Customer Reviews for

From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1401)

4 Star

(569)

3 Star

(200)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Sookie is her to Stay, I Hope.

From Dead to Worse is the 8th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series and I really enjoyed the latest book. So much action taking place in this novel, lots of different plots going on. Sookie's boyfriend Quinn has disappeared in this book and is no where to be fo...
From Dead to Worse is the 8th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series and I really enjoyed the latest book. So much action taking place in this novel, lots of different plots going on. Sookie's boyfriend Quinn has disappeared in this book and is no where to be found. Vampires Eric, Bill and Pam are back. Bill is still asking Sookie to forgive him and Eric is remembering the time he spent alone with Sookie. There is a Werewolf War and a hostile Vampire takeover. Sookie still has a roommate that has the cat (man) that she used magic on to turn into said cat and can't change him back. The action opens up right away along with the many twists and turns in this book, it is sure to keep your interest until the end. I am looking forward to book 9.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I thought Sookie was really one dimensional in this book. In her others I have found her to be lacking in emotion and way too deep in denial about things but the books were quite enjoyable. This book however had me thinking of her as a completely unforgiving, emotionl...
I thought Sookie was really one dimensional in this book. In her others I have found her to be lacking in emotion and way too deep in denial about things but the books were quite enjoyable. This book however had me thinking of her as a completely unforgiving, emotionless, self-centered snot. For someone who started off as being non-judgmental and compassionate to others "crosses to bear" she sure isn't portraying that in this book. Also, aside from pretty much ostracizing all the men who care for her right out of her life, there are no romantic moments...none. She just keeps finding reasons (very selfish ones at times) to keep dumping on the men who want to love or at least like her.
I don't know, maybe Charlaine wanted to show how jaded she is becoming by being indebted to all the Supes. This book had too many plots going on, and because of that, it was rushed and had no feeling.

I'm sorry, but this was not nearly as good as the prior books.

posted by Mithy1 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best of the series

    ISBN-13: 9780441015894

    I have to admit I found this addition to the Sookie Stackhouse series less than stellar. The writing is solid, of course, and Harris is excellent at creating real-feeling character as usual. But there wasn't any overlapping plot, instead there were a series of wrap ups of ongoing plots, like a checklist, one after the other.

    First, Sookie discovers a long lost relative who approaches her through Eric. Then on the way home someone tries to kill her, revealing a full scale assassination attempt not just against her, but against everyone linked to the warring local werewolf packs. By 140 pages in the whole packs-at-war situation is mostly resolved, thanks to Sookie, but the vampire situation flares up. This conflict too, not only ends far before the actual end of the book, but there's a closed-eye approach to the adventure and fight scenes that renders them weak.

    The book isn't bad, as far as furthering the adventures of Sookie, and reflecting the massive changes that she and the people around her are going through while trying to recover from Katrina. But it's not necessarily interesting to people who aren't already emotionally invested in Sookie and her crew.

    Perhaps From Dead to Worse is a cleansing book, clearing away the slate of old loose ends and making way for dramatic new adventures. But it just feels like the progress is minimized and halting rather than being an exciting new volume of a typically bardic tale.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    What Happened?!?!

    I love, love, love this series by Charlaine Harris but this book was a bit of a disappointment. Although it did have a few good moments, I finished the book in a funk. This is not the Sookie Stackhouse I have come to know and love. Sookie seems to be in a perpetual bad mood throughout the entire novel. Eric's character was, well, kind of boring. It's as if he was hit with a stupid stick. I usually love his character because he is really sharp and occasionally sarcastic. Where was the humor?!?! One of the main reasons I love this series is because they are funny - this book made me, like an earlier reviewer, laugh out loud only once. By no means is this a terrible book. It's just not Harris' best to date.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    disappointing

    I want to pretend like this book never happened.
    It was like someone else entirely had written this installment. Sookie was nothing but an utter b**ch for most of the book; nothing like what she was in the previous ones.
    She brakes up with Quinn cause she wants someone who puts her before anyone else. But all he did was try and protect his family (like she would do herself if her grandmother was still alive and needing her) - completely unreasonable.
    And she's flippant with Eric when he's nothing but nice to her.
    And what's up with her great-grandfather being a fairy, and on top of that also a Prince? I liked it better when she was just a simple girl with a gift.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Big Charlaine Harris fan

    I must say that I was disappointed in this, the latest sequel to Charlaine Harris' 'Sookie Stackhouse' series. There were too many sub plots, and not enough interaction with all the characters we have come to know and love. The great grandfather plot was strange from the start. I kept waiting for the real Sookie to stand up, but it never happened. I noticed the same thing in her last Harper/Grave series. Please return to your original format - I love Ms. Harris' books, but I felt that I had waited a year for a book written by someone else.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too much plot, not enough emotion.

