Customer Reviews for

From Gods

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

From Gods is an achingly beautiful and superbly electrifying jou

From Gods is an achingly beautiful and superbly electrifying journey of impossible self-discovery, true life-changing love, and non-stop adventure. This is one story that I just couldn’t let go of. The magnetic draw of the exquisite characters and the masterful plot pro...
From Gods is an achingly beautiful and superbly electrifying journey of impossible self-discovery, true life-changing love, and non-stop adventure. This is one story that I just couldn’t let go of. The magnetic draw of the exquisite characters and the masterful plot proved too much for me to be able to put this book down until I reached the end. My love of mythology, the lost art of chivalry, and the transforming power of pure love held my heart captive, and I was unable to remove my eyes from the brightly charged magnetism that was the soul of this stunning piece of artistry. You do not know what you are missing until you dive pell-mell into this all-consuming story of blinding purity, unrestrained heart, and brutal honestly.

I was in complete and utter awe as I watched with bated breath the slow but stunning relationship that developed between Skylar and Mason. While Mason fought his feelings for Skylar, I was completely overjoyed to see him treat her with the gentle respect and delicate tenderness that all females should receive. To see that the concept and pursuit of chivalry is not dead elevated this story to a whole new level for me and endeared it to my heart.

Skylar served as an inspiration to me. She displayed an inner strength that kept her firmly rooted in reality while the world around her was anything but logical. While her heart was in an almost constant state of inner turmoil over Mason’s confusing displays of emotion towards her in addition to the newly discovered revelations that changed her view of the world around her and of who she really was, she was able to keep it in check and move beyond it. Instead of falling apart at the seams whenever her world was uprooted, she chose to concentrate on the good and positive things that she found in the midst of these changes – the support and love her friends and family, a possible new relationship with Mason, and her new world of existence that lay before her. She pushed ever forward with utter surety that she would find the answers to her ever-demanding questions.

Her strength was rooted in the group of people who became her family. Starting out as mere strangers, they come together despite their differences and transformed into the heroes that Skylar needed them to be. They were her heart, her protector, her encouragement, and her motivation to keep going. Without them, she would never have gotten as far as she did. Without them, she would have lost her heart, her mind, and her soul to the danger that jealously and fiercely tried to end her life.

Mary Ting has without a doubt created a stunning and outstanding work of art in From Gods. I eagerly anticipate the sequel to this amazing story as I am officially hooked! Without hesitation, I am thoroughly impressed with Mary Ting’s amazing literary talent! To say that I am mildly looking forward to reading more from her, is a massive understatement. She is officially on my favorite authors of all-time list. I highly recommend that you don’t wait any longer to discover the incredible treasures written by this outstanding author! I know I’m not. :)

posted by Shadowplay4u on November 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skylar is spending her summer with her cousin and best friend Ka

Skylar is spending her summer with her cousin and best friend Kayla. She cant wait to get there and have the best summer ever! On her way there she is pulled over by a cop. He is young and gorgeous and Skylar is struck dumb but she does notice that his name is Doug thou...
Skylar is spending her summer with her cousin and best friend Kayla. She cant wait to get there and have the best summer ever! On her way there she is pulled over by a cop. He is young and gorgeous and Skylar is struck dumb but she does notice that his name is Doug though! She tells her cousin about the swoony Doug when she gets there.

Both Kayla and Skylar start work in Kaylas mums diner. While there in walks the swoony cop but Skylar finds out his name is Mason. Why would he have a different name tag? Is he even a cop? When she finds out her whole life is turned upside down. 

I was really looking forward to reading this. I love anything to do with greek gods and mythology and while it didn't blow me away it was a good read! 

Here's what I liked

I liked Skylar but she wasn't the strongest character because at times I felt she was too passive and insecure. I'm hoping in book 2 she will come into her own more and be stronger. 

I really liked Mason. He is fighting against his feelings for Skylar. He doesn't want to get close to anyone after what happened his mother. He felt responsible and now tries to keep everyone at a distance. For me his struggle with his feelings really made me feel for him!! I wanted him to be happy and rooted for him the whole time. He is kind, gorgeous and a demi god, need I say more!!!

I also liked the idea of the demi gods and the mythology and the fact that they are fighting Hades monsters. 

Now onto what I disliked. 

