Customer Reviews for

From Baghdad With Love: A Marine, the War and a Dog Named Lava

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    heartwarming even in war

    awesome book even in the midst of a cruel & unwarranted war, this story of love for a dog is heartwarming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    One of the best books I've ever read

    I am usually a crime, mystery, and high action lover, so I was worried that this would be too "cute" for my liking. I quickly realized that I could not put this book down! It is suspenseful and it is the ONLY book I have ever wanted to read twice! You must read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    From Baghdad With Love is very touching!

    Once you pick it up you won't want to put it down until you're finished.<BR/>It is even more endearing because it is a true story. You are captivated and want to help Lava.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Border

    border

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Just wow

    I cant say enough about this book. It is meant to be read not only by animal lovers but everyone in general. Authors givr you an insight to a real war....not the small selective elements that we are fed by the media. I applaud all the people who took part in rescuing Lava. There arent any proper words to describe the kind of love one receives from a dog....a dog who cant speak...yet is capable to showing you the ultimate loyal pure love. I highly recommend this book to everyone. As for you Lava....what a lucky flea infested mutt you are...not only you have a wondergul family you received what so many fight for.....freedom! Happy life Lava

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Once I picked up From Baghdad, With Love, and started reading, I

    Once I picked up From Baghdad, With Love, and started reading, I could not put it down. It is hands down one of the best books I have ever read. I must admit that some parts of the book were boring, and I didn’t quite understand how they fit into the story, but once I kept reading the better it got. I love how the author Lieutenant Colonel Jay Kopelman writes about his journey on getting Lava to the United States. But it also teaches the reader facts about the war in Iraq and what was happening where he was stationed. The book teaches a great lesson, which is that you always have to keep trying, no matter what happened before. Honestly, I started to stop believing that Lava would ever get to go to Kopelman’s home in California. There were so many failed attempts to getting Lava to the United States, but by having Jon Van Zante there to keep encouraging them they were able to get Lava safely to the United States. It killed me to read the parts when Kopelman thought about how Lava would die; I wanted to scream “I KNOW HE’S ALIVE. THE BACK OF THE BOOK SAYS THAT KOPELMAN LIVES WITH LAVA IN CALIFORNIA! JUST GET TO THE HAPPY PART ALREADY!” Finding Lava gives Kopelman and all the other Marines that help take care of the puppy hope to keep moving forward and that it will get better. I think that high schools would be most likely to read this book because they have some knowledge about what was going on in Iraq during the war. Even if they do not know much about the war, the book helps describe it. I know it has helped me understand what was going on in Iraq from the point of view from a soldier instead of the press. I don’t think younger kids should read this book because there is a strong language usage.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    The book From Baghdad With Love is an amazing and heartwarming s

    The book From Baghdad With Love is an amazing and heartwarming story. Once I heard that the book was about a dog I knew I wanted to read it. I am one of the biggest dog lovers there is so this book was right up my alley. This book combines a great war memoir and a dog story all in one, making this one of my favorites. It was about a Marine named Jay Kopelman and his team found an Iraqi puppy which they would name Lava. They all grew much attached and knew they had to get him to the United States. There were many bumps in the road along the way. There were many organizations that joined the cause to get Lava to the United States, which showed the humanity of people supporting the troops, especially this Marine. I loved how everyone worked together and never gave up in the end.
    Another reason why I like this book because it was real and raw and Jay Kopelman didn’t hold back with any of his descriptions. Some parts of the book explained disturbing pictures at times but, it showed me exactly what the U.S soldiers see and experience every day. It also showed LT. Kopelman’s friendship unfold from beginning to end and how Lava became such a big part in his life. I got to see Lava grow up and affect so many others lives and how he helped so many Marines forget just for a second that they were at war and could possibly never come home. I wouldn’t recommend this to littler kids because of the descriptions, but I think this is a great book for teenagers or adults. All the way through the book I never wanted to put it down. Each chapter captivates you and forces your mind to think all of the possibilities like whether Lava would make it in the end or not. I read the book in 3 days and enjoyed every bit of it. I am so happy that I got to read this truly endearing dog story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Wonderful

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I applaud Col. Kopelman for all he did to bring Lava home from Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    J

    What now people?! I gots de book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    This book was wonderful!

    I was a little afraid to read this book because I am so softhearted about any animal (especially dogs) being hurt in any way. However this book was wonderful so if you are like I am and are cautious about reading it go ahead buy it and enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    My mama's boyfriend, Kenneth Licklider, owner of Vohne Liche Ken

    My mama's boyfriend, Kenneth Licklider, owner of Vohne Liche Kennels, told me to read this and I had no clue he had such an amazing deal with this story even though his part is so little. Great story and I even met the author. Loved it. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A book that more people should read!

    This book can open so many eyes on what realy goes on in a war, and what our men and women that are in the service really have to deal with everyday that they are in the Middle East. Their mind set is not of love, which can be understandable, but there has to be an outlet for the emotions to come through. If more people realized that, there would be more help for the service men and women that come home. The one thing that kept the author going was this puppy who made him laugh, cry, and do everything possible to bring the dog home so that he could have a better life and return that love to someone who saved him, even though it was against regulations. Well done Mr. Kopelman, and thank you for your service to our country. God bless you today and always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Awesome Read

    This was an amazing story for any animal lover. From giggles of delight, to edge of your seat anxiety this book will pull you into the life as person by person gets involved with saving this pup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended for all dog lovers!

    Because this book is written by the soldier, it lacks a lot of "touchy feely" detail. But through his writing he includes a lot of fact about the war and about other caught up in the war and you learn how even a war-hardened soldier can fall in love with a little fur-ball. And how everyone else helps him because of this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Touching

    Such a touching story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Must Read! Intriguing and Emotional

    I definately would read more books by this author. Fantastic entertaining and kept me on the edge of my seat. Could not put the book (Nookcolor Tablet that is) down. Emotionally rewarding and very factually informative. I think this would be a movie I would pay to go see at the theatre......come on Hollywood.
    Shay Radeschi/Florida

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Best Non-Fiction I've ever read!

    The story was really touching. I didn't like the frequent use of swear words and how many sentences were ended with "right?". Other than that, it was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    Sweet Story

    This was such a sweet, easy to read story. I always find it fascinating to read about what is going on with the war from people who are really over there. This gives you that aspect and the tender side where they rescue a puppy. What could be better??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    great

    This book was a very well written and has a great story line. This is a great book to read if you are an animal lover, or even if you just enjoy a great story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Wonderful book

    Wonderful book. Very touching; makes you feel good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5