    I love the Sookie Stackhouse novels but it seems with each new book, the more Harris tries to pack into it. My only guess for it is she wants Sookie to feel more and more over her head with the sups but it is becoming too much. I felt exausted after reading it. I still liked the book but I wish some of the plot lines were spread over two books instead of cramed into one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Big Fan but Not the Best Book in the set

    I have read all 8 books and I absolutely love the series. However, I was unhappy with book number 8 and i feel that it was a let down. Book number 7 was WONDERFUL and full of excitement and number 8 just didn't carry along with that level. I am waiting for number 9 to come in and i am hoping that it will be better than From Dead to Worse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Didn't leave me wanting more

    I devoured every other Sookie Stackhouse book and couldn't wait to start on the next one! If this had been the only book I read of the series, I would have never read another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    A bit disappointed

    I love the Southern Vampire series and have been looking forward to this book for months. Unfortunately, I was disappointed with it. The impression I ended up with is that the book was several short stories shoved together. Sookie has a new, harder edge to her and it's a bit off-putting. Also, the wonderful humor that has been present in the other books was lacking in this one. I have a feeling that this book is meant to serve as a turning point in the series. A lot of things change for the characters in the book. So while I found the story lacking, the book seems important to the series. I'm looking forward to the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    How Many Books in One?

    I generally love the Sookie Stackhouse books. However, I'm finding that Sookie's vocabulary as well as her personality is changing, and it takes away from her unique character. This book isn't one of the best. It seems to have at least two different books combined into one, too many new characters introduced, and a lot of scattered sub-plots. It just wasn't together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    disappointment.

    I like Charlaine Harris' writing style- this was a disappointment. I realized the type / print was larger and wonder if thats because the book is thin. Very little substance and no real drama nor depth.Almost a filler book, until the next books release. I realize series will come to the end when the author decides- Please do not let this end in such an anti-climatic lull. I will be waiting for the next book with fingers crossed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow

    All the books are slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Not her best

    I don't know exactly why but I found this one to be a bit weak. I think it's because there are so many major changes in the power balance and the happen almost completely off camera. Though I understand the books only contain what Sookie experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just ok

    Ive read the whole ST saga and this one was just ok, perhaps because i can not wait for sookie and eric to get together once and for all, come on charlaine, is time already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was good, but not as good as the rest

    I feel in love with the Sookie series. I just feel as if the other books were better than this one. Don't get me wrong it was good, but left to many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    A bit disjointed

    I love this series and it was like meeting up with old friends again. But it felt like the author had a few ideas for stories, but not enough of any one to get a book out of. So, we end up with a Were War in the first part, a Vamp war in the middle and personal/family stuff at the end. Certainly not the best of the series, but I will be waiting eagerly for the next book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Just Finished the Latest Sookie Tale...

    I was really looking forward this book & I devoured the book in one nite. Factoring in my expectations, I really have mixed feelings about this one. I feel as if there were too many irons in the fire. All of the melodrama with the Weres, Vampires, Etc. was resolved in record time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    a little disapointed

    The first chapter I read before the whole book was released was very good. It made me want to read the whole book. Now that I have read the whole book, I see where you went wrong. This one book had too much and not enough content for each subject. The other books had several themes but they were continued somewhat from the other books or they ended with a valid explanations. This book the only thing that crossed ref to the last book was her boyfriend 'the tiger' and that took until the last 1/4 of the book to get to him. Yea! You talked about the queen and what happened to her but too many happenings and no explanations for e.g Sookies brother, the two wars, and meeting her great grandfather and other family members. how come the grandfather found the man and son but did not know the son was his family? What I was hoping for was and expansion on what Vamp Bill said to her at the wedding. The other 7 books I own are great this one was a little disappointing. oh! yea! no sex. Whats up with that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 200 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10