I didnt like the fact that the first 20% of the book felt like all it was about was Skylar making moon eyes at Mason! I felt that nothing much happened in that time other than that. It was slow starting and nearly turned me off reading the rest. The romance between Skylar and Mason annoyed me at times too, running hot and cold. I know that Mason was struggling with his feelings but I felt Skylar was a bit of a pushover. He was hot and heavy then backed way off Skylar just kept taking him back.

Overall though I enjoyed From Gods. It had enough action and suspense to keep everyone happy. Its a near perfect blend of Mythology and romance and was a good start to what I hope is an amazing series. I look forward to book 2 to see what happens.

posted by BookLoversLife1 on April 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    From Gods is an achingly beautiful and superbly electrifying jou

    From Gods is an achingly beautiful and superbly electrifying journey of impossible self-discovery, true life-changing love, and non-stop adventure. This is one story that I just couldn’t let go of. The magnetic draw of the exquisite characters and the masterful plot proved too much for me to be able to put this book down until I reached the end. My love of mythology, the lost art of chivalry, and the transforming power of pure love held my heart captive, and I was unable to remove my eyes from the brightly charged magnetism that was the soul of this stunning piece of artistry. You do not know what you are missing until you dive pell-mell into this all-consuming story of blinding purity, unrestrained heart, and brutal honestly.

    I was in complete and utter awe as I watched with bated breath the slow but stunning relationship that developed between Skylar and Mason. While Mason fought his feelings for Skylar, I was completely overjoyed to see him treat her with the gentle respect and delicate tenderness that all females should receive. To see that the concept and pursuit of chivalry is not dead elevated this story to a whole new level for me and endeared it to my heart.

    Skylar served as an inspiration to me. She displayed an inner strength that kept her firmly rooted in reality while the world around her was anything but logical. While her heart was in an almost constant state of inner turmoil over Mason’s confusing displays of emotion towards her in addition to the newly discovered revelations that changed her view of the world around her and of who she really was, she was able to keep it in check and move beyond it. Instead of falling apart at the seams whenever her world was uprooted, she chose to concentrate on the good and positive things that she found in the midst of these changes – the support and love her friends and family, a possible new relationship with Mason, and her new world of existence that lay before her. She pushed ever forward with utter surety that she would find the answers to her ever-demanding questions.

    Her strength was rooted in the group of people who became her family. Starting out as mere strangers, they come together despite their differences and transformed into the heroes that Skylar needed them to be. They were her heart, her protector, her encouragement, and her motivation to keep going. Without them, she would never have gotten as far as she did. Without them, she would have lost her heart, her mind, and her soul to the danger that jealously and fiercely tried to end her life.

    Mary Ting has without a doubt created a stunning and outstanding work of art in From Gods. I eagerly anticipate the sequel to this amazing story as I am officially hooked! Without hesitation, I am thoroughly impressed with Mary Ting’s amazing literary talent! To say that I am mildly looking forward to reading more from her, is a massive understatement. She is officially on my favorite authors of all-time list. I highly recommend that you don’t wait any longer to discover the incredible treasures written by this outstanding author! I know I’m not. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    From the very beginning of From Gods I was lured in. This is a f

    From the very beginning of From Gods I was lured in. This is a fast paced read that I absolutely couldn't put down. Skyler's life is about to change, and as a reader, I felt like I was going through it with her and learning about her as she learned about herself. I love the mythology/paranormal combination that makes up this story. I'm excited for more. 

    From Gods by Mary Ting was kindly provided to me by Good Choice Reading for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    That was a very, very great book. The way that Skylar falls for

    That was a very, very great book. The way that Skylar falls for this guy that she doesn't know and he saves her and she keeps falling head over heels for him. Mason is dreamy and he tries so hard to keep this wall up around him so Skylar cant break it down, but she does and he likes it. I liked the parts when Mason shocks Skylar and how giddy Skylar gets around him. And when Mason calls her Sky and Kayla gets a little defensive because she knows that only Skylar's dad called her that. And when Skylar finally sees her dad after so many years, I don't know what to think about that yet. Just have to wait for Book 2 to come out. Great book Mary. Sincerely Amber Lee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great

    The best book ever! I never liked learning about mythology and stuff, but this is easy to understand and it totally changes my perspective about gods. If you are a Percy Jackson fan, then you will love this! If not, you should still read it because i never have read any mythology books but this was AWESOME!!! Amazing book, really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Mary has done it again!! I was hesitant to read this because I d

