sees her future as a stay at home mother. Everyone is different. I literally wouldn’t care what her plan was, as long as she had a plan. Nope, she gets away from her abusive life, focuses on guys and that’s it.

A love story should have romance and two people who cannot live without each other. Still, a healthy love has two independent people who have lives outside of each other.

posted by BookGeekConfesses on December 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It would be dishonest for me to say that I did not like parts o

    It would be dishonest for me to say that I did not like parts of this book. I have no problem with the first half. I thought the love story was sweet and really rooted for Gage and Cassidy. I got to the halfway mark and realized that this book is very similar to the energizer bunny. It just keeps going and going and going.

    This book is melodramatic. I don’t mean, because Cassidy was abused as a child or because the main characters are absolutely horrible at communication. This book is melodramatic, because of the dialogue, because the characters are ridiculously unrealistic and because too much happens. Honestly, more happens to these characters in a yearlong period than in the lifespan of a normal person. Halfway into the book the author introduces a new character that comes with his own set of drama. Then 75% in a new love interest is thrown in to shake things up. Why? I honestly don’t understand why these characters were introduced. How is the reader supposed to be invested or even care about these new characters? They came 75% in, obviously they’re not important, now you’re just making us suffer through your ridiculous story. I say suffer, because very few people will quit a book after reading 75% of it.

    Then there are the characters. I understand why authors make their heroine’s damaged and tragic. Some of my favorite characters in literature are damaged. No, I do not mind a damaged heroine; I do mind a stupid heroine. Cassidy is stupid. I get that she’s had a traumatic past and has issues with trust, getting to know people and taking care of herself. That is all clear, still I found her to be incredibly stupid. The first half of this book consists of misdirection and miscommunication. There were moments where Cassidy’s inability to read a situation astounded me. I could not believe how difficult it was for her to see that she was being manipulated and lied to. Having common sense really can save you grief in life and Cassidy has none of it.

    Then there is Tyler. Ty is an affront to best friends everywhere. At this moment there is a BFF giving their friend half of their dinner, because they know their friend doesn’t have any. There is a BFF asking their parents if their abused friend can stay the night so that their friend can have a night of peace. It goes on and on. The fact that Ty could go from that BFF to the bastard he became is beyond my comprehension. It is fine that he loves Cassidy. It is fine that he wants to continue to be the number one man in her life. Everything else about this character is awful and I have to admit unrealistic. He emotionally blackmails, manipulates and abuses not only the girl he has spent his life tending, but also the cousin who takes him in. Worst of all, this side of him comes out of nowhere.

    Cassidy before the epilogue is 19 years old. She is finally free of her abusive family and it never occurs to her to make a plan? She doesn’t save up money to go to school, start a business, or anything. I’m not even sure that she graduated from high school. There is not even a mention on whether or not Cassidy sees her future as a stay at home mother. Everyone is different. I literally wouldn’t care what her plan was, as long as she had a plan. Nope, she gets away from her abusive life, focuses on guys and that’s it.

    A love story should have romance and two people who cannot live without each other. Still, a healthy love has two independent people who have lives outside of each other.

    24 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    cant read :(

    I preorder the book and it said i would get it on my nook on the 11th but its not there it still says preorderd? Please help if you know what i could do?

    10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Ehh...

    Not the greatest... too much unreal drama.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This book is so terrible

    I purcgased molly mcadams other book on sale and though at times it was a bit too convenient and predictable and a little too melodramatic, it was a decent story with likable characters. So I tried from the ashes. I couldn't continue reading it past the beginning chapters. The characters are one dimensional, unrealistic, and not all that likable and the plot is simplistic and not plausible. Don't waste your money. Perhaps Stealing Harper will be better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Too wordy

    Started off really well but soon became too wordy. I found myself skipping parts to keep from being bored. I almost did not finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Just a bad book.

    This book was not for me. Cassidy is a weak, unfocused dramatic girl. Her "best friend" is a selfish, egotistical jerk. Her love interest is a one note stereotype. This book drags on forever; the only emotions I felt were repulsion for the characters and horror that the book was not over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    I too pre-ordered it on my Nook and said it would be available o

    I too pre-ordered it on my Nook and said it would be available on Dec 11th, and it has not been 'shipped/delivered" yet.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    WTH....

    So disappointed in this book. Cassidy is sooo pathetic & the guys are even more so. Couldn't even finish the book because of how ridiculous this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Unrealistic

    Characters were great, but the situations and plot are a little far fetched. Couldn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    KELSTRELMOON IS LOCKED OUT OF EVERYTHING!

    Can you please move your rp for them?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Mistykit

    Do you know the cat that wanted to adopt me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Ravenflight

    Sits and wonders why everyone is ignoring her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    To Ravenpaw

    Please dont advertise on Blazeclan territory and try to steal our cats.
    Thanks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Ice

    "Hello, may I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Yuck!

    Usually I can force myself to make it through a book no matter how bad it is but there was no way I could finish this book. There is hardly a plot and every chapter feels exactly the same as the last. The main character, Cassidy, is pathetic, boring, naive girl who gets mad at her best friend, Tyler, for wanting a relationship with her when she has led him on for years, sleeping in his bed and telling him she loves him. And Tyler is a manipulative control freak. Bottom line: don't waste your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Ashes

    Im sorry to say this but ashes is the worst book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    I cannot read either because I preordered. It is very frustratin

    I cannot read either because I preordered. It is very frustrating.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2