BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

From Ashes to Honor

Average Rating 3
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lives are forever changed that day but healing can begin!

If he had only answered that last phone call from the World Trade Center...

Minutes before two jumbo jets changed U.S. history, NYPD officer Austin Finley ignored the call from his brother. Mercy Samara, who cost Austin his job after 9/11, leaves the city to work as ...
If he had only answered that last phone call from the World Trade Center...

Minutes before two jumbo jets changed U.S. history, NYPD officer Austin Finley ignored the call from his brother. Mercy Samara, who cost Austin his job after 9/11, leaves the city to work as a school counselor in Baltimore. When Mercy and Austin cross paths again, will their common - and painful - memories finally bring them closer or drive them further apart? (excerpt back cover).

In the latest novel from Loree Lough, From Ashes to Honor, works through the lives of Dr. Mercy Samara and former NYPD officer, Austin Finley, who are brought together following the events of 9/11. Mercy is a clinical psychologist whose goal is determine if Austin is fit enough to return to work as a NYPD officer after multiple incidents involving his out of control temper. Despite all his sessions with Mercy, he won't come to terms with what happened that fateful day and how it affecting him in his work and therefore, remains in denial.

Mercy struggling with her own issues involving 9/11 and the fact that most people stereotyped her as another Muslim terrorist following the attacks, while trying to help first responders like Austin deal with the underlying trauma of that day. When she can't sign the release authorizing Austin to return to anything other than desk duty, there paths will take them to new places but will once again intersect.

This time, Austin has turned his talents to becoming an EMT and Mercy has moved to Baltimore to take up something less stressful than working with first responders in the aftermath of 9/11, she now works as a high school guidance counselor. When a football player is injured and the paramedics are called, Mercy and Austin come face to face once more.

I received this book compliments of Abingdon Press for my honest review and couldn't wait to dive into this one once it arrived. This story takes the reader into an emotional ride into the lives of Mercy and Austin but also into the lives of the supporting characters as well, Griff, Flora and Bud, and even the strained relationship with Leo, Mercy's half brother. What we get an opportunity to see is how the rebuilding of what people went through following 9/11 is an ongoing, life changing process that will never be forgotten. It's not something that will ever be forgotten, especially in the lives of Mercy and Austin.

This book is a perfect tribute to those first responders of the 9/11 tragedy that forever changed all of us. It united us all in a common goal, a goal to take care of one another, and see past our differences. This would make a great gift for anyone involved in first response or who loves anything dealing with 9/11. I rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

posted by Heart2Heart on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Needs work

I really liked the story line of this book and I appreciated that it didn't gloss over things too much. However I felt the writing and especially the editing were lacking. Parts of the story were repetitive while others were never explained. The story had such promise, ...
I really liked the story line of this book and I appreciated that it didn't gloss over things too much. However I felt the writing and especially the editing were lacking. Parts of the story were repetitive while others were never explained. The story had such promise, but I feel like the book needed a bit more ploshing and fine tuning.

posted by JulesWrite527 on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Needs work

    I really liked the story line of this book and I appreciated that it didn't gloss over things too much. However I felt the writing and especially the editing were lacking. Parts of the story were repetitive while others were never explained. The story had such promise, but I feel like the book needed a bit more ploshing and fine tuning.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    FIRST IN A GREAT NEW INSPIRATIONAL SERIES - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Mercy and Austin are two people broken by the horrors of 9-11. But Austin has faith; Mercy doesn't. Austin doesn't believe in happenstance, in coincidence, in fate. But he believes in Mercy. Mercy, on the other hand, has lost her ability to believe in much of anything at all. Together, they try to find their way. The operative word here is 'try'. This ain't your typical romance, and perhaps that's one of the reasons this book worked so well for me. Ms. Lough's writing is seamless, her timing impeccable. Although some say the ending of this book left them 'wanting more', in my view that's exactly what it was supposed to do. I, too, am wanting more and cannot wait until the next book in the First Responders series comes out. This was simply an excellent, excellent book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lives are forever changed that day but healing can begin!

    If he had only answered that last phone call from the World Trade Center...

    Minutes before two jumbo jets changed U.S. history, NYPD officer Austin Finley ignored the call from his brother. Mercy Samara, who cost Austin his job after 9/11, leaves the city to work as a school counselor in Baltimore. When Mercy and Austin cross paths again, will their common - and painful - memories finally bring them closer or drive them further apart? (excerpt back cover).

    In the latest novel from Loree Lough, From Ashes to Honor, works through the lives of Dr. Mercy Samara and former NYPD officer, Austin Finley, who are brought together following the events of 9/11. Mercy is a clinical psychologist whose goal is determine if Austin is fit enough to return to work as a NYPD officer after multiple incidents involving his out of control temper. Despite all his sessions with Mercy, he won't come to terms with what happened that fateful day and how it affecting him in his work and therefore, remains in denial.

    Mercy struggling with her own issues involving 9/11 and the fact that most people stereotyped her as another Muslim terrorist following the attacks, while trying to help first responders like Austin deal with the underlying trauma of that day. When she can't sign the release authorizing Austin to return to anything other than desk duty, there paths will take them to new places but will once again intersect.