    Mary has done it again!! I was hesitant to read this because I don't usually enjoy Greek Mythology but boy was I wrong. Right from the start, I knew it was so much more than that. The characters are so likeable and real to me that I was attached from the beginning. Skylar is so awesome, I wish I could hang out with her. And Mason, lets just say he's so much more than a hottie. Their chemistry was undeniable and I was rooting from them. Mary has such a unique way of writing that I feel like I am right there in the story. I cant wait for the next one! I even liked the Greek Mythology angle. You don't want to miss this story!! I don't think Mary can write a book I won't love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    I was so sad when Mary's Crossroads series was over.  It was bea

    I was so sad when Mary's Crossroads series was over.  It was beautifully written and kept me glued to my kindle.  To be honest, I was afraid that this series might not be able to live up to the expectations I had.  It is not often that an author can have a series I devour and then start a completely new series and have it not disappoint me.  Well, Mary Ting managed to actually surpass my expectations.  This book was amazing!  
    With a YA feel, but NA age characters, From Gods had me glued to my kindle.  I am a sucker for ancient Gods in modern times stories and this was a fresh twist on that.  Mason is mysterious, a bit too serious, and beyond swoon worthy.  Skylar is likable, a bit spunky, far tougher then even she realizes with a touch of insecurity that makes her endearing.  The two together discover that she too is a mystery, even to herself.  Action packed with new lore and a romantic undercurrent, this book is an amazing start to a very promising series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    My review:

    I think many readers who love Mary Ting's Crossroads Saga were curious to see, if they will love From Gods us much, because the expectations were high. I am no different, I was little afraid, if Fro Gods would be as good. It was was!

    First of all, let me say, that I love Greek mythology and I tend to be quite critical on fantasy books based on Greek mythology. But Mary Ting delivered again! Not only that, but she created an interesting and well-written world which kept surprising me.

    Plot:

    Skylar is going to visit her cousin before attending a freshman year in the college. As usually, she visits her cousin and best friend Kayla and aunt Kelly. This summer is turning to be different from others.

    On her way driving to her cousin, Skylar is stopped by police. At least, it seems to be the police. When Skylar starts working at the diner her aunt owns, the hot policeman shows up in the diner. The only weird thing is, that he is not a police and he claims, they have never met before. Skylar is disappointed, but the faith has other plans for both of them.

    After Mason saves her life on the beach and Skylar sees creatures she never knew existed, the story takes a turn. Mason tells her the truth about who he and his brothers are. The only mystery remaining is, who is Skylar? Why does she see the creatures? Why is there electricity between them? Who are her parents?

    I have to admit, that I had to raise my eyebrow more than once while reading, especially on the first part of it, being sceptical and thinking how does she author explains this or that. But the story fells to its place and makes sense the longer in you come to the story. It is a fresh view on the descendants of the Greek gods and I loved it!

    Characters:

    Skylar is quite a cautious and conservative young woman in my opinion. She sensed danger and had a strong intuition towards people causing her harm. I liked that she was not a right out kick-ass heroine and loved, that she was a strong and brave young woman.

    My favorite supportive characters in the book are Nick and Kayla. I loved the dynamics between them.

    Generally:

    I highly recommend From Gods by Mary Ting. Read it! It's worth of your time for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    A story that is Electrifying with love. Get ready to be Shocked!

    A story that is Electrifying with love. Get ready to be Shocked!
    From Gods is a story about the descendants of the Greek gods.
    Skylar Rome is a young girl fresh out of high school and on her way to spend the summer with her cousin Kayla before she heads to collage. Little did she know that her life was about to change the minute she enter the town where her cousin lives. Their plan to spend the summer at the beach change, Kayla was told by her mother that she needed her at the diner instead. Seeing that she was upset about it Skylar decided to help too. 
    Working at the diner was a new experience for Skylar and soon thereafter they meet the Grand brothers, one in particular Mason Grand. From there on things start to get weird around Skylar unexplainable things happen. There is evil luring around trying to take Skylar away, and Mason is always there to swoon in to her rescue.
    Although Mason is most of the time rude and cold with Skylar he can’t help but feel something for her and Skylar immediately feel a spark for him, but has a hard time getting to his heart.
     Will he let her into his heart? Will she give up on him?  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    From Gods by Mary Ting is a creative, modern twist on the Greek

    From Gods by Mary Ting is a creative, modern twist on the Greek Mythology tales that have captivated countless generations and inspired countless authors.  In From Gods we meet Skylar who seems like an ordinary teenager dealing with everything from the loss of her father to starting college to falling in love.  But, we quickly learn that not everything about her is so mundane especially after a chance encounter with the drop-dead gorgeous Mason and his mysterious family.  Literally, sparks fly between them and he has a habit of unexpectedly turning up when she needs him the most.