    This time, Austin has turned his talents to becoming an EMT and Mercy has moved to Baltimore to take up something less stressful than working with first responders in the aftermath of 9/11, she now works as a high school guidance counselor. When a football player is injured and the paramedics are called, Mercy and Austin come face to face once more.

    I received this book compliments of Abingdon Press for my honest review and couldn't wait to dive into this one once it arrived. This story takes the reader into an emotional ride into the lives of Mercy and Austin but also into the lives of the supporting characters as well, Griff, Flora and Bud, and even the strained relationship with Leo, Mercy's half brother. What we get an opportunity to see is how the rebuilding of what people went through following 9/11 is an ongoing, life changing process that will never be forgotten. It's not something that will ever be forgotten, especially in the lives of Mercy and Austin.

    This book is a perfect tribute to those first responders of the 9/11 tragedy that forever changed all of us. It united us all in a common goal, a goal to take care of one another, and see past our differences. This would make a great gift for anyone involved in first response or who loves anything dealing with 9/11. I rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Ending fake to make you buy the net in series.

    Second in seriees does the same. I think it is terrible to waste the reader's time to like characters only to leave one hanging.
    If you don't ike being "led on," do not read these books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Disappointed

    I liked the characters and enjoyed the story until the end. I agree with the other raters that the ending was rather abrupt, left you hanging, and was totally disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    This book was decent. Not the 'best' book ever, but it was good.

    This book was decent. Not the 'best' book ever, but it was good...Until the ending. Yes, I understand there is a sequel, but the book just stopped. No resolution to anything. One minute Austin is thinking about having to make a tough decision and then the chapter ends and the next chapter is the epilogue that doesn't clear anything up at all. It's almost like the author didn't feel like writing anymore and gave up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Jeanie d

    Spiritually inspiring and well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A stirring tribute to first responders

    After September 11, 2011, multi-published Loree Lough decided she wanted to write a series of novels that would honor the heroes of that fateful day. The first in that series is Ashes to Honor. It is my honor to call Loree "friend."
    NYPD officer Austin Finley, one of the responders to the Twin Towers disaster, ignored a call from his twin as he sped to what would later be called Ground Zero, not realizing that he missed the last chance to talk to Avery.
    After several explosions temperwise, he is ordered to begin sessions with Psychologist Mercy Samara. He attends enough to make him sick to his stomach, much preferring his bottle of Jim Beam in the privacy of his home.
    It doesn't take long for him to realize he cannot continue as a police officer. He retires to a houseboat on the coast, becomes an EMT, begins attending AA and becomes a Christian, and his life is changed.
    Mercy goes through enough traumas herself to realize she has to leave the first responders counseling. One of her counselees commits suicide. Her father dies in her arms. She attempts suicide herself.
    When Austin and Mercy meet up again, they realize they share more than a disastrous history. It doesn't take long before they are linked. One problem seems insurmountable: Austin does not want to be unequally yoked to an unbeliever, and Mercy chooses not to believe in a God who did not step in to save her mother, her father, or her counselee.
    Yet--he cannot ignore the deepening love he feels for this caring woman. And she wants so much to be part of his life, just not at the expense of her own beliefs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great

    Great theme and storyline but the ending sucked

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    ....the ending

    I would have given it 5 stars if the ending want how it was

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good, quick read

    Easy, light-hearted read. I thought the characters were very like-able. I enjoyed the begginning of the story, but not so much for the ending. It just seemed rushed....could have been a little more detailed?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Preachy

    The book starts on 9/11/01 and ends shortly after today, 9/11/11. I found the main character to be overly preachy and was very dissapointed by the ending. The one redeeming quality is that it is a quick read at 284 pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Good story

    Religion, love and struggles with life's stresses. Not thrilled with ending. Not sure if i will continue the series. 285 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    I loved this book and would have given it 5 stars if the ending

    I loved this book and would have given it 5 stars if the ending would have been different. I understand it's a series, but I would have loved for there to have been a little bit of closure before moving on to the next book. Other than that, I think this was a wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    ok

    Not great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Not a favorite

    Not a favorite

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    A good begining and middle but no end

    Likked the premis of the story, however the charaters you get to know and love fall off without closeure or explination. There is no ending obf the story the author seems to have gotten bored with her story and threw out an ending paragraph.The wrting was redundant in many places and needed editing and polish. I am grateful I didn,t pay for this book. I wiil not purchase any other books in the series after reading the reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    An amazing story of courage and faith. I liked the way the autho

    An amazing story of courage and faith. I liked the way the author made
    the characters come alive,and you got to know them well. There was one
    character who always denied any faith till' the end of the story. They
    all dealt with pain and loss, but managed to survive. There were these
    two characters in the story- an older couple who even, when told that
    the wife had Cancer, they always remained optimistic. They had a great
    sense of humor, that always brighten the atmosphere. They always made me
    laugh,they said the funniest things! I really enjoyed reading this
    book and look forward to book 2- Honor Redeemed, in the First Responders
    series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    The ending sticks

    Liked the book until i got to the ending! Glad i didn't pay for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Not a typical story

    I expected this book to be more intense and instead I would say it was a light read. It started out very interesting but about half way in it became boring w/lots of details. The ending was incredibly abrupt...wrapped up in two pages...I don't disagree with the main characters decision but I would have liked more put into the end. This is a Christian Fiction book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3