    For me, the book started out very slow and most readers would be tempted to put it down and never pick it up again but PLEASE give it a chance - the pace picks up, romance blossoms, mysteries unravel and the action intensifies.  This is the 7th book I've read from the author and if I have come to expect anything from her books it is that she never disappoints her readers.  From Gods is a well written tale with descriptive scenery, smooth plot delivery and characters that make you care about what happens to them.  Having said that there is a major cliffhanger, something I usually dislike in books, but I know that I will be waiting with bated breath to read the sequel.




    If you are looking for a refreshing YA read with just the right combination of action, mystery, romance and suspense then From Gods is the book that you do not want to miss out on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    INITIAL THOUGHTS I'm slightly worried as I pick up my kindle to

    INITIAL THOUGHTS
    I'm slightly worried as I pick up my kindle to read this, I mean I loved the Crossroads Saga, will I like this too? Will it be as good? My thoughts at 14% "Liking this already" Then at 51% my thoughts were "Definitely warming to the characters of Kayla, Skylar & Mason (loved those two from the beginning of the book) and Nick too. What on earth or descended from heaven is Skylar?




    MY REVIEW
    So the story is that Skylar's dad walked out of her life when she was very young, her mother prefers to not speak about him so he is somewhat of a taboo subject. Skylar hates to be reminded of him so no one call's her Sky anymore as that's what he always called her. So Skylar is going to her Aunt Kelly's to be with her cousin Kayla for the summer break. Upon arriving at aunt Kelly's she learns that her aunt is short of waitresses at the cafe/diner she owns, so Kayla has been coerced into working at the diner. Skylar immediately volunteers to help out too, as she would just be stuck alone otherwise, plus she is the kind of girl that would want to help out her family too. Both girls get really into working at the diner and get along with Jack the cook, and Mona the other waitress. Then of course they see some good looking guys. I'll let you discover how they meet etc by reading the book, as I prefer not to give too much detail. Anyhow it turns out the gorgeous "brothers" Mason, Nick, Remus & Everett are quite different to other guys as they are in fact descendants from the Gods. They seem puzzled by Skylar and they think she too could be a descendant from the Gods when Hades Vultures go after her too. However she turns out to be something quite dangerous to the Grand brothers. In fact she quite accidentally kills one of them when he attacks her. I won't say how Skylar is special or how she kills the errant brother but she does it so unintentionally. When she realises her "power" and that she can kill the guys she wants to keep her distance but they won't allow it, in fact Mason actually seems to care about her. Obviously Kayla is crushing on Nick and Skylar has a soft spot for Mason. Mason keeps his remaining brothers in the dark about exactly what happened when Skylar killed one of them. As the only true full human Kayla also has to be kept in the dark somewhat too.
    The remaining Grand brothers,Everett, Mason & Nick with "cousin" Amanda, Kayla & Skylar take a trip to another dimension, to Olympus to seek answers as to what Skylar actual is. They receive the answer but Mason swears Sklyar to silence. A descendant from God by the name of Alena is trying to kidnap Skylar to use her power to kill other Demi Gods. 
    There's mythology, action, drama, teenage angst and love against the odds in this latest offering form Mary Ting. My expectations were high when I began reading having read and loved the Crossroads Saga. I really loved the characters and wanted the girls to be happy with Nick and Mason. Poor Skylar doesn't even know she is "special" to begin with. she also thinks she has a stalker, who turns out to be helpful when her and Mason were being chased.
    I also like the two male characters introduced towards the latter part of the book, Noah and Tim. In fact I think Noah's name is so appropriate! and I kind of think he may be a bit of competition for Skylar's attentions, so Mason better watch out!
    So did I enjoy the book? Yes, I really enjoyed it. Would I recommend the book? Yes, if you loved the Crossroads Saga you will love this even though it's different. (That will make sense when you read it!) Mary Ting does "love against the odds" fantastically well.
    Would I read a book two in this series? Oh, definitely. I'm addicted to this series already!  Would I read other books by Mary Ting? I already did with the Crossroads Saga but I'd give any Mary Ting book a go